We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Holiday ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Fan Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Holiday ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at the Banana Fan sea for 13 days with our 4 adult children. The staff were exceptional in their service to us all. My husband had his 50th birthday dinner arranged by the hotel. It was a dinner on the beach. Not only was the setting fabulous, the food was superb and the added Birthday signage outstanding. The staff made it the best birthday celebration my husband has had. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: The beach front room was spacious. I loved the chance to have a little lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    356
    56
    18
    7
See reviews for
315
678
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed at the Banana Fan for four nights in December of 2012 to close out the year. I chose BF because it was recommended to me by a colleague and was highly rated on TripAdvisor for the Chaweng area.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay. I spent time on the beach as well as by the pool and the staff was always smiling and eager to bring me more beers - all positives.

The rooms are a bit dated, still featuring tube TV's and key locks (e.g., not key card), but they're comfortable and more than suitable for a few days. As my friend said so aptly, "I bet this place was the BOMB in 1994!". The bathrooms were obviously of the same vintage, but the water was always warm under high pressure.

The location was what really did it for me ... I ran along the (sloping) beach every morning and often walked to bars and restaurants in the area. When a cab was needed, I didn't need to wait for than a moment.

I did have a problem with some errant charges on my reservation after booking through an online retailer. After a few conversations and back-and-forth emails with the GM, it was resolved.

For the price and location, it's a very good option, but there are definitely more modern options along the beach and through out the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midnyterambla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gensac
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I am in two minds whether to write this review or not. I stayed in this hotel and thought it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. From the welcome reception to the farewell everything was perfect.

The rooms are very well appointed and dotted throughout the estate. They have all the amenities and are completely private. everything is within easy reach of the room including a lovely pool where you can enjoy refreshing drinks and absolutely delicious food. Some of the best I have eaten in Thailand.

The reason for my reticence in writing is that I hope this little piece of heaven doesn't mean that i cannot become too popular and I wont be able to get a reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tofty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

The food here is amazing. Especially the massaman curry which i had and the pasta was good too. Desserts not quite as impressive but still good. Service is great and live music. Overlooking beach, a really excellent restaurant! Highly reccommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarzaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

The resort is beautiful from the moment you enter the grounds. Great location on busy chaweng Rd, it is a relaxing resort which is a surprise on such a busy street. The foyer area is stunning and the garden grounds are just as nice. The room was great and restaurant and pool area impressive. Beautiful beach with huge waves and white soft sand.

The women working at the tourist information desk who booked all our activities went above and beyond. She was so helpful and when my fiancé broke a personalised plate we had got from our snorkelling tour she made special contact with the company to have a new one delivered the very next day. I feel terrible for not remembering her name [I should have done this review when we first returned]!

The only downfall for the hotel was the wifi. It was not free and the connection was bad in our room, it kept dropping out. And on a few nights there were really load fireworks going off on the beach just at the front of the hotel. It was not by fault of the hotel though it was just the location.

We all in all enjoyed our stay and I would recommend Banana fan sea to anyone travelling to Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollypopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

This queit resort is right on the beach and has nice rooms. The Resteraunt inside has great food and excellent service. The staff was helpfull and friendly and the accommodations were perfect.
Highly recomend!

Room Tip: Choose the larger rooms (can't remember the name), but ask to stay closer in to the beach as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at Banana Fan Sea for 3 nights between 12-15 Dec. My wife wanted a resort that is close to the hustle and bustle at the Chaweng area, and this hotel is wonderfully located at the centre of the action.
However, we were disappointed by the rooms which probably need refurbishing and better ventilation. Breakfast selection was also below expectations, with little choice for Asian palates like ours.
Overall, a good choice if you want location. Otherwise, would recommend that you consider other resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yitloong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing