We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE - OWNER/MANAGER IS A CREEPY CON MAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lotus Friendly Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I'll start with the positives - the rooms are nice, comfy beds, clean, fairly new and modern.

The negatives - location is a bit out of the centre of chaweng. the owner/management are creepy, unprofessional, intimidating and basically just want to rip you off.

We booked online for 2 nights originally in a standard double room with air con, when we tried to extend our stay, the management told us bare-faced lies - that there were no rooms of the type we wanted to book available (the hotel was deserted, there were maybe 4 rooms other than ours occupied and DEFINITELY still rooms of the kind we requested available). They said if we wanted to stay we would need to pay more money to upgrade to a superior room, which we begrudgingly did. The same day we checked online to see if our original room type was available to book and, surprise surprise, it was. Again, just proving they had lied to us and just wanted more money from us.

We are pretty sure that someone also came into our room and went through our bags while we were out at night - we are assuming this must have been a member of staff as the door was locked and nothing was stolen although it was obvious our bags had been tampered with.

Overall, the hotel itself is good, although superior rooms are overpriced for what they are. However I would NEVER stay here again or recommend that anyone should, especially girls travelling on their own, given the AWFUL management.

We ended up checking out after one night in the superior room (3 nights stay in total) and going to the guesthouse across the road which was just as nice, the staff were really friendly and helpful, it had it's own pool, and we actually felt safe staying there!

Room Tip: don't bother paying extra for the superior room - it's just a slightly larger version of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here after the full moon party and the hotel itself is fairly nice. The restaurant is really expensive! It's about a 10 minute walk from the busy part of chaweng which can be nice if you don't want to be near the noise and parties, However, if you want to walk to somewhere cheaper for lunch (in the heat!) can be annoying. The beach is close and the owners are really friendly - they put us in a superior room at no extra cost! The breakfast is kind of lame but free so make of that what you will.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saniya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank irbisrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Дарья Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Primorskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: На этаже - 4 номера, нам другие этажи не мешали, мы, вроде, тоже)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 48sergey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Xavier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.7 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#66 of 103 in Chaweng
565 reviews
2.2 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#53 of 103 in Chaweng
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#26 of 103 in Chaweng
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 184 in Bophut
1,690 reviews
0.9 mi away
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
#49 of 103 in Chaweng
15 reviews
5.1 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#38 of 51 in Lamai Beach
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Friendly Hotel

Address: 119 / 61 Moo 2 Bophut | Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: £21 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Friendly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Chaweng Beach, Lotus Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with private balconies. Set in tropical landscapes, it features free Wi-Fi, free parking and a restaurant. Lotus Hotel is 3 minutes' drive from Samui International Airport. It is a 20-minute drive from the Koh Phangan ferry terminal and a 35-minute drive from the Suratthani ferry terminal. Offering spacious layouts, rooms come with cable TV and a seating area. Other amenities include a fridge and an attached bathroom with shower facilities. Guests can explore Samui with help from the tour desk or have barbecue gatherings at the residence's a-la-carte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lotus Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Friendly Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing