We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Casuarina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Awesome”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

To be honest, the photos on the internet don't do it justice. The Banana Fan Sea is a little gem. We had been staying in a private house and decided to stay closer to the action for our last two nights. The night before, we scoped the internet and chose three resorts on Chaweng Beach to visit but ignoring the hundreds of positive remarks on Trip Advisor, we actually discounted the Banana Fan Sea based purely on the photos. After getting the run around at the other three resorts the Trip Advisor reviews kept ringing in my head so we dropped in......and our holiday instantly went from great to unbelievable!
The rooms were spacious (we had two interconnecting rooms), luxurious, spotless and the most comfortable of all four places that we had spent time in over our holiday.
The breakfast was excellent. The pool is on the small side compared to modern resorts but considering we spent all our time in the ocean 40m away it made no difference.
The location is just perfect...on the fringe of the madness but far enough away to escape the crowds and chill.
But without a doubt, what makes the Banana Fan Sea a wonderful experience is the staff. Welcoming, attentive and genuinely friendly. We have been back for just a few hours and already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Family with 2 children, the interconnecting rooms serve as a two bedroom / two bathroom villa with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thecarpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    362
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
328
697
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I would love to come back next year, very clean and helpful staff. Close to all u need, but far way from night life if you have children. Staff are very helpful and try to meet all your needs. I will be coming back next year

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a great place. This was our first time at Banana Fans. Absolutely loved it. Will most definatly be returning. Had 7 nights there in a very clean and tidy bungalow with a balcony which is perfect for sitting on at night with a cocktail in hand. Or for escaping the inevitable odd downpour. The service was outstanding. The most hospitable and friendly people I have encountered for a long time. Excellent spread at breakfast. Great cocktails at the bar...roll on happy hour. Had a great massage on the beach below the bar....well worth it...very relaxing. Looking forward to our next visit there.

Room Tip: Our room faced the sea and was cooler in the afternoon as it didnt have the sun streaming in in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had the most fantastic 9 days our bungalow was very roomy indeed! Plenty of pillows brilliant air con! My only gripe is the poor quality of the bathroom towels well past there sell by date threadbare and hard? Bathrooms also could do with a makeover very old and rundown.
Restaurant food high standard and very well priced as are the drinks. Breakfast was OK cooked breakfast cooked in front of you excellent but not much selection if you wanted continental. However coffee selection brilliant! Beach is fantastic too can't wait to go back, brilliant location brilliant staff overall a brilliant time was had!
Location is brilliant easy to walk anywhere and not too close to the noisy area but close enough if you want it? Many restaurants nearby and shops ,shops, shops!
Brilliant tailor within 2 minutes of hotel Jimmys absolutely fantastic service very friendly and super service! One tip do not go to the tailor called Toms opposite the Centara Grand Hotel, total rip off had to get police involved please beware!

Room Tip: A great location fantastic beach overall a brilliant 9 days and all being said would definitely reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starlight200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We moved here as our other hotel was much too quiet. The hotel was so accommodating, such helpful staff. Gorgeous beach area. Such clean tidy rooms staff left the rooms immaculate. We will definitely be returning. Thank you banana fan

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smurfette84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed five nights at the BFSR. We enjoyed our time at the beach very much and stayed in a garden side bungalow that was pretty quiet. The rooms are not super flashy, but they are clean and the beds are comfy (we asked for softer pillows after the first night and we quickly got some). The beach club a few hotels over does play pretty loud bass music at night that was heard faintly in the evening, but not enough to prevent us from sleeping. We were comfortable in our room and the air conditioning worked quickly and efficiently once it was kicked on. We were also surprised by an elaborate flower display on the bed for our 10th anniversary and they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine, which was an incredibly thoughtful gesture.
The breakfast was okay-- not terrible, but not wonderful. However, the coffee was A+ and your room price included lattes, cappuccinos, etc. at will in the morning (--which was a very nice touch since other places we've been that's an upcharge).
The beach is fantastic, very clean and a good enough reason to stay here.
The main drawback to this resort for us was that we felt that we were one of the only non-smokers staying and we were surrounded by cigarette smoke at every turn, all day long. In the morning, people were puffing away in the restaurant even though there were "zones" marked for smoking/non smoking, they were not separated enough to make a difference. Also, on the beach, it got old very quickly. The resort does advertise itself as a non-smoking resort and when we asked, we were told, yes, they were because smoking was forbidden in the lobby and in the rooms...But it is a little misleading. The staff said they couldn't really ask people to stop smoking and suggested we ask people to move away from us if they were bothering us. We wouldn't feel comfortable doing so.
The staff were all geuninely friendly as well. A pretty nice hotel overall that would be great if they could work on accommodating smokers and non-smokers alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We came back for the second time (after 5 years) and stayed in a garden bungalow. We were greeted like family and felt very welcome. The bungalow was very small so we asked for another bungalow and they gave us (complementary) a bungalow for 3 persons, just for the two of us. That was nice and we had therefore more space. The exterior of the hotel and the garden look amazing. On the other hand I must say that the bungalows are a bit outdated from the inside. That goes for the room and the bathroom. I would only come back if they renovate the bungalows because it is really too old. If you have a high standard I would not recommend it.
But besides that, there are a lot of pros;
the location (in Chaweng but not at the busiest place)
the staff (very kind and polite people who like to make a conversation and are interested in you)
the beach (soft sand and the sea is lovely and in my opinion one of the best in Asia)
the beautiful garden
the restaurant (good quality, looks nice in the evening, on the beach, and the red curry with duck is amazing!)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing