We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Memorable Stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived at Ko Samui airport and we were met by the hotel’s driver Yut, who was a charming man and provided us with ice cold water and whisked us away to the Banana Fan Sea Resort. Yut who was always smiling, remembered our names and spoke to us frequently during our 2 week stay, he was a very lovely man.

We received a warm welcome once we arrived at the hotel and were provided with ice cold towels and a cold drink. The resort is lovely in a fantastic location on a white sandy beach with a warm crystal clear sea.

All of the staff that we came into contact with provided an excellent service with a smile and nothing was ever too much trouble. They really seemed to enjoy their job and serving their customers. We would like to say a special thank you to Supit, Mas, On, Fon and Saw who made our stay memorable.

The hotel food was of a consistently high standard and it was well priced. We did eat outside of the hotel a few times, but to be honest the location of the hotel restaurant, which was right on the beach and ambience supported by Edgar, the hotels musical entertainer, was far superior to many other places that we ate in and for this reason we ate at the hotel the majority of the time.
On arrival we had a problem with our wifi connection, which was swiftly resolved with the intervention and follow up of the hotel manager Supit. It was very obvious that Supit always took the time to speak to his hotel guests and was seen daily making his presence felt. Any concern that we had was dealt with immediately and we never had to ask twice for anything.

Overall we had a fabulous holiday and we would not hesitate to recommend the Banana Fan Sea Resort and it is a hotel that we would love to return to.

Room Tip: Garden view or sea view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polkadot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    367
    60
    19
    7
See reviews for
339
712
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casuarina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

To be honest, the photos on the internet don't do it justice. The Banana Fan Sea is a little gem. We had been staying in a private house and decided to stay closer to the action for our last two nights. The night before, we scoped the internet and chose three resorts on Chaweng Beach to visit but ignoring the hundreds of positive remarks on Trip Advisor, we actually discounted the Banana Fan Sea based purely on the photos. After getting the run around at the other three resorts the Trip Advisor reviews kept ringing in my head so we dropped in......and our holiday instantly went from great to unbelievable!
The rooms were spacious (we had two interconnecting rooms), luxurious, spotless and the most comfortable of all four places that we had spent time in over our holiday.
The breakfast was excellent. The pool is on the small side compared to modern resorts but considering we spent all our time in the ocean 40m away it made no difference.
The location is just perfect...on the fringe of the madness but far enough away to escape the crowds and chill.
But without a doubt, what makes the Banana Fan Sea a wonderful experience is the staff. Welcoming, attentive and genuinely friendly. We have been back for just a few hours and already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Family with 2 children, the interconnecting rooms serve as a two bedroom / two bathroom villa with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thecarpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I would love to come back next year, very clean and helpful staff. Close to all u need, but far way from night life if you have children. Staff are very helpful and try to meet all your needs. I will be coming back next year

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a great place. This was our first time at Banana Fans. Absolutely loved it. Will most definatly be returning. Had 7 nights there in a very clean and tidy bungalow with a balcony which is perfect for sitting on at night with a cocktail in hand. Or for escaping the inevitable odd downpour. The service was outstanding. The most hospitable and friendly people I have encountered for a long time. Excellent spread at breakfast. Great cocktails at the bar...roll on happy hour. Had a great massage on the beach below the bar....well worth it...very relaxing. Looking forward to our next visit there.

Room Tip: Our room faced the sea and was cooler in the afternoon as it didnt have the sun streaming in in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had the most fantastic 9 days our bungalow was very roomy indeed! Plenty of pillows brilliant air con! My only gripe is the poor quality of the bathroom towels well past there sell by date threadbare and hard? Bathrooms also could do with a makeover very old and rundown.
Restaurant food high standard and very well priced as are the drinks. Breakfast was OK cooked breakfast cooked in front of you excellent but not much selection if you wanted continental. However coffee selection brilliant! Beach is fantastic too can't wait to go back, brilliant location brilliant staff overall a brilliant time was had!
Location is brilliant easy to walk anywhere and not too close to the noisy area but close enough if you want it? Many restaurants nearby and shops ,shops, shops!
Brilliant tailor within 2 minutes of hotel Jimmys absolutely fantastic service very friendly and super service! One tip do not go to the tailor called Toms opposite the Centara Grand Hotel, total rip off had to get police involved please beware!

Room Tip: A great location fantastic beach overall a brilliant 9 days and all being said would definitely reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starlight200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We moved here as our other hotel was much too quiet. The hotel was so accommodating, such helpful staff. Gorgeous beach area. Such clean tidy rooms staff left the rooms immaculate. We will definitely be returning. Thank you banana fan

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smurfette84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed five nights at the BFSR. We enjoyed our time at the beach very much and stayed in a garden side bungalow that was pretty quiet. The rooms are not super flashy, but they are clean and the beds are comfy (we asked for softer pillows after the first night and we quickly got some). The beach club a few hotels over does play pretty loud bass music at night that was heard faintly in the evening, but not enough to prevent us from sleeping. We were comfortable in our room and the air conditioning worked quickly and efficiently once it was kicked on. We were also surprised by an elaborate flower display on the bed for our 10th anniversary and they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine, which was an incredibly thoughtful gesture.
The breakfast was okay-- not terrible, but not wonderful. However, the coffee was A+ and your room price included lattes, cappuccinos, etc. at will in the morning (--which was a very nice touch since other places we've been that's an upcharge).
The beach is fantastic, very clean and a good enough reason to stay here.
The main drawback to this resort for us was that we felt that we were one of the only non-smokers staying and we were surrounded by cigarette smoke at every turn, all day long. In the morning, people were puffing away in the restaurant even though there were "zones" marked for smoking/non smoking, they were not separated enough to make a difference. Also, on the beach, it got old very quickly. The resort does advertise itself as a non-smoking resort and when we asked, we were told, yes, they were because smoking was forbidden in the lobby and in the rooms...But it is a little misleading. The staff said they couldn't really ask people to stop smoking and suggested we ask people to move away from us if they were bothering us. We wouldn't feel comfortable doing so.
The staff were all geuninely friendly as well. A pretty nice hotel overall that would be great if they could work on accommodating smokers and non-smokers alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing