We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disastre!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Synergy Samui Resort
Ranked #7 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disastre!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Great location. Nice pool. Disaster staff who does not speak English. The service is bad. The toilet are stinky. The facilities are old and the room we stayed at in was not so nice as showen at the picturs...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oren31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    42
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
47
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great hotel!
We got an upgrade, free of charge.
Stayed at a jacuzzi villa, very spacious!
Great infinity pool with very friendly and helpful staff at the bar.
Just heaven, laying at the pool, with views on the ocean, sipping on a cooled, fresh fruit juice!

Good location in the town as well, right of the main road with bars and restaurants!
But if you want a seaside dinner, walk on the beach and discover a few very cosy and nice (hotel)restaurants!

They were still working on a 2nd pool and the spa..(no noise from construction however, the workers started late)
Once that is finished, I think rates will go up! (They should, anyway..)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianGirlBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just 100 meters from the busy center of Chaweng Beach, but very quiet. Situated directly at the best part of the long beach. Service in the hotel + in the restaurant always very friendly + efficient. We enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay for another week.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I came with my femily during July for 10 nights.
It was the best deccigtion of my vacation .
The location is perfect,on the beach with exalent pool.
From one side you are in the hart of samui and in the other side you are in totall quite.
The servic is above everything,from the general manager that is so kind to the last guy in the team that support you with exalent servic.
The villa was great and I recommend on the restaurant for lunch or for dinner.
Absolutely this is the best place that I will love to come back

Room Tip: I took the villa with the pool that was the first from the beach My kids enjoy it very much. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nissim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here a week early July 2013. Surprised about some of the reviews as we found the place really great. Staff really good, rooms great, some construction happening "next door" in what will be new 2nd pool area but never heard it and probably finished now 3 weeks later.

We moved out of a older wel lestablished 5 star place further north on the beach after 2 nights after seeing Synergy on a morning beach walk. It was a no brainer - $100/night per room cheaper and much better quality. Just looked at their website for photo's it really does look like that and believe me I've stayed where reality doesn't match the brochure.

Selling points were:

Best part of Chaweng Beach for swimming - can't swim in some parts of the beach as 30cm/ 1 foot deep eg the 5 star place we intially had booked. Really nice infinity pool and bar area, heaps of loungers and umbrellas pool side probably 10 times as many as possible guest bed/rooms on the beach.

Rooms really good - very modern, bathrooms large and very clean. Very good (and quiet) aircon, linen etc very good quality (surprised at some other comments on this - not our experience) We opted for 2 x Sea View Rooms - 407 & 405 (M&D + 2 teenage kids) - sure not Beach Front but then they have rooms called Beach Front which are. We could "see the sea" from the deck it aint an uninterrupted vista of the sea but hey walk 25-30m and your literally on the beach anyway.

Staff really friendly and helpful (big thank you to all of you - great service couldn't be more helpful). Place feels like you are staying in a modern Boutique Hotel. They are close to finishing a much larger pool/resturant complex (probably finished now) which will be make place even better.

Location wise it is about half way along the main Chaweng beach. Shopping, resturants on main street is great but you are about 75m down a side road so nice and quite but very quick easy walk from the bustle of markets, no pumping music etc. New hotel so many locals don't know where it is - yet. Local Tour operators did though.

Hotel only opened recently so all new team there but they are customer focused and work hard. Management were really helpful also. Resturant was still getting up to speed but meet expectations food was fine - actually the Thai meal we had one evening was one of the better ones in a 2 week trip. Breakfast OK - all hotels pretty much same - best bet to go and eat at one of the many local resturants, bars etc than in hotel anyway. Happy Hour when we stayed was more like Happy Half Day starting at 1:00PM.

We have stayed in many tropical island places around the Pacific/Australia/SEA and this place is really a gem.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are worth the extra cost sea view is a not what you might think but usually never is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The staff at synergy samui are amazing. So friendly and attentive it is a shame about the hotel, it really lets them down.
We stayed in a villa Seaview room. They need to change the names of the villas because it would indicate a "view of the sea". Not the case, it just means it is a free standing villa, the sea was nowhere to be seen. They are quite small but they appear to be new. If you are offered villa 410 I would ask for a different one. After a shower there is a horrendous smell that wafts from the sink hole that can only be described as raw sewerage. I mentioned this to the receptionist and we did get a lovely room deodorizer which was nice! But alas didn't solve the problem.
It appears that half the resort is still under construction. Perhaps once it is finished all the kinks (and smells) will have been worked out and it will be fabulous.
The pool and pool bar are great and the food is fabulous too.
Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

You know that sinking feeling when you really, really want to like something, but you know that its just not happening???? We watched Synergy getting built when we were in Samui last year and decided to stay there on our return this year, as it is without doubt on the best stretch of beach in Samui. The hotel has only been open a few months and has an amazing infinity pool overlooking the beach. We stayed for 16 nights, and unfortunately, our opinion of Synergy deteriorated on a daily basis.

Firstly, I want to stress that the Staff were fantastic. From Reception, Breakfast Staff to Housekeeping, everyone went out of their way to assist us with anything we requested.


Initially we were in Room 404 which is a Seaview Room. The rooms are ok, nothing spectacular, and slightly small, but no complaints. Unfortunately, the finish of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. The basin in the bathroom had literally come away from the wall, so that if you leaned on it, then you were in danger of having it fall over! During the first week we were awoken during the night by a rat that had gnawed a hole through the ceiling plaster and was running around the room! We moved to Room 401 which is a Beach Front room for the rest of the night. This room was identical to 404, but the layout meant that the bed was in a different spot, and the bedside table blocked the door to the bathroom...very strange...


The next day we were "upgraded" to a spa room. Honestly, it reminded me of staying in a caravan! It looked very old and run down. Even the pillows and linen were worn. The next morning we asked to be moved again and ended up in Room 406, which was identical to our original room...even down to the basin in the bathroom being dislodged from the wall! This room had a distinctive sewerage smell coming from the bathroom. The night manager told us that the previous guests had complained about it too, so they were well and truly aware of the problem. We had to go to Tesco to buy some air freshener in a vain attempt to mask the smell, however at this stage we were sick of packing and unpacking, and there didn't appear to be many more options.


As I mentioned earlier, the infinity pool is awesome, and we alternated from the beach to the pool all day. There were quite a few sun beds both around the pool and also on the beach, however there were insufficient umbrellas to provide shade around the pool, and the few that there were available were very small and almost translucent , so not really much help.


Breakfast is served at the restaurant on the decking overlooking the beach which is a beautiful setting. If you like to eat eggs every day, then you will have no problems as the chef will cook whatever style you like freshly for you. If you want to have toast however, its a different story. The bread is so stale that honestly, you could crumble it into breadcrumbs in your hands...and that's before you toast it! They just keep putting the same container of stale bread out each day! There are also very few condiments for your toast if you are brave enough to have it. We ordered club sandwiches one day at the restaurant for lunch, and received the same crumbly stale bread. The restaurant is expensive and very, very average. There are so many other places to eat which are both better and cheaper, so why bother?


Lastly, to add insult to injury, Synergy is the ONLY place the we came across that does not have Happy Hour! Everywhere else along the beach and also along the street has happy hour for at least part of the day. It was ludicrous that we had to get out of the pool ( with pool bar) to go elsewhere for reasonably priced drinks.


Would we stay at Synergy again? Regretfully no....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moffatanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.2 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Synergy Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Synergy Samui Resort

Property: Synergy Samui Resort
Address: 155/3 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Synergy Samui Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Synergy Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Synergy Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing