We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Banana Fan-tastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Banana Fan-tastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

On the notice board in the lobby, there were pictures of some guests with little notes saying 'Welcome home for your 4th/5th/6th visit'.
On the first day, we thought they must be crazy. On the last day, we were almost certain we'd be back too.

Every single staff member is a joy to talk to, and always ready to help. The entire resort is beautifully designed. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and have everything you might need.

But what really makes it probably the best choice on Chaweng is the location. It's far enough from all the noise, yet within walking distance. The beach in front of it is fantastic with clear water and fine sand. They have plenty of loungers for the guests, and happy hours twice daily, at noon and in the evening.

The hotel's Baitong Restaurant on the beach deserves a special mention too. It was one of the best meals we had in Thailand (not an easy feat, that) and the view overlooking the sea is great.

Banana Fan Sea is the kind of place that may not look extraordinary at first, but it quickly grows on you, and the warmth of the staff makes the experience even more memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z_glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    360
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
323
689
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for five nights. We enjoyed it. We had a very nice bungalow near the beach. They have a decent breakfast and reasonably good variety. Juthamas on reception is really so friendly and professional. She made us feel so welcome.
I would recommend this hotel, but just make sure when you are booking to call the manager Juthamas and ask for a room as closer to the beach, rather than close to reception.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morganmadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed in Banana Fan Resort with friends and just left for Phuket, we miss it already. The location is perfect as it is almost exactly central along Chaweng Beach.
The rooms are very large and spacious with a great bathroom. The in room mini bar is cheaper then going outside the resort and they offer happy hour twice daily for 2 hours with great prices and free penauts by the pool or on the beach.
The staff are the frendliest and most professional we have seen on our multi country holiday.
Definitely coming back sometime!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrettStainlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 days. We do love this resort with fine room, very good breakfast and there lunch and dinner were very good - especially there grilled fresch fish att the beach was marvelous. A little too hard beds in the room but very clean and tidy. All staff were very friendly and polite. In other world we liked the resort very much!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPannaHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Banana Fan a couple weeks back and the experience went beyond all expectations. Juthamas, those at reception and all staff working within the resort were always super helpful and friendly, making every encounter an absolute pleasure. The resort is located on the beautiful Chaweng Beach, but is situated away from the noise and the crowds so you can enjoy the amazing views in total tranquility. The rooms, gardens and facilities are impeccable, with special mention of the pool and buffet breakfast as they were our personal favourites! Thank you Banana Fan for a great stay, your hospitality really made our Thailand experience that extra bit special and we look forward to staying with you again in the future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clawd1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

we (2 parents + 2 teens) stayed 5 nights in this hotel 10 days ago, in 2 connecting rooms ;
we were delighted :
- the staff is very professional, and friendly
- the rooms (in small bungalows) were perfect (but not huge), as well as the breakfast/restaurant & gardens
- location (right on Chaweng beach) is perfect
overall, we highly recommend this place
(only the pool is not huge/outstanding ; but the beach/sea is just a few meters away)

Room Tip: the cheapest rooms are not in bungalows => perhaps slightly less pleasant than the other/upper ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedoudous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

For starters, me and my wife arrived there after a long day with a lot of ferries, taxi's and a long walk. The staff received us after knowing my name and my preferences. They gave us very quickly a juice from a tiger lily ( Don't know how they make it but it was excellent) and were very patient for me to find my voucher and reservation number which I failed to find quickly.

The room was ready very quickly, even though we came prior to check out time. The bed and bathroom were made with orchids and towels handled great looking like swans or something else I did not recognise.

All along our stay the staff were very helpful and nice. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Even though we were at the room near the lobby and not at the cabins near the beach we were very glad and satisfied.

The beach is lovely along with the pool and the gardens at the hotel are amazing. This must be one of the best choices to stay at Chaweng beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing