We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value; nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value; nice resort”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

All in all a good experience. But read for yourselves:

Location:
The Location of the Resort is excellent. The lobby is facing the mainroad to and from Lamai and Airport. Lots of restaurants, Bars and shops nearby. Across the street is a laundry; much cheaper than in the Hotel of course.
Further south you get to Mango-Street; the busiest nightlife spot on the island.
About 20 min walk, or 5 min taxi/ Tuk-Tuk ride.

The other end of the resort is facing directly the beach.
The beach is a beauty! White sand, clear water. All sorts of water sports is available and there are lots of mobile, friendly hawkers going around and selling you all kind of fruit, BBQ Chicken and seafood.

Facilities:
The Resort is in a good condition well taken care of. Its quite compact and the walk from one end to the other takes you less and 5 minutes.
Palm trees and all kind of plants everywhere gives the place a kind of jungle feeling.
The huge lobby is in Thai style and open to the sides. 2 Internet stations are provided. (Not free)
Near to the beach, is the open-air restaurant and a small bar. Right there is the pool. Pool is not too large but ok and clean. However, who wants to swim in the pool, when you can jump into the crystal clear water of the sea next to it?

Food & Beverage:
The restaurant is ok. We only had dinner once there. The Bar is ok, if it’s only for a beer or two. The restaurant does also theme-nights with cultural dance and stuff. If you fancy that. Im sure they do a good job, but there are such a lot of nice beach restaurants nearby, you might want to discover those rather than to eat in every night.

Rooms:
We stayed at a Standard Bungalow, near the beach.
It was ok. But just ok.
The "hut" was rather small, but it was clean. In the bath was some water leaking.
It was sure good value for the money we paid.
Deluxe rooms might be better; we would try them if we come again.

Negative:
All in all a very pleasant experience. There was only one turn off:
We booked a trip to the marine park at the travel-desk in the lobby.
They recommended us to choose the speedboat-option for it.
So we booked it and went there the next day.
The sea was very rough that day; it was windy and rained a bit.
We went on that tiny speedboat along with another 30 or 40 tourists. The boat was clearly overloaded, since 10 of the passengers had no seat and had to sit either on the floor or on the roof-top.
The boat took off and soon went on full speed. What then happened was one of the most frightening experiences I have ever had (and I had a few)
The boat did not rock; it actually jumped on the rough sea. Each time it went up, you were not sure if it would come down straight or sideways into the waves. People on the boat tried to get a grip, which was not easy, since they get off their seats up in the air, as the boat kept on jumping.
After a girl almost fell over board, people started to scream each time the boat went up.
The young thai crew didn’t really care and just had a laugh. The looked quite stoned anyway. After 45 min they sighted another speedboat full of tourist and started a race with them.
Finally, after an hour the horror it was over.

Later I complained at the tour desk at the hotel and told her our experience.
The lady wouldn’t listen to my complaints and got aggressive and started to insult me. I had enough and asked for the General Manager.
He was very polite and helpful and explained that the tour desk was independent and not operated by the hotel. He apologized and promised to look into the matter. Well,...

However, if you read this, remember: Don’t take the speedboat.
I have done the same trip a couple of years ago and went on similar boat trips in Phuket.
So i know what I am talking about since I can compare it. This trip was not only unpleasant but bloody dangerous!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvio_Dante888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    362
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
328
697
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We had booked a standard room and were upgraded to a deluxe - we thought fantastic!

My sister has asthma and when we opened up the door to our room it was as if it had been shut and not aired for quite a long time and they were burning insence which made it worse!!! The curtains were old and dusty!

When we complained and said that we couldn't stay due to health reasons they did not understand and sent housekeeping to 'clean the room' - the housekeeper sprayed the room with air freshener which made it even worse!

The hotel is too far south from the main strip with restaurants etc - about a 10-15 min walk.

We moved hotels!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nattie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I completely forgot to put a review on here but I stayed at this hotel for 10 days with my boyfriend in a garden room. It was perfect for us. The room was big and had everything we needed and the bathroom was a very generous size.
We only had a minute walk to the pool and a few steps further we were on the beach - glorious!
Breakfast was served every morning in the restaurant by the pool. It was good as you could get your eggs cooked fresh in any way you liked and you had the beautifl view of the sea.
The staff were lovely and couldn't be more helpful. Anything you asked about the area they had an answer to or could point you in the right direction. The rooms were always spotless too. The whole resort was so clean and the gardens were beautiful.

The hotel is right on a road full of restaurants/ bars and shops. Although in the resort you cannot hear anything from the road.
There is plenty to choose from and a 15 minute stroll away is he main club/bar area right by Chaweng Thai Boxing Stadium (which is brilliant for a night out by the way!). In this area though there are plenty of ladyboys who are not shy about coming up to you for a chat or offer! It took a while for my boyfriend to get used to, but in the end he found i quite amusing.

We didn't watch any of the netertainment in thehotel as we went out of the resort at night, but it is lovely to walk down the beach with all the stars and lanterns glowing!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlv
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

great place, ill give it 3-4 star, nice rooms, in a great, clean, quiet part of chaweng beach with easy access to all the meny bars, restaurants and night life.

only downside is the small pool..

would deafenetlly return, wont pay over 150-180 $ per night...

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank uri117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This department we're visited already in the year 2002, has excellent position,from one’s parties department have snow-white sand beach,from second busy street with many restaurants plus bars. Ride from airport lasts couple of minutes. We should have pool villa,was cosy,but globally shortish,it all puts tell of bathroom. Restaurants be in at swimming - pool,selection foods to breakfast come in handy to. Vemte car plus ride on uninhabited parts island,coconut village. Below her shelter gorgeous beach with beautiful bathing.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin - Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Really nice hotel with really nice staff .... the room was spacious enough for my partner and me and very close to the beach and the restaurant.
Very quiet and charming, the place is surrounded by flowers and trees.
There's a massage room just in front of the beach which is very handy if you want to relax and enjoy the sound and the view of the sea with your partner :)) and it's not expansive (around 6 euros for an hour) good value and very good massage!!!
There's a swimming pool with jacuzzi but we didn't use it we prefered the beach and the sand!!!

The area around the hotel is nice, crowded, nice restaurants and specially one very good restaurant: Ninja ... very good value for very good food ... we were having dinner there everyday.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choubibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

After deliberating about whether to at Sala Samui or X2, we ended up staying here for 6 nights. Our first room was a deluxe double. To me it was SMALL with an odd layout. On night 2 we upgraded to a beachfront villa for an additional $60 a night bringing our total room cost to $169.00 including breakfast. I looked at the triple room which was ample in size and they were not going to charge us extra, but we decided to splurge. The breakfast is regular international tourist fare but well prepared. We walked up and down the beach and can confirm that this really is the most desirable spot on Chaweng Beach. Clean and beautiful white sand and turquoise waters. When the weather took a turn, so did the surf and that brought out the surfers much to my surprise! The internet is spotty. The location is right on the main drag of Chaweng and for us it was great. Fortunately we hit Koh Samui right before the season started so it wasn't totally claustophobic & crazy. The service here is wonderful. The low cleanliness mark is because the maids do not take your used coffee cups and glassware away. Nor do they replenish the ammenities such as the shampoo unless you ask. I thought this was odd.
I have to say that our bed in the double was HARD but you become used to this after 3 weeks in Thailand, but after upgrading, the bed was significantly nicer....the old addage you get what you pay for rings true here. The pool area is nice and well thought out. The service on the beach is also nice. Bring your mosquito repellant because there prescence is definately felt...literally. Otherwise you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psyderGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing