We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base with peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed for two great weeks, if people review a hotel on their home and stay there 24/7 than you could pick holes in it, but for a base to live on the beach or explore Samui than there is nothing bad to say - if the breakfast is not for you than there is 10 places to eat with in 100m of the hotel, the rooms were made up every day by a very pleasant young lady, Why would you complain about the restaraunt- you are not forced to eat there, why would you complain about the pool when the best of Chewang Beach is at your doorstep and alot more sterile than any pool. The rooms were very clean, quiet, cool and the beds were not as hard as some asian beds I have encountered. The WIFI is expensive, but if you walk 50m south to AKWA where the cost is the price of a few beers

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wajago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

We have been to Koh Samui several times and usually stay at another hotel on the beach that isn't as modern, but has outstanding staff and service.

This hotel has modern rooms and a nice pool and beach location, however the staff are so bored and unhelpful that this behaviour totally overrides the better quality finishings and amenities.

Every day at the beach clients were made to drag beach umbrellas around in 'dirty' sand while staff, often 2 or 3 looked on. When a beach umbrella fell over, they continued to watched and never once offered assistance.

Some of the reception staff are barely able to communicate and when there was a query I was ordered back to reception to sort it out after just arriving to my room. Check in was unorganised and slow, and our room was often cleaned only to the bare minimum, if at all by the days end.

Finally, the breakfast was not great, however this was the only place where the staff made some effort and were friendly.

Would not recommend this hotel unless they seriously look at some customer service training!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We have been to Samui 6 times and wanted to try this hotel out, so we just had four nights there. We are used to staying in a slightly smaller friendlier hotel where the staff know you by name and a more chatty.
We had a poolside room B15 which was actually very nice and no real problems with it, until 6am each morning we were woken by the kitchen staff (the room is right next to the kitchen) and every morning at daybreak there was a huge noice of things being washed, dragged around, loud chatting. Also the room was nice that it was only about 2 steps to the pool which is great but not first thing in the morning with Kids up first thing swimming and screaming.
Breakfast was not enjoyable and I now see why some comments have been made about it being a package hotel. It was like a mass all at once and not alot of choice and mostly cold if you got there after 9.30pm. We had to wait to get a table one morning and another morning could not get eggs as there is only one person cooking eggs and a huge line of people waiting. There was constuction going on just along from our room and this was mostly between 9am - 3pm with lots of banging and nailing.
The pool is lovely and the beach location is good also.
The staff hated to go out of their way to help if asked. I asked if they had a lower pillow one day as they were all too high for me to sleep on, they said flatley no but when I asked the massage ladies on the beach they jumped up and went into the hotel complex and found me one straight away.
The shower pressure was fantastic compared to other places we have stayed although the day we arrived we had no water at all for 2hours.
I think this place is good for families and those not looking for friendly chatty staff to greet each day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thaimusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Wasn't particularly happy with my stay here. The hotel is clean but lacks any character. You wouldnt know you where in south east Asia, has a package hotel quality about it.

As the last reviewer commented, a lot of things are overpriced and its one of these places that try to charge you for everything. You were not even meant to take the complimentary water from your room! (they put it in glass bottles) meaning you had to take the plastic bottles from the chargable mini bar menu. This is not exaclty a problem but illustrates their attitude. What hotel in Thailand doesn't let you do what you want with the 2 free bottles of water!?

Another thing that annoyed me was the restaurant menu. The food was a bit overpriced for what it was to begin with but the prices did not include 7% tax and they added an automatic 10% service charge. This meant a 600baht tab for food ended up being about 700baht. Don't get me wrong, this was made clear on the menu but every other restaurant I have been to in Thailand includes tax and does not add service charge.

The thing that annoyed me the most was the staggering 700baht!! joiner fee. I have seen Joiner Fees of 100/200 or so but 700!!

Also when I checked out the guy in charge of the mopeds wanted 500baht as he claimed I scratched it. The reception staff didnt seem to interested in helping even though the moped was rented through the Hotel.

This Hotel is ok for young groups with money to waste who are not bothered about character and value but I would not stay here again and would not receomend it for solo travellers or couples.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The hotel rooms were clean, spacious, with excellent facilities. The swimming pool was lovely for relaxing, although there was a layer of scum on the surface - probably a combination of suncream and sand but really needed cleaning.
The main problems were that the hotel overcharged us for ferries and transfers that we could get cheaper elsewhere, and they had not removed the previous guest's comment card form the room which was very negative - quite an oversight I think!!
Otherwise a very good hotel, they just need to fix the minor problems.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurse_betty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Here you really can relax, nice staff and lovely view from the poolside bungalows.
We come back....
Its quiet 23.00 closing time for the pool bar and the pool and garden area was dark, we wish for light in the evening, when the kids have gone to sleep. grown up relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogalandNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.2 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Cove Beach Resort

Address: 17 / 4 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £38 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaweng Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort built in contemporary Thai architecture set directly on the beach front location of the vibrant Chaweng Beach, 10 minutes drive away distance from the airport within short walking distance to the nearby vibrant commercial area offering 101 cozily decorated guestrooms and classic charming bungalows for enjoyable tropical beach holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chaweng Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Chaweng
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing