We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation Plus”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

From the time we stepped off the plane & greeted by our driver to the plentiful supply of staff at Banana Fan Sea we could not fault the place. Australian Hospitality could learn a lot from such a resort as Banana Fan Sea. The grounds of the resort including the beach are well kept. the lush green gardens just make you forget the busy world & instantly put you into relax mode. the rooms are clean & tidy. Exceptional house keeping staff ensure your room is cleaned daily. Each evening the friendly staff come turn down your bed covers & frangipani flower on the pillow each night is just another little touch that does not go unnoticed. The staff throughput the complex are there to wait on you hand & foot & do such a fantastic job of it, that during our 8 day stay I started to feel guilty!!! The pool is a great place to hang around as too the beach. The typical markets are just a hop, step & jump from the resort. There is also plentiful supply of eateries dotting along the Main Street to choose from. Just a short stroll from the resort is a huge shopping centre with all the up market brand stores. The food at the resort is extensive & caters for a wide variety of taste buds. You certain won't go hungry. The resort is not a big chain hospitality resort which works in its favour. You don't feel like you are being crowded & competing for its facilities or space. Fantastic holiday, fantastic resort, fantastic staff, fantastic location. Our first holiday at Banana Fan Sea but certainly won't be our last.

Room Tip: Rooms surrounding the pool would receive the main volume of traffic which could be an issue regardin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Bev P, Perth, Australia,
“Relaxation Plus”
You don't feel like you are being crowded & competing for its facilities or space. Fantastic holiday, fantastic resort, fantastic staff, fantastic location. Our first holiday at Banana Fan Sea but certainly won't be our last.
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback to Banana Fan Sea Resort. With “Certainly won't be our last” in tripadvisor.
Again, thank you and look forward to serving you in Koh Samui next time
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    362
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
327
697
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was my second stay at Banana Fan Sea and again it did not disappoint. The staff at the resort make the you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. There are too many to mention but catching up with Mas, Supit, Pop, Edgar, and Yut was just like seeing old friends again. The grounds are neat and clean. The rooms have all you need, comfortable large beds, air conditioning, safes, ensuites and the fact that you can purchase drinks (at the same price as going to the 7-11) in the foyer to place in your mini fridge is a great idea. We ate numerous times in the resort restaurant and for those times we ventured out other wonderful eateries were within walking distance. The bar on the beach was a great addition since our last stay.
Sure the pool is not as spacious as some other resorts but when you have the ocean only 30 metres away there is plenty of room to swim in. Breakfast was plentiful in choice and the coffees are damn good.
This trip was to celebrate my wife and my 50th birthdays. We ended up with 54 of us staying at the resort. The fact we were a large group did not phase the staff at all. Check in, check out and everything in between went off without an issue. My wife and I were treated like royalty. We were upgraded to a beach front suite and my wife had the assistance of Mas when organising the beach party to celebrate our birthdays. The work that the staff did was amazing in setting up the beach and cooking for our function. A better night we could not have wished for. The weather report for the evening was not looking good and I know that many of the staff were even praying for us to have nice conditions.
So if its a holiday for a couple or a large group your organising do yourself a favour and book at Banana Fan Sea Resort. Book directly with the resort as this is the most efficient way.
I know we will be back and so too, many of our group. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: My choice is the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Syd64, Kingscliff, Australia,
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback of your second stayed “Do yourself a favour” to Banana Fan Sea Resort. With “Book directly with the resort as this is the most efficient way. in tripadvisor.
Again, thank you and look forward to serving you of the third time in Koh Samui
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Management & staff at Banana Fan Sea welcomed us like old friends (even though it was our first visit). Nothing was too much trouble for our 7 night stay. Our bungalow was quiet and kept clean and tidy daily by efficient staff. The pool and beach areas are well patrolled by King & his happy helpers, ensuring that we didn't get sunburnt by moving umbrellas without being asked. The attentive service by all staff was a highlight. Remember, the staff all have name badges, so it doesn't take much to greet the staff using their names. We would recommend Banana Fan Sea to anyone as they appear to cater well for all. Families, couples and large groups. Thank you Supit, Mas and all the lovely staff. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Jenny W, Tweed Heads, Australia,
“Relax, relax, relax!!!”
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback of your first stayed with Banana Fan Sea Resort we are very pleased to read your greatest review in tripadvisor. Your recommendation is the most important for our customer around the worlds we are very much appreciated
Thank you again and look forward to serving you again on the best spot of Chaweng beach

With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at Banana Fan Sea resort for 8 nights recently. Simply stated - a wonderful stay. Staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Food and beverage choices are plentiful and very reasonably priced. Without staying anywhere else I think the location would be hard to beat - beach just steps away and all the local shops and restaurants within a comfortable walking distance. Pros: friendly staff and service, location. Cons: can't think of any

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Gary T, Gold Coast, Australia,
“First time visit - but sure to return”
Pros: friendly staff and service, location. Cons: can't think of any
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback to Banana Fan Sea Resort, we are very happy to read and share to all concerns about the happiness of your recent stayed

Thank you again and look forward to serving you again on the best spot of Chaweng beach

With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samui
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we had some experience in a LUXURY CRUISE and Banana Fan Sea, is just like a LOVE BOAT,please come abord,.Exciting and NEW,,,a recommendable place to stay,,many guest from the neighbor hotel just come and back,to Baitong in the evening due to a very cosy and relaxing atmosphere,,,come & try.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great,choose the beachfront,,is highly recommendable,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2015
Dear edgar c, samui,
Thank you evry much for your greatest review of the Love Boat" we are very much appreciated of your feedback

Hope you had a great time and very pleased of stayed with us
Again, thanks and we look forward to serving you again sometimes
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had the most amazing time at Banana Fan Sea Resort once again. On arrival we were greeted with a beautiful flower arrangement on our bed saying Welcome Home and that is exactly how we felt. We were part of a big group of 60 people and every single person had nothing but great words to say about this resort. If you ever have the opportunity to visit Samui do yourself a favour and stay at Banana Fan Sea Resort. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Supit, Mas and all the staff for everything you do to make our time with you a memorable one. I look forward to visiting you again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BertJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2015
Dear BertJules, Brisbane, Australia,
“Amazing once again”
Thank you very much for your repeated with Banana Fan Sea Resort again, we hope you had a great time of the party and had fun of being a great group of 60 people
We are also had a great time of being served you and treat you all
Thank again and look forward to serving again soon

With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked this hotel on the basis of two recurring themes in the TA reviews: excellent location and brilliant service. While the hotel was indeed in a great location the service wasn't always amazing and below what I've come to expect from Thai hotels.

Pros:

As stated, very good location, the beach and waters are beautiful and certainly the best that I saw on Samui. The main action in Chaweng is a short walk away but there is still plenty in the vicinity of the hotel.

Restaurant: Good, reasonably priced food (apart from breakfast, see below). They do offer a few lunch specials of noodles/spaghetti and a soft drink which are both delicious and very reasonably priced. Dinner on the beach along with live music is also a great experience.

Wifi: Free and consistent. Perfectly fast enough for normal browsing, a bit slow for downloading emails but then again that's not what most people will be using it for. Interestingly though the Tripadvisor website appears to be blocked through their wifi. Every other website worked fine and the TA app still worked but their wifi would not allow access to the TA website. I'm not sure why this is (possibly to stop irate guests posting while on site?) but it was an inconvenience.

Quiet: The hotel and pool area are quiet and relaxing. Well it was for most of my stay. On the penultimate day a large group of Australians arrived. Their kids pretty much had no consideration for any of the other guests, splashing everyone in or around the pool and I did have to stop them myself when they began throwing large stones into the pool. Sadly it was obvious where they picked up this behaviour when their parents enter the pool and pretty much monopolised the entire area. Jumping in a splashing everyone around, hitting pretty much everyone with the balls that they were throwing around and generally ruining the relaxed ambience that had been present up until their arrival.

Cons:

Rooms: I booked a deluxe bungalow which was small and very dated. While it was spotlessly clean it was in major need of refurbishment and simply not up to modern standards. Guests are provided one key with a magnetic strip that controls the power to the room so as soon as you leave the room all power is off. Of course this means that when you re-enter the room it is of course warm and takes a good ten minutes to cool down. What was more of a problem is that the fridge is switched off which means that any drinks you have stored in there begin to warm up. And even worse is that you can't charge any electrical devices unless you're in the room. Which brings me on to the next problem with the room in that there are only two available power sockets. Most people have a couple of phones with them and at least one tablet, these obviously could all be charged at the same time and also couldn't be left in to charge while you're out of the room. Also, it is stated that the hotel does not provide irons and ironing boards which is a major inconvenience, an ironing service is available but isn't exactly handy when you're just looking to give a shirt a quick iron before going for dinner. The beds are very hard and far from comfortable and the walls paper thin and we could hear pretty much every movement from the adjoining bungalow. Two bottles of water are supplied daily but that obviously isn't enough and given how inexpensive they are it wouldn't be a massive cost for the hotel to supply a couple more bottles.

Service: The service wasn't terrible but was patchy and below what I had expected. Several times when we entered the hotel after an evening out the staff in reception kept their head down and didn't acknowledge us. In every other hotel we stayed in in Thailand we were given a warm greeting, this wasn't the case here. There is a waiter service at the pool but they can be difficult to get a hold of, at times not appearing for over 30 minutes, not brilliant if you fancy a drink and have to go searching for them. On our first day I ordered a couple of glasses of wine. Now I'm not overly fussy but both glasses were filthy. My next glass have lipstick thick round the rim and looked like it hadn't been washed at all. These are very basic problems that the staff should have spotted before the glass got to me. Again, having a drink in the bar/restaurant in the evening it was difficult getting anyone's attention to order a drink and never did anyone proactively approach us to enquire as to whether we wanted another drink.

Breakfast: The breakfast and service was poor. Half the time we had to seat ourselves and of course when we did this no one bother coming over to take an order for tea or coffee, standing around clearly believing that it was someone else's responsibility. The hot food selection was terrible with rubber sausages and cold crisp bacon plus some other lunch food option. If you want something hot them an omlette is your best option as their made freshly by a very friendly young gentleman. There are a maximum of three cereal options and one cold meat option with a few slices of cheese. It is a very disappointing array given the good quality of their lunch and dinner food. The breakfast service does end promptly at 10.30am with the food being taken away on the dot.


Overall it wasn't a terrible stay, it simply wasn't any better than average and much higher quality hotels can be had for not much more money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewerk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing