We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for six nights during a recent trip to Thailand. The room was nice and the beach/pool areas were beautiful. Beach chars were provided at the beach free of charge. Live music played every night at the restaurant. It was really pleasant to lay at the pool area in the evening and listen to the music from the restaurant. The hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating. My friend celebrated her birthday during our stay and the staff wished her happy birthday at breakfast, and even sang to her as we entered the lobby! Once, when I was sitting at the lobby computer for quite some time, I was given a cold drink. The concierge desk was also helpful in arranging several excursions and a spa visit for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

As we are a family of 5 we treated ourselves to the 2 bed suite on the beach with the jacuzzi on the decking. Truly amazing!

We were greeted like celebrities - Mas please could you email our arrival photo, and Mas and the manager Mr Supit were super friendly and efficient.

The room took our breath away - right on the sandy beach, next to the pool and at the end of beautiful gardens.

The service was excellent, rooms spotless, breakfast fantastic, location at the South end of Chaweng the best in the resort but most of all were the friendly and efficient staff.

Would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bryanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family & extended family(13 of us in total)recently stayed at BFS for 2 weeks.There was a lot of research & planning.We booked almost a year in advance.Be sure to get in quick.This hotel books out fast.We are so glad we chose BFS.The location was ideal-quieter end of busy Chaweng & on the best section of beach.We stayed in a combination of deluxe,adjoining deluxe,beach villa & for us the 2 bed pool villa.The deluxe rooms are small & basic but adequate.The villas lovely but pricey.We loved our 2 bed villa.Great because we didn't want to be in same room with our 2 young children.Beware the close proximity to pool however.It is very deep.Even our 6 year old could only just touch bottom of the "children's pool".The staff at BFS are superb & go above & beyond what is expected.Examples- the day we arrived was my son's 3rd birthday & they made a lovely cake.Supit the general manager went out of his way to organise a dinner for my Mum's 80th birthday at a nearby restaurant even accompanying us on the bus.It was a truly special night thanks to him.Mas,the front office manager is delightful.She rememberd all our names,came around to greet us each day & gave my boys treats.Edgar,the musician from hotel's Baitong Restaurant was great also.We had many fun night singing & playing some of the instruments.Breakfasts & food at BFS was delicious.We could not find any faults & ate there often for lunch & dinner.
Thanks for the memories Banana Fan Sea.We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CLARE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed 3 nights here with my sister and it was wonderful. Such friendly staff that always had a smile on their faces, which is lovely to see. Upon arrival there was a bit of trouble with the credit card, it wouldn't process, after about 15 mins of trying, they took us to the room anyway (with an upgrade) and said we could try again tomorrow. It wasn't all about trying to get our money first, they welcomed us in anyway. The staff were very helpful in trying to find out the problem with the credit card. The next day we were told that it wasn't our card, but an issue with the bank that the hotel uses, and they were very apologetic. Which was so nice. The breakfast was very good, and the view even better. A good walk along the street to see things. Alot of great places to eat and drink :) great location and rooms just fine for a short stay, not that it matters too much as we were on the beach majority of the time. Thankyou to the staff for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleigh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Ater much deliberation and searching for accommodation in Koh Samui to suit our family of 4 (we have 2 young kids: 2.5 years and 13 months), we chose Banana Fan Sea for our stay in July/August. Usually I book all accommodation online but I ended up going direct thorough the hotel and Mas, the manager, could not have been more helpful. When she let me know she was unable to get us accommodation for the full 9 nights we required, she organised a stay at their sister hotel (Baan Chaweng) for the first night, before we could move here. Having kids we wanted a room where the kids could be separate to us. We booked an Executive Suite which, whilst a bit more on the expensive side, was perfect. It had a large living room for the kids beds and a door to close off this area from our bedroom. The room itself was situated about 20m from the beach, which could be seen from our balcony area. The pool was a very short walk away which was great if we needed to duck back and get things from the room. The pool area sits above the beach and overlooks the ocean. Happy hour happens twice daily and the frozen Mojitos (we have named them FroMo's) were to die for! The pool area always had lounges available, with a relaxing, family friendly vibe. There's 2 smaller pools connected the the main pool meant for kids. They are still quite deep and our 2.5 year old was unable to touch the bottom, but she had a swim ring so that wasn't a problem for us. Mas, the manager, is delightful. She came around daily and knew the kids by name. She was great with the kids and always stopped to chat and try to make them laugh. The staff here, like everyone we have always encountered in Thailand, were fabulous friendly and particularly taken by the kids. The location of Banana Fan Sea is great. Slightly away from the very main section of Chaweng Road, but a short, flat walk there, with shops, restaurants and anything else you need right at the door. The beach area here is also lovely. Beautiful white sand. Perfect for kids to play in and the water is clear and calm enough to swim in. There's many restaurants and massage places along the beach. We found that they couldn't do enough here to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Every request we had was met almost immediately. The WiFi was a bit slow, but your on holidays to relax so being out of touch of the real world for a little bit doesn't hurt! We always felt safe here and it had a warm, welcoming vibe throughout the resort. We will definitely be coming back to Banana Fan Sea and are so pleased we chose this for this holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a family room, the executive suites allow a separate area for the kids to sleep in if a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatePe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The layout was excellent from the fine entrance area through to the garden bungalows and then the well positioned pool and dining area overlooking the clean sandy beach. We had breakfast and lunch every day overlooking the ocean. The ambiance and quietness of the place was most relaxing. The staff could not have been better including the General Manager. I went for a one hour walk / swim in the beautiful ocean daily. We relaxed in the shade by the pool most days and did a lot of sleeping and reading and truly recharged our batteries. I had great fun playing little silly games with the staff and I think they enjoyed the laughter as much as I did. For my wife and I this was a ten out of ten adventure.

Room Tip: Bungalow in the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After much debate, we settled on the Banana Fan Sea Resort.

The impressive quality began with the airport pickup: air conditioned vehicle, moist towel to freshen up and cold water to help cool down. At the reception, we were greeted with big smiles and a friendly staff. We were served a complementary drink while filling out the paper work.
From there, we were taken to our room where we were greeted with a small little house near the pool (room 106). We were on our honeymoon, and therefore, received a beautiful flower-made greeting on the bed and some champagne.

We made the most of our first day and enjoyed the large pool, the massage service on the beach and the - best of all - beautiful and warm beach water. We had a bite at the nearby Baitong Restaurant (linked to the resort) which was also responsible for serving breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful and had everything you could want. Bread, cereal, pastery, eggs (various types, made on the spot), fruit, cooked foods, etc, etc. Everything was delicious. The first night (Monday) we also made a reservation for a BBQ night with Polynesian Dancing. These happen every Monday night and should be attended by all.

The sleep was also good. While located on the main street, our room was distant from any noise that could ruin our nights. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. However, don't expect (at least for room 106) completely new and modern equipment and furniture. Nonetheless, that won't be the reason for a poor stay at the resort.

In the end, the staff at Banana Fan are priceless and make your stay perfect. It's right on the beach and leads to the main street of Chaweng, where you can find shops and restaurants.

Don't miss the chance to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,899 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £81 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing