We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel but rooms too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Deutschland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel but rooms too noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

First of all I have to say, that I would have given a five star rating if the rooms werent that noisy. Unfortunately you hear every voice talking outside and especially the humming of the aircons in the rooms next to us forced me to sleep with earplugs. But I also have to mention that I have a very light sleep and my girlfiend wasnt bothered by the noise. The rest of the hotel is great. The beach is by far the least busy one if you took a look on the rest of the beach. The service is good and the stuff is very friendly. The hotel complex is beautiful and nicely taken care of. The street on the back is very busy and pretty touristic, but thats how chaweng is. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_global90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    360
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
322
689
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

"Paradise" were the exact words my friend used to describe this property when we arrived for a four day holiday and we were not disappointed. Banana Fan met all the qualities - location, pool, directly on beach, restaurant, breakfast included, good reviews - that we were looking for when choosing a holiday spot. The bonus was the warm greeting from Mr Supit and special thanks to Mr Yot who looked after us when making our reservation, greeted us on arrival, sorted out our needs, and saw us off when we departed.

A word to fellow Trip Advisors - Banana Fan is one of the rare hotels that I would like to return to again and again. In the midst of a hectic and challenging world, Banana Fan Resort is a place where the elements come together that makes a bit of magic, to relish in memory and to long to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yohoyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. When we arrived, the front desk greeted us kindly with refreshments and cool towels. We arrived at about 9am and our room wasn't ready yet, but we were able to sit by the pool and enjoy a complimentary breakfast. We only waited about an hour until our room was ready.

I had mentioned to the front desk that it was our honeymoon and our room was beautifully decorated with flowers and swan towels. It was perfect. The lay out of the resort is nice because you basically share only one wall with another guest. Everything is pretty separated (in a good way). The grounds are beautifully kept as is the pool and the beach. There are plenty of beach chairs and pool chairs to lay on. Their are massages offered beach side- which I totally recommend it only came out to be US $10 for a whole hour.

The food was good. The breakfast was very varied, my husband especially liked the "asian" breakfast options to try. We also frequented an afternoon smoothie daily.

The area is pretty safe. It was always a nightly activity to walk along the main road and finding a dinner place of shop for souvenirs. We liked this ninja pancake place near the hotel- very cheap and very GOOD! We went there 3 times in 1 week.

We booked two excursions through the hotel. One was a full day trip around the island which included tiger petting, elephant trekking, waterfall sight seeing, visiting buddha garden, Buddha temples, mummified monk, elephant show, monkey show and all the other touristy things you can do on the island (yah, all in ONE DAY). Lunch was included. We also took a half day boat trip/ snorkel trip to a smaller island which was nice and secluded. Lunch also was included and we were out from 8:30am and arrived back at the resort at 1pm.

Overall I truly recommend this place even if it is for a couple of days. Location is great, service was great and our trip couldn't of been better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lngDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for six nights during a recent trip to Thailand. The room was nice and the beach/pool areas were beautiful. Beach chars were provided at the beach free of charge. Live music played every night at the restaurant. It was really pleasant to lay at the pool area in the evening and listen to the music from the restaurant. The hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating. My friend celebrated her birthday during our stay and the staff wished her happy birthday at breakfast, and even sang to her as we entered the lobby! Once, when I was sitting at the lobby computer for quite some time, I was given a cold drink. The concierge desk was also helpful in arranging several excursions and a spa visit for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

As we are a family of 5 we treated ourselves to the 2 bed suite on the beach with the jacuzzi on the decking. Truly amazing!

We were greeted like celebrities - Mas please could you email our arrival photo, and Mas and the manager Mr Supit were super friendly and efficient.

The room took our breath away - right on the sandy beach, next to the pool and at the end of beautiful gardens.

The service was excellent, rooms spotless, breakfast fantastic, location at the South end of Chaweng the best in the resort but most of all were the friendly and efficient staff.

Would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family & extended family(13 of us in total)recently stayed at BFS for 2 weeks.There was a lot of research & planning.We booked almost a year in advance.Be sure to get in quick.This hotel books out fast.We are so glad we chose BFS.The location was ideal-quieter end of busy Chaweng & on the best section of beach.We stayed in a combination of deluxe,adjoining deluxe,beach villa & for us the 2 bed pool villa.The deluxe rooms are small & basic but adequate.The villas lovely but pricey.We loved our 2 bed villa.Great because we didn't want to be in same room with our 2 young children.Beware the close proximity to pool however.It is very deep.Even our 6 year old could only just touch bottom of the "children's pool".The staff at BFS are superb & go above & beyond what is expected.Examples- the day we arrived was my son's 3rd birthday & they made a lovely cake.Supit the general manager went out of his way to organise a dinner for my Mum's 80th birthday at a nearby restaurant even accompanying us on the bus.It was a truly special night thanks to him.Mas,the front office manager is delightful.She rememberd all our names,came around to greet us each day & gave my boys treats.Edgar,the musician from hotel's Baitong Restaurant was great also.We had many fun night singing & playing some of the instruments.Breakfasts & food at BFS was delicious.We could not find any faults & ate there often for lunch & dinner.
Thanks for the memories Banana Fan Sea.We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLARE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed 3 nights here with my sister and it was wonderful. Such friendly staff that always had a smile on their faces, which is lovely to see. Upon arrival there was a bit of trouble with the credit card, it wouldn't process, after about 15 mins of trying, they took us to the room anyway (with an upgrade) and said we could try again tomorrow. It wasn't all about trying to get our money first, they welcomed us in anyway. The staff were very helpful in trying to find out the problem with the credit card. The next day we were told that it wasn't our card, but an issue with the bank that the hotel uses, and they were very apologetic. Which was so nice. The breakfast was very good, and the view even better. A good walk along the street to see things. Alot of great places to eat and drink :) great location and rooms just fine for a short stay, not that it matters too much as we were on the beach majority of the time. Thankyou to the staff for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleigh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing