We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Hotel on the Chaweng Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were here five times. And we're always satisfied.
Good breakfast, very good service, beautiful beach and sea, comfortable chairs, cleanliness, well-kept garden...
But the BEST STAR OF BANANA FAN SEA resort is FRONT OFFICE MANAGER JUTHAMAS SARINGKARN!!!! We have never seen so fantastic manager!!!! She cares about comfort of guests, helps them, she is interested in their wishes, needs and so on... Her excellent job contributes to very beautiful holiday. That is the main reason that most people comes in Banana Fan Sea many times back...
Whole reception under the direction of Juthmas is great and pleasant!
We are looking forward to next holiday in Banana Fan Sea resort!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a nice 5 days stay at this hotel from 29.1. -3.2.2014. The location is great with a nice beach, a good restaurant and beautiful gardens. The only complaint heres is that the bed was hard as rock. My sleep was therefore very limited.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holtmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here in January 2014, for 3 nights. Arrived around 12pm and our room wasn't ready and told it wouldn't be until 2pm. Welcome drink provided, although the attitude of the reception member of staff who greeted us could've been better. Generally though, the staff were pleasant, although their English could've been better, given the cost of the hotel and the fact practically all guests were western

Particularly frustrating that despite booking the hotel over 4 months prior to staying and requesting a room near the pool / beach, we were situated right next to the hotel lobby - essentially we couldn't have been further from either!! I appreciate that requests are subject to availability, but one would expect that requesting this over 4 months prior, that it may be catered to, to some extent.

The room itself was large and spacious with a comfortable King bed and an additional single bed. Bathroom was spacious with a bath/shower combo and a separate shower. The bathroom decor could've been more modern, but it was clean and more than acceptable. The room also had a terrace which made for a great spot for pre-dinner drinks and a citronella lantern was also provided, to ward off the mosquitos.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied, although I would not say the quality or presentation was at a level you would expect from a hotel in Thailand charging £100 per night. On our final day, we had to leave early for the Lomprayah catamaran to Koh Tao and the hotel kindly provided breakfast boxes to take with, given breakfast would not be open at the said time. The contents were nothing special, but it was a nice touch.

The pool area was pleasant and spacious, whilst impeccably clean. Beds were usually available and there were also sun loungers on the beach available to guests. Drinks around the pool were reasonably priced, particularly in happy hour, where the cost of a large Singha was only about 30% more than the 7/11 down the road.

In terms of location, Banana Fan is in a great spot on the main Chaweng street, whilst given it is slightly set back from the road, it does not suffer from noise and in fact, it is situated in one of the less rowdy parts of the 'strip', whilst being within easy walking distance of everything.

Overall, I would give Banana Fan a solid 4/5. Whilst I do not think it is particularly cheap, we had a pleasant stay and any criticisms are very moderate. Allied with a great beach / pool, proximity to local amenities and excellent rooms, I would still recommend this, although I do believe the service and particularly catering to requests, could be better.

Room Tip: Request a room near the beach / pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cvieri32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have been any better. Free upgrade to a bungalow 2nd row back from the beach, and we didn't even have to ask.
Service was amazing. We would not only have the usual house keeping every day to change towels etc, but a couple of times throughout the day we would arrive back to find the bed made, room cleaned and always a scented candle lit in the bathroom which was a nice touch.

Location is perfect. Walk left out the front 1 min is chaweng street market on selected nights (cheaper shopping, food and cocktails) and it's located at the bottom end of chaweng beach road where the shopping starts, although there's scooter hire hassle free for 250 baht for those not willing to walk all the way up and back again (fairly long walk when shopping). Also located right on the perfect beach with happy hour regularly throughout the day, served right to your sun lounge.

Breakfast was as good as it gets. Great selection and fresh eggs made to order.

If you're unsure where to stay, stay here. You will not be disappointed. Our only regret is not staying longer. Will definitely return in future.

Thank you for a wonderful stay everyone at Banana Fan.

Nathan and Tara.

Adelaide, South Australia.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Banana Fan Sea Hotel surely is a nice four star hotel in Chaweng Beach but in no circumstances this hotel is number one or the best in Koh Samui, no way! The reason I tell you this is something that happened to us already on the first night at dinner......We were surrounded by people who were SMOKING in the hotel restaurant....this is unexceptable....more...... this is forbidden by Thai Law!!! When I made my complaint about that to the restaurant manager he told me that he couldnt refuse smoking in his restaurant because he would loose a lot of costumers if he didn't! I COULD NOT BELIEVE MY EARS, because of some German customers he did aloud smoking in his restaurant!!!!
- To tell you the truth.......a few days later I suddenly saw a sign on all tables which saids: Smoking is NOT aloud at this restaurant! So....my complaint was already working or were they maybe afraid of a future review at Tripadvisor.com?
Mr.Andre Hendrickx, Belgium.
ps: I hoped they learned there lesson now, smoking must be out every restaurant!

Room Tip: Room 416 is a very big room, more like an apartment with separated living, bed and bathroom, spotles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were very impressed with the graciousness and efficiency of the staff from the moment we arrived to the day of our departure. Room was great and well equipped, breakfast was fantastic and the location was perfect for our needs.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just returned from 6 nights in Koh Samui staying at Banana Fan Sea Resort and I'm already thinking about my next trip. From being greeted at the airport, checking in and out and returned to the airport everything that this hotel does is first class. The location right on the beach is fantastic. We stayed in a pool side villa and had a also a a view of the beach from our balcony. The service in the restaurant and bar area was efficient and polite.The buffet breakfast was great so many choices and the best omelettes and eggs all trip. We also ate lunch most days in the restaurant and found there were plenty of choices and well priced. Being able to have the Thai massage right on the best was also a nice touch. I would recommend Banana Ban Sea Resort and can't wait until my next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing