We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably best yellow curry i've ever had”

Phensiri Thai Bistro
Ranked #6 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It's Simply thai cuisine open kitchen with different varieties of famous thai menus and dishes from the old days... Fresh selections of ingredients daily from the local market.. With regular quarity control. Simplified home made recipes. Recommend Reserved your table from 19:00-20:30 pm. Available for private cooking class . Please contact Chef
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
207 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Probably best yellow curry i've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was a fair trek to get to this rather out of the way little restaurant at the southern end of Chaweng, close to some of the bigger hotels and a wide variety of Russian establishments. It was pretty dead when we arrived but we were greeted with a friendly smile and a helping hand with the menu by the manager. The Green Island non-alc cocktail is to die for - minty/apple/kiwi heaven. The fish cakes and duck rolls were excellent but special mention needs to be given to both the yellow curry chicken and the fried banana dessert which were wonderful. If you don't mind a journey down the main drag or are staying in the vicinity you must come here and give them a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    199
    48
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Truly a GEM on Chaweng Beach Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I never thought I could find a decent Thai Restaurant in Chaweng area but I was wrong.

This family run bistro serves up really delicious this salads as well as main dishes. A must try is their banana flower with roasted red onion, fresh & dried prawns in yummy tamarind sauce and the soft shell crab pomelo salad. During peak season I would recommend guests to make a reservation before heading there.

We had 4 dishes all very delicious and our bill came up to be around US30! I am coming back again the next few days before I leave for more of Phensiri !

Helpful?
Thank sonnysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One if the best meals I've ever eaten.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We would have walked straight past this restaurant if we didn't read the amazing reviews on tripadvisor, and I'm so glad we looked it up! I've eaten a lot of Thai food before and by no means thought this was too westernised or commercial, although there is a more western section to the menu which we stayed away from. The food was unreal, service was wonderful, the waitresses and chefs are so lovely and kind. It is by far the best Thai food I've ever eaten, and extremely cheap for the amount we ended up trying! The aubergine (they call it eggplant) in particular tasted great. Overall highly recommended, it was a bit difficult for us to get to but entirely worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Don't know how gigs place gets the number one position on trip advisor. The service was poor. The food was ok. Wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
Thank trenna1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phimporn, Owner at Phensiri Thai Bistro, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest !

Thank you for your writing regarding the poor service you received at our Phensiri bistro. Customer opinion keeps up on our toes. I have spoken with the lady that waited on you and showed her your writing. She acknowledged the poor service while the restaurnt was fully busy on that day and she promised to improve. Please come back and try us again. We appreciate your writing and we happy to hear about our foods was ok for you.

Chef Neng.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai meals ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

After having eaten at the Four Seasons, Anantara, Banyan Tree and a few more local shops, this was absolutely the best. Ate here three days in a row and took cooking classes as well. Highly recommended! Very friendly staff and authentic food at a reasonable price. One of the best Thai places around. Loved the food. Try the green curry chicken and you will not be disappointed. And if you enjoy cooking, the classes are fantastic! Great job Phensiri!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Axey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phensiri Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Phensiri Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing