We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the third time paradise with a lot of "angels" again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

this was my third time and for my husband the second at Banana Fan Sea. As a repeater you usually will find in some Hotels little mistakes but not at Banana Fan Sea. Although the weather wasn't as fine as in May we enjoyed every minute of our 22 days stay. And again it is the wonderful gentle staff which gives you the feeling not really to be a guest but a member of a big familiy.Everone has a smile for you and takes always care you feel comfortable. Never had this in other hotels and we have been all over the world.
Nice houskeeping, very good serving staff at the restaurant and the reception, management perfect, all the busy other staff people always working with a smile on their faces.
The rooms clean and comfortable, all near to the wonderful clean beach, the best part of Chaweng beach.
Nice buffet parties on Mondays with a good Poynesian entertainer Edgar, a very nice guy.
Banana Fan Sea is one of the rare Hotels in the world you come, see, feel and will return sure because this hotel has heart and soul. Thanks a lot for being a Little Paradies in this world.

Room Tip: would prefer the Deluxe rooms because of the nice terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilde60er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolute gem. I booked following reading the reviews on this site. I was travelling alone and meeting friends in Thailand.

This hotel is one of the best value for money I have ever stayed in. Its tight on the beach and whilst not a 5 star quality the rooms are very nice and extremely clean. The pool and beach areas are well kept and the restaurant serves a varied and nice menu.

What makes this hotel extra special are the staff. They are a real credit to Thailand and this hotel. I will definitely be back in the future.

The only advice (if the manager reads this!) I would have is to move your 'shower room'. I turned up at the hotel at about 9am having travelled directly from London. The room wasn't ready which was totally fine but wanted to get changed and go sit by the pool. I was shown to a little shower room which seemed more like a staff quarters. It was full junk and not the tidiest of areas. Given its the first impression most people will get of the hotel I really would think about doing something different. A little detail and more friendly advice than a problem with my stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank stuhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in December 2013. The staff (especially YAM) and overall service is amazing. It is probably the best site on Chewang Beach. The restaurant is excellent though a little pricey compared to the ones on the main Chewang Beach road. The resort is central to the Island. The rooms are clean but a little small. Everything is a few steps away from main entrance (restaurants, massage parlors, shopping areas) and one could easily hire a scooter for 150 THB per day right next to the resort !!.
The pool area needs some revamping/renovation and a major negative aspect was the fact that far too many people were smoking by the swimming pool area and the management needs to designate a smoking area rather than the pool area. The restaurant is excellent though a little pricey.
Rajeev & Rina

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Wonderful place in a very good location in chaweng beach.
We had pleased holidays for 14 days in bananafan.
The room it was very clean!!! and comfortable.
I have to say for the crew they do very good job everyweare even to the beach they cleaned very often.
I think the place around the pool and the restaurant need a renounce.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Αρης Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After being in Thailand for 5 times, this times we decided to take only 5 stars hotel with best reviews can find and we expected to get only the best.
we stayed in perfect hotels (check our other reviews) and really wanted the best.
Unfortunately, the Banana is only a OK hotel. not more. Can't understand the reviews here..
Sure not a place that returns a value for money. Not the rooms, Not the food and not the location (too far from the center of Chaweng, which is the most important when visiting here, Especially with Children).

We had bad weather, which wasn't the hotel fault off course - but take in mind that the hotel doesn't offer anything to do in this case, and it's an important thing to think about when you're choosing your hotels, especially when you're with children.

Room Tip: We took the Beach front suite no.416 Expected for a great room. it was really OK, but that's th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MeloIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Banana Fan Sea Resort has amongst the best service of any resort we have stayed at. They are truly amazing, attention to detail is excellent, personal attention was superb and overall everything was above average.

On the second day, my daughter's Green Tea arrived, without our requesting it, purely from memory of the previous mornings breakfast! Now, that is personal service, at its best.

Well done all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We loved the Banana Fan Resort .... the food, the location, the room and more importantly all the staff !

We would highly recommend the Banana Fan Resort as a place to stay in Koh Samui - this trip was for our honeymoon and was just amazing !

We have to say Thailand and Koh Samui will stay in our memories always, the Thai people are definitely the nicest people we have ever met.

We would like to say that Edgar the singer was brilliant each night with his songs, we loved the music which was so lovely to listen to while having a meal and a drink or two and he was so nice to talk to and took requests.

We had a meal on the beach on our first night with Edgar singing beautiful tunes and fantastic food and drink with the sound of the waves and brilliant surroundings around us - it was pure heaven !

Yut picked us up at the airport (that we arranged before hand with the hotel which we recommend you do as so easy) and he greeted us with a warm smile and cool towels and water while on route to the hotel and was so friendly and helpful to my wife and I throughout the holiday, he was really great and will be remembered always ! Thank you Yut so much, a lovely person and great asset to the Banana Fan !

We would particularly like to mention Ko who worked the pool and beach area and provided drinks, food, set up your sun beds with towels and checked you were ok during the day.

He was absolutely brilliant and made our stay increase in experience from fabulous to absolutely fantastic.

He always took great care of all the people around the pool and beach area, always with a genuine smile and he went out of his way to take care of us. He was always so busy and making sure people were so well cared for.

In fact, we must say that we have been lucky enough to travel to many places in the world but have never met anyone that has made our time on holiday as special as Ko has.

He is truly a lovely man and a great asset to your hotel as are all your staff.

Thank you again, we have just arrived home and though important to provide this review with heart felt thanks.

We wish we were still there - will will definitely return ! x

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gazwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £82 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing