We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wonderful place,great food,courteous,helpful wonderful staff, 10 out of 10 for everything, so happy that will be returning in a few weeks with a large group of friends. The communication and professionalism is what makes them No.1 in Chaweng

Room Tip: Deluxe bungalows are lovely, or the new deluxe sea front room with own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is a fairly small resort with terraced bungalow type accomodation laid out in lush gardens. Pool and restaurant are right by the water a few steps from the beach but fairly limited in size and variety of food and entertainment possibilities. Location at the far end of the Chaweng Beach is private enough but at the same time also close enough to many food and entertainment venues along the beach front. Rooms are fairly basic and plain but clean, however cannot say the same for the bathrooms. We had two rooms and in one of the rooms we simply could not get rid of the ants that infested the sink no matter what. The bathrooms need a major clean-up and facelift like most of the resort could do with a good facelift. Also the workers and the construction noise from the upgrasde works of the private villa right at the front of the resort was a constant nuisance during beach time. On a good note, staff is friendly and accomodating and can take even criticism with a smile and more importantly act on the feedback. Also the massage at the beachfront was very good and inexpensive. All in all, it was not a bad holiday or overall experience but not a place that I would rush to go back to before I tried others...

Room Tip: Ask for a beach side room/bungalow as the rooms towards the back around the receition are get all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okai_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have been staying in Banana Fun Sea resort so many times and it is always great!
The resort and the rooms are clean, the staff is always kind and friendly, the price is good compared to the quality of the service you receive.
I will come back as soon as possible, for many years to come!!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyscalvini007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great location and pool area as it's right on the beach but it's old, it definitely needs major renovation, specially their bathrooms. Average breakfast but the Batong restaurant was very nice. Wouldn't go back as they are do many other newer hotels around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghermineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We first arrived at Samui airport treated by the driver from the banana fan and as the airline lost my suitcase I was not in the happy holiday spirit. When we got back to the resort they were very concerning and kept in contact for me with the airport to see if it was located and took me to a shopping centre to get some shorts and a t-shirt as I only had my jeans and joggers on and it was 35 degrees. Later that afternoon the GM of the hotel seen us with a happy smile as they had my case at my room for me...
This place in directly on charwang beach and in about the middle. I would have to say that it is the very best part of the beach, water is warm and crystal clear and the sand is powder like.
Breakfast was always great and the happy ( hours) cocktails were always a big hit sitting around the pool.
It is very hot this time of year ( mid may) so use plenty of sun screen but overall a very nice resort , lovey staff and in one of the best locations on charwong beach.
We will be back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank granttoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed at Banana Fan Sea Resort for 8 nights and we have enjoyed our stay from day 1 to the last day. The hotel itself is well maintained. The rooms are very clean and they do a good job to make up my room everyday. The hotel has a very good and clean pool, beautiful beaches with soft white sand. However, the pool towels seem to run out quickly in the late afternoon.
The hotel staffs are very friendly. They greet me every time when I enter the hotel from outside. "Somyot Chuaisatit" the Reservation Supervisor, he is very helpful and kindly answer to whatever questions I have. He patiently suggested me how to get around in Koh Samui. Because of his helpfulness and kindness, I have decided to extend my stay at this hotel form 6 nights to 8 nights. I was initially booked for 6 nights with my travel agent.
Thank you!!! Yot!!! Thank you for being so kind!!! We can't wait to go to Samui again and see you soon in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Myself and husband with 2 children ages 12 and 7 along with my 65 year old mother travelled here from Cape Town to celebrate my 40th birthday in April.
From the start to the finish we had an excellent time, we stayed here for 11 nights and over the Thai New Year period.
I must first say that the gems of this hotel are definitely all the staff that work here, they really do make the holiday for you. We were all so overwhelmed with their kindness and their genuine willingness to make your time there so special. My 7 year old son made lots of friends with all the staff and especially Mas who he has now named his prize teddy bear after :-)
We initially stayed in rooms 206 and 207 ( the pool villas) which were very nice but after 2 nights we moved into the pool villa in the front which was just incredible. Rooms 328 and 329.
I could not recommend these rooms more ! We had fantastic views as the villa is right on the beach and to have our own pool was just heaven, especially with the heat in April ! It is also partially shaded so remains cool and refreshing.
The breakfasts were delicious and we had a few dinners here too on the beach but also explored the Island for fun ;-) Dr Frogs was also amazing !
Activities we did.....
We hired a private car to take us around the island for the day to do the sightseeing and I would highly recommend this if you are a family with small children.
We also took Jack for a few muay thai boxing lessons which he loved.
We did the Marine Park kayaking trip for my birthday which is an absolute must and an awesome way to celebrate my big day !
We did the Full Moon party which was a massive eye opener and loads of fun :-)
We did the night market at Fishermans village, lots of interesting foods to try and local crafts to buy, street cocktails and foot massages at the end :-)
We hired jet skis a few times from outside the hotel, and swam a lot in the sea.
We qualified my 12 year old daughter with a scuba diving course through discovery dive center and their service was great, we had Nick as our guide and he was superb with Jemma!

And the rest of the time we sat at our beautiful villa and drank cocktails and swam in the pool :-)

For my birthday, Mas organised a beautiful birthday cake and her and Edgar came in singing to me whilst we were in the pool ! Was lots of fun and made my day very special :-)

The beach outside the hotel is definitely the best on the stretch, we walked up and down either side of the hotel - about 20 mins each way and we were definitely at the best spot !
We also had a few massages ( ok, almost every day) right outside the pool area of the hotel and the girls here were fabulous and very affordable, even for us South Africans :-)

I cannot fault this hotel at all, and I can only highly recommend it.
The villa we stayed it was so great and the staff here were all outstanding,
I can only hope that we will one day be able to return here and do it all again !

Thank you all at Banana Fan Sea Hotel for all the great memories xxxx

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 328, and 329. If you can afford a little more, stay in these rooms, it will defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janebaines007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
1,937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing