We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good overall hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Enjoyable stay at Banana Fan. Spacious room. 2 showers in the bathroom which was handy. Couch and TV in room. We had a room right at the front near the reception and close to the road but it wasn't at all noisy. Location is walking distance from everything but you wouldn't want to stay any further out from the center. Bed was terribly hard. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Restaurant had great food and the breakfast buffet was fantastic with a huge range.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear jbland13, Perth, Australia,
Good overall hotel”
Enjoyable stay at Banana Fan. Spacious room. 2 showers in the bathroom which was handy. Couch and TV in room. We had a room right at the front near the reception and close to the road but it wasn't at all noisy. Location is walking distance from everything but you wouldn't want to stay any further out from the center. Bed was terribly hard. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Restaurant had great food and the breakfast buffet was fantastic with a huge range.
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback to Banana Fan Sea Resort in tripadvisor.
Again, thank you and look forward to serving you in Koh Samui next time
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    374
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
357
726
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Banana Fan recently for a week and while other hotels may have similar great views, location and amenities, I can honestly say the staff and service here is unbeatable.

As a group of 5 young guys we were out till late and maybe not easy to understand at times, but the patience and pleasure displayed by the teams at reception, Baitong restaurant and landscaping made our stay feel natural and simple.

During our friend's birthday each team member somehow knew it was his birthday and made an extra effort to wish him a good day and ask if there was anything extra we would like to make the day more special.

The gardening and pool staff are cool guys, who you can joke with and know your face within a day.
Plenty of credit also to the management team - Supit and Mas run the show in an easy-going and fun atmosphere.

Nightlife - restaurant-bars near hotel on the road and the beach, while the main bars/clubs are around 10-15 minute beach walk. Easy to find - just walk out onto the beach, look left and follow the colourful lights.
Tourism - the lady at the desk is lovely and easy to deal with, and can arrange pretty much all outside-hotel activities for decent prices
Water activities - man on the beach about 20m left of the hotel beach access point organises all of this

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Parrus K, London, United Kingdom,
“Service, Smiles, Sun, Sand & Surroundings!”
We stayed at Banana Fan recently for a week and while other hotels may have similar great views, location and amenities, I can honestly say the staff and service here is unbeatable.
During our friend's birthday each team member somehow knew it was his birthday and made an extra effort to wish him a good day and ask if there was anything extra we would like to make the day more special.
Your love tree is now much high grow up beating to sky
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback to Banana Fan Sea Resort in tripadvisor.
Again, thank you and look forward to serving you in Koh Samui next time
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for a week as part of a group of friends celebrating two 50th birthdays. Our time at the resort was wonderful and it's the attention to detail and personal atmosphere that makes this place a stand out.
The staff are second to none, they make you feel part of the family.
I would stay here if I return to Thailand. Koh Samui is by far our first choice. The location on the beach is awesome.
There is a great selection for breakfast, poolside happy hours are so good, dinner on the beach is perfect.
Our group were fortunate to experience our party night on the beach for the 50th. One of the best nights we have all ever had. Food was the best, great singing and dancing and fantastic drinks at the beach bar.
You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Lee S,
“One of the best places I've stayed”
We recently stayed for a week as part of a group of friends celebrating two 50th birthdays. Our time at the resort was wonderful and it's the attention to detail and personal atmosphere that makes this place a stand out. The staff are second to none, they make you feel part of the family.

Thank you very much for your greatest feedback to Banana Fan Sea Resort. With “You won't be disappointed if you stay here” in tripadvisor.
Again, thank you and look forward to serving you in Koh Samui next time
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

From the time we stepped off the plane & greeted by our driver to the plentiful supply of staff at Banana Fan Sea we could not fault the place. Australian Hospitality could learn a lot from such a resort as Banana Fan Sea. The grounds of the resort including the beach are well kept. the lush green gardens just make you forget the busy world & instantly put you into relax mode. the rooms are clean & tidy. Exceptional house keeping staff ensure your room is cleaned daily. Each evening the friendly staff come turn down your bed covers & frangipani flower on the pillow each night is just another little touch that does not go unnoticed. The staff throughput the complex are there to wait on you hand & foot & do such a fantastic job of it, that during our 8 day stay I started to feel guilty!!! The pool is a great place to hang around as too the beach. The typical markets are just a hop, step & jump from the resort. There is also plentiful supply of eateries dotting along the Main Street to choose from. Just a short stroll from the resort is a huge shopping centre with all the up market brand stores. The food at the resort is extensive & caters for a wide variety of taste buds. You certain won't go hungry. The resort is not a big chain hospitality resort which works in its favour. You don't feel like you are being crowded & competing for its facilities or space. Fantastic holiday, fantastic resort, fantastic staff, fantastic location. Our first holiday at Banana Fan Sea but certainly won't be our last.

Room Tip: Rooms surrounding the pool would receive the main volume of traffic which could be an issue regardin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Bev P, Perth, Australia,
“Relaxation Plus”
You don't feel like you are being crowded & competing for its facilities or space. Fantastic holiday, fantastic resort, fantastic staff, fantastic location. Our first holiday at Banana Fan Sea but certainly won't be our last.
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback to Banana Fan Sea Resort. With “Certainly won't be our last” in tripadvisor.
Again, thank you and look forward to serving you in Koh Samui next time
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was my second stay at Banana Fan Sea and again it did not disappoint. The staff at the resort make the you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. There are too many to mention but catching up with Mas, Supit, Pop, Edgar, and Yut was just like seeing old friends again. The grounds are neat and clean. The rooms have all you need, comfortable large beds, air conditioning, safes, ensuites and the fact that you can purchase drinks (at the same price as going to the 7-11) in the foyer to place in your mini fridge is a great idea. We ate numerous times in the resort restaurant and for those times we ventured out other wonderful eateries were within walking distance. The bar on the beach was a great addition since our last stay.
Sure the pool is not as spacious as some other resorts but when you have the ocean only 30 metres away there is plenty of room to swim in. Breakfast was plentiful in choice and the coffees are damn good.
This trip was to celebrate my wife and my 50th birthdays. We ended up with 54 of us staying at the resort. The fact we were a large group did not phase the staff at all. Check in, check out and everything in between went off without an issue. My wife and I were treated like royalty. We were upgraded to a beach front suite and my wife had the assistance of Mas when organising the beach party to celebrate our birthdays. The work that the staff did was amazing in setting up the beach and cooking for our function. A better night we could not have wished for. The weather report for the evening was not looking good and I know that many of the staff were even praying for us to have nice conditions.
So if its a holiday for a couple or a large group your organising do yourself a favour and book at Banana Fan Sea Resort. Book directly with the resort as this is the most efficient way.
I know we will be back and so too, many of our group. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: My choice is the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Dear Syd64, Kingscliff, Australia,
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback of your second stayed “Do yourself a favour” to Banana Fan Sea Resort. With “Book directly with the resort as this is the most efficient way. in tripadvisor.
Again, thank you and look forward to serving you of the third time in Koh Samui
With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Management & staff at Banana Fan Sea welcomed us like old friends (even though it was our first visit). Nothing was too much trouble for our 7 night stay. Our bungalow was quiet and kept clean and tidy daily by efficient staff. The pool and beach areas are well patrolled by King & his happy helpers, ensuring that we didn't get sunburnt by moving umbrellas without being asked. The attentive service by all staff was a highlight. Remember, the staff all have name badges, so it doesn't take much to greet the staff using their names. We would recommend Banana Fan Sea to anyone as they appear to cater well for all. Families, couples and large groups. Thank you Supit, Mas and all the lovely staff. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Jenny W, Tweed Heads, Australia,
“Relax, relax, relax!!!”
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback of your first stayed with Banana Fan Sea Resort we are very pleased to read your greatest review in tripadvisor. Your recommendation is the most important for our customer around the worlds we are very much appreciated
Thank you again and look forward to serving you again on the best spot of Chaweng beach

With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at Banana Fan Sea resort for 8 nights recently. Simply stated - a wonderful stay. Staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Food and beverage choices are plentiful and very reasonably priced. Without staying anywhere else I think the location would be hard to beat - beach just steps away and all the local shops and restaurants within a comfortable walking distance. Pros: friendly staff and service, location. Cons: can't think of any

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BananaFanSea_GM, General Manager at Banana Fan Sea Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2015
Dear Gary T, Gold Coast, Australia,
“First time visit - but sure to return”
Pros: friendly staff and service, location. Cons: can't think of any
Thank you very much for your greatest feedback to Banana Fan Sea Resort, we are very happy to read and share to all concerns about the happiness of your recent stayed

Thank you again and look forward to serving you again on the best spot of Chaweng beach

With best regards
Supit C
gm@bananafansea.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing