We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oasis Hakuna Matata
Ranked #14 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

did you know Hankuna Matta means no worries until the end o fyour days. Hakuna Matta, Hankuna Matta.. stay here if you want the Disney song in your head for the length of your stay.

In all seriousness, considering the price of hotels in Chaweng this is a proper budget beauty. Although slightly more expensive than we would usualy stay in whilst backpacking, the rooms are like villas. The pool area is nice and about 5 minutes from the beach. staff are lovely and friendly as well. Felt really at home here. Chaweng beach is about a 45 minute walk, taxi is about 200 Baht (taxis are a right rip off in samui) or hire a moped for 150-200 per day... or a push bike.. or get someone to carry you.

Room Tip: get a ground floor one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeandAmyAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    20
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights! Rooms are dated, but clean! The couch was a little bit dirty. Didn´t try the pool or the breakfast, but the hotel is is situated a nice 15 min walk to the city centre. Also, there is pharmacy, 2-3 restaurants and small grocery shop across the streets, by 2-3 minutes up the street a food mart. I recommend eating at the restaurant across the hotel, the dusk, cheap and good food! The receptionist (don´t remember here name) was always helpful and very good english, the other staff did not. Overall, good value for the money, clean and a good place to stay if you don´t want to live really close to the busy streets! Btw, the beds come with mosquito nets, a pleasant suprise and not one mosquito bite when sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We are a Canadian family. Last summer was our third summer vacation that we spent in this hotel. We got everything that we need - large and well organized apartment, well maintained swimming pool, clean and very well maintained hotel property. During our stay, we met very pleasant international tourists and friendly families with kids. The hotel is at walking distance to the beach, couple of minutes by taxi our motorcycle to the main shopping and entertainment aeras. Just one minute by foot, you have everthing that you might need around (a lot of restaurants, pharmacies, massages, banking machine, laundry services, car and motocycle rental, etc.). The hotel is situated in a very quiet and safe small street, adjacent to the main road. Ideal for international guests, family with kids, young people, and everybody who is looking for excellent conditions and the same time at a very reasonable price. From last year, there is a new, very dynamic, open mind, young ownership - Elena and Georges. The owners are full with modern ideas and looking to satisfy the needs of all the guest with a large friendly smile and an appropriate approach. During the summer 2014, we are going to stay with my husband and our 9 years old boy with pleasure for 2 months in the same hotel.

Suzanne, Montréal, Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been staying in this hotel several times in the last few years. I have been lastly for one month in April 2013. Now the hotel has a new owner - young european couple, with a lot of business habilities, new ideas and with great enthusiasm and experience in hotel management. The hotel is very quiet, safe, clean, and can meet the requirements of most international guests. The reception, house keeping and the maintenance personal is smily competent and always helpful. The wi-fi internet is fast and can be reached all around the hotel property. All the two beds apartments, luxury rooms and the standard rooms are big, provide very good sleeping arrangments, are clean and have big bathroom, air conditioning, shower, cable t.v., safety deposit box, and kitchen facilities - everything you need to have a nice, decent and pleasant vacation. The swimming pool is very clean and well maintained, with sunbeds around. Coming a long way from Canada, I value all the commodities of this hotel. Only a step away, you have a laundry service (1$ per kilo), four or five thai restaurants, pharmacies, money exchange office, ATM machine, car and motorbike rental and a lot more to make your vacation easy. The beach is at walking distance - you have to pass through 5 stars luxury hotel. The night life attractions are only a few minutes drive. In the morning, optional, you can have a nice breakfeast in the reception area prepared in front of you by a smily staff - eggs, beacon, toast, juce, coffee, etc,. On the base of my previous and also this year experience, I recommand this hotel to every body who want to have a nice vacation - big value for the money that you pay.

Alexander A. from Montreal, Canada

Room Tip: The luxury rooms - a coverted 4 X 4 terrace only 2 meter away from the swimming pool, surrounded wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel with a lovely swimming pool which is suitable for small children as well. Located in a quiet place and just in 2 mins walk to the beach. Our room was spacious and clean. Tasty breakfast with 3 options to choose from. Staff was friendly and always ready to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cricetus, Owner at Oasis Hakuna Matata, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Oxana S,

thank you for staying with us! Hope to see you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziar nad Hronom, Slovakia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We were bunch of 5 guys, traveling round the Thailand. We decided to spent couple of days in beautiful island of Koh Samui. The Oasis Hakuna Matata was perfect choice. Little bit out of handed from Chaweng center, around 40 min. by foot, but next days we have rented bikes and problem was solved. Stuff was very nice, max. helpful. We booked apartment with 2 bedrooms, nice spacious living room, clean bathroom, kitchenette with basic stuff, fridge and A/C. Rooms were nice, cleaned every day, free bottled water, right in front of swimming pool. Perfect accommodation for that money. In walking distance couple of restaurant, grocery shop, I guess 7/11 was around 5-8 min. by foot. Cross the street was bike rental, they offered trips as well. I would recommend this for budget travelers, who wants clean and good accommodation for normal price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_G83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cricetus, Owner at Oasis Hakuna Matata, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Hi Peter_G83,
Thank you for your kindly review and for photos! Just let me to add that Family Mart shop (the same type of shop as 7-eleven) is in 3 min. by foot and the beach in 3 min. as well :) Hope to see you in our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a clean place to rest your head this is for you. We only stayed one night while backpacking. It's good value. Staff were friendly and helpful. We thought 300bt was a bit steep for a transfer to the airport, we were able to get a taxi for less.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cricetus, Owner at Oasis Hakuna Matata, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Lisa s,
Thank you for staying with us! The usual taxi price for the trip Airport – Chaweng is 300 – 500THB. So that’s great that you were able to negotiate the better price. And we're happy the rates of our hotel are good enough for backpackers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.0 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#47 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#59 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hakuna Matata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hakuna Matata

Property: Oasis Hakuna Matata
Address: 9/72, Moo 2, T. Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Hakuna Matata 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oasis Hakuna Matata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hakuna Matata Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing