We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Friendly Hotel
Ranked #15 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went to Samui and stayed 3 days at Lotus Hotel. The room was clean we had a very good Wifi connection (hard to find in Thailand) and its location is just perfect! Enjoy the beach, the nice restaurants, the walks, and the Family market just next to the Hotel (whenever you get hungry during the night) :P

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mellenfesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Greetings from Lotus Hotel - Koh Samui;

As Lotus Hotel we appreciate your nice comments about our hotel.. We are happy to hear that you loved our beds .. You are always welcome in our hotel ..

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Warm Regards

Lotus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I arrived in Samui without booking any accommodation. Two friends of mine doing an internship on the island are staying in Lotus since a couple of months. They told me I could get a room if I wanted too, so did I.

The receptionist was very very friendly and could speak good English.

The room itself was basic but fair enough for the price I paid. It featured a double bed with a soft mattress (which is very rare in Thailand!!!) and aircon.

It is walking distance from the beach and a nice bar called ''Your Place'' (highly recommend this bar, very cosy in the evenings especially!)

It is close to clubs, bars etc.


I would recommend this to all young people that aren't looking for luxury but still want good value for their money.


Cheers,
Julie

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Greetings from Lotus Hotel - Koh Samui;

As Lotus Hotel we appreciate your nice comments about our hotel.. We are happy to hear that you loved our beds .. You are always welcome in our hotel ..

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Warm Regards

Lotus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My bf and i stayed here to be close to the beach but away from the bustle.
The location was good, quiet and close to the beach.
We checked out earlier than breakfast but they sorted us a take away breaky.
Upgraded to better room as low season.
No complaints about lotus :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonlwestmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Greetings from Lotus Hotel - Koh Samui;

As Lotus Hotel we appreciate your nice comments about our hotel.. You are always welcome in our hotel ..

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Warm Regards
Lotus Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Hotel itself is good, they are little apartment style rooms with a little balcony. Rooms are a good size, TV, aircon, bathroom fine. Location wise- far from the nice side of the beach, we had to walk for half an hour to get to a nice area. Also, its not massively far from town, but its still a walk.
So the reason I say its questionable- as we booked over the phone and not internet but had paid for all three nights, they still held onto our passport? Weird as we'd already paid? When we asked why and if its safe to leave it there the woman was quite rude and patronising.
In addition there is a cleaning service if you ask for it- we did not. The rooms' doors and windows are made from tinted glass. One day we were in the room, and three cleaners were on our balcony, there had been tons of people in and out of the room next to us because something was broken, so their door was wide open. We noticed the cleaner start to open our door while two of them kept watch. My friend answered the door and asked what they wanted, to which the cleaner apologised and her and her friends went into the room next to us that was being worked on. It was weird so we reported it to the desk- annoying rude desk woman was there again. She just said they probably made a mistake? Highly doubt it as they knew the other room was the one to be worked on. Anyway, we just locked up all our non valuables in the room.
Overall didn't really like the place. (Should mention btw the two men staff who work there are fine and weren't rude at all)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theweirdestteaparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Greetings from Lotus Hotel - Koh Samui;

First of all we are happy to hear that you were happy to stay at our hotel .. And we would like to explain the things they bothered you while you were staying at our hotel::

* We have everyday cleaning service but you need to let us know when you want it. We tried every possible way to make our guest's stay better and this is the best solution for cleaning. Because we had problems with the guests when our housekeeping cleaned their room unannounced..

*Your next door accidentally broke the window and glasses were all around; so housekeeping were trying to clean broken glasses ..

We are so sorry that they opened your door without letting you know ; but they were just simply trying to clean broken glasses so that you would't get hurt..

Again we are so sorry for all the issues caused on our side ..

As Lotus Hotel we would like say that you are always welcome in our hotel ..

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Samui.

Warm Regards
Lotus Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros:
Breakfast - OK, with a good choice.
Location - Very good, close to a lovely beach and not far from bars, restaurants.
Rooms - Clean, comfy beds and room in general.

Cons:
Unprofessional Staff - More so the elder brother of the two owners who had a rude tone. They choose who they want to be friendly with (young girls from what we saw!) Very lazy and slightly unapproachable.
Rooms - Shower and water in first room stopped working. We addressed this and were told we could move rooms which we agreed to. However the smell of sewage when viewing room 2 was horrible so we declined this room and were told that we could have a 'superior' room. This room was very nice apart from the aircon, which spat out ice and made noises all night.
The next morning before we had a chance to say anything about that, we were told that we had to move back to a standard room (fair enough) but not once for any of the inconvenience of packing and moving our cases did we recieve an apology!
Other issues - There were also a couple of lengthy powercuts and water cuts. Possibly not the hotels fault but still very poor service when you are paying so much.
There was a dead dog next to the restaurant within the hotels premises which was absolutely horrendous to see (blood everywhere) only got cleaned up a couple of hours later.
Price - Was 750 THB which is way over priced. Had it been around 500 I would have been more understanding and probably not have written a review as I would have expected a below average stay.
We have travelled Thailand and this is one of the more expensive stays we have had and unfortunately the worse!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddykumar1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest;

As Lotus Hotel we are having hard time to understand your review .. Clearly you were unhappy with our service and our Hotel , even with the rate ; then we would like to know : " Why did you extend your stay for 16 more days?" .. Your reservation was only for one night but you have stayed at our hotel 17 days..

Our regular rate for Standard Double Room is 1600 Baht but we did you a favor and gave you special rate because you have said that you really like our hotel and would like to extend your stay .. And even with special rate we offered you still found it expensive .. So why didn't you simply prefer hotels with better service and cheaper rates ?

And we would like to tell you ; we never choose guests .. We are friendly with all our guests .. Every morning we came to your table and asked you about your stay or your holiday in Koh Samui ..The young girls you saw are our usual guests; they always prefer our hotel whenever they visit Koh Samui .. So you misunderstood or misjudged the situation ..

The thing we really do not understand is because before you left you mentioned that you would write a nice review about our hotel even we didn't ask for it..Clearly there is something else going on with your attitude ; which we can not understand .. As Lotus Hotel we are so sorry about your inexplicable review ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lotus Friendly for 3 nights in May 2014.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful upon check in. The room was large and clean. The bed was wonderful with a pillow top mattress! We had just stayed in another place previous with a horrible springy mattress, so this was a treat! The included breakfast was good and there was a beach access point across the street. The walk to town took about 10 minutes but the quieter area was very well appreciated over night.

The only issue we encountered was the dripping air conditioning unit in our room. As my husband works in the heating and a/c field in Canada, he knew to set the a/c unit to a higher temperature to keep it from freezing up. While on a "fan only" setting at 27 Celsius, the air conditioning unit still leaked... a lot! Our floor was covered in water until we put an empty water bottle underneath. When this was mentioned to the front staff, they told us that we shouldn't have it set to a lower temp like 18 Celsius, which we explained that we did not. It wasn't a huge deal, but we asked if they could please supply a bucket or container to trap the water so we didn't have to continuously switch out the water bottle. They did send up cleaning staff to mop the floor, which was lovely. However, they never did supply a bucket. The air conditioner had also been changed back to 18 Celsius while cleaning staff were in the room.

Despite this, we really did love this accommodation. The price was extremely reasonable, especially keeping in mind the free breakfast, the area was quiet but still close to some restaurants and spas. The staff were, overall, very wonderful and easy to chat with.

We would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: It may be worth asking if there are fan-only rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Amanda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Greetings from Lotus Hotel - Koh Samui;

We are so happy to hear that you like our mattress .. And your advises about the room are highly noted.. We have already fixed those small issues that caused you discomfort.. One more time we are so sorry for them..

But we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we would like to tell you;

As Lotus Hotel we appreciate your nice comments about our hotel.. You are always welcome in our hotel ..

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Warm Regards
Lotus Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a nice place, so close to the beach! The room was amazing, loved it. Cleaned whenever you asked, which I really like. The A/C was great (we miss this when we don't have it). Breakfast is super yummy! And it is pretty close to all the action. You do need to walk about 5-10 min to get to Chaweng area with all the restaurants, but that was never a hassle for us and we never felt unsafe! Like I said the beach was literally 2 min walk and that was by far the best part! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammyaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusFriendlyHotel, Manager at Lotus Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest;

Greetings from Lotus Hotel - Koh Samui;


As Lotus Hotel we appreciate your nice comments about our hotel.. You are always welcome in our hotel ..

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Warm Regards
Lotus Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
2.2 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#67 of 104 in Chaweng
128 reviews
3.9 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Friendly Hotel

Address: 119 / 61 Moo 2 Bophut | Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: £15 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Friendly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Chaweng Beach, Lotus Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with private balconies. Set in tropical landscapes, it features free Wi-Fi, free parking and a restaurant. Lotus Hotel is 3 minutes' drive from Samui International Airport. It is a 20-minute drive from the Koh Phangan ferry terminal and a 35-minute drive from the Suratthani ferry terminal. Offering spacious layouts, rooms come with cable TV and a seating area. Other amenities include a fridge and an attached bathroom with shower facilities. Guests can explore Samui with help from the tour desk or have barbecue gatherings at the residence's a-la-carte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lotus Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Friendly Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing