We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chaweng Villa Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Library(Chaweng)
US$398
US$353
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sareeraya Villas & Suites(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Star Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
6
14
20
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
14
20
11
13
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were taken to a villa which looked ok and as we arrived late we booked in, the next few days were a nightmare,no electric for hours and it was'nt a power cut as all the other villa's had power, the staff were very rude and really did'nt care, we were told the owner was away in bangkok so we had to rely on the desk staff,the tv was terrible so small and the reception really bad.If you had breakfast it was cold and they could'nt wait to clear it all away even if you were still eating.Overall the whole place needs a good going over and that includes the staff.my advise, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailkaronthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

This is my 7th trip to Thailand and my 4th to Samui where I've stayed in hotels and guestrooms between 450 and up to 15 000 THB a night.
So far I can say that this hotel is the WORST I have ever experienced!
At first was the bungalow I've booked (wooden level) beneath all standards and looks nothing like the pictures on the site!
It is not well maintained, dirt (and I guess some lice and bedbugs as well) comes out of the cracks in the wooden floors, the bathroom is old and lacking any comfort and for some strange reason they've put a kitchen sink which is dirty as well near the wash table.
They don't clean the rooms standard, you have to apply for it!
Rooms are so dark you have to put on the light also during daytime and the airco makes so much noise you even hear the ones next door.
Isolation is non existent in this hotel so you overhear all conversation going on in the room next to you...and offcorse they overhear yours as well!
For a hotel in this price range this is unbelievable!
But the worst is that the nightclub next door every night around 22h. starts shooting fireworks and it goes on until past midnight.
On a saturday it even goes on until 3 in the morning.
So if you like to have some decent night sleep and a relaxing holiday; STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE and avoid going to this part of Samui in the frist place!
At the pool they open up the speakers after everybody comes back from breakfast and is ready to relax or take a nap in the sun.
So prepare yourself for some Brittney, Madonna and oh-so-wrong-techno-mix-thailand-style around 13h.
The pool itself closes up at 19h; around 17h they already close up the umbrella's and take away your drink (finished or not).
The garden is in fact a covered up parking lot so guest with scooters and cars drive through it until late at night.
Breakfast was another terrible experience with everything cold:coffee, thee, eggs, bacon...the whole lot was cold as ice!
This hotel is def. overpriced and VERY bad value, in fact there is completely NO value at all!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
Thank yungske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

First of all let me reassure everybody that both my fiancee and I are not strangers to 2 and 3 star accomodation, however we are compelled to document our stay at the Chaweng Villa Beach Resort to prevent the anybody else suffering the same poor service and completely inadequate offering in terms of accomodation.

We arrived and checked in and were led through a concrete square, where major building works were being carried out to the room that we had originally booked, a bungalow.

Our first impression of the room was that it was well below standard and looked nothing like the pictures on the internet, we were confronted by a whole the size of a fist in the wooden floor, the walls were as filthy as the bed linen was stained and were in some places even unpainted the ceiling had three patches of damp and the place was a buzz with insects. There was no safe, or safety box, the towels provided were bleach stained,, there was no kettle nor was there any cups or glasses - which was ironic as there was a minibar.

The bathroom was similarly unkempt and completey lacked any standar of hygene, there were missing tiles on the walls and the sink was dirty. the shower itself was very dated and again in a state of total disrepair, it seemed to be various bits of showers combined to make one.

I immediately contacted the "head of staff" at the reception, who i would stress made no apologies or gesture of service, we didn't want compensation just any level of understanding, but the "Staff Manager" simply shrugged and showed us to a different room, in the adjacent block (a two storey massionette building).

We were momentarily relieved until we looked over the balcony at yet another very loud construction site. we discovered once again that although the room had a tiled floor - it totally lacked any standard of cleanliness or hygene, dirty sheets, dirty linen, black and yellow mismatched tile in the bathroom, uncovered old pipes leading from the sink an ageing shower, with broken curtain rail and mouldy shower curtain and at first inspection a broken toillet.

I approached reception and the "staff manager" to ask for the general manager to make a complaint, I was told that "the GM is in Japan on Business and noone else is here". the staff were unsympathetic at best but were mostly ignorant or plainly rude, we were shown around several more rooms all of similar standard and picked the one with the least flaws - however i would stress that this was still completey unacceptable in terms of cleanliness and it had a toilet seat that was broken in half on one side. the air con also only worked intermittently.

Resolved to cut our stay short we headed out for the evening to find an alternative, on the way out I asked at reception, (different staff members) if i could speak to the general manager tomorrow, they replied yes of course she's in between 6am and 3 pm. I asked if she was in Japan and recieved only a quizzical look and a reassurance that she was definately in tomorrow.

Having found alternative accomdation we returned and slept above the sheets, and having hardly slept at all - headed to have breakfast and check out.

The Breakfast buffet at the seaside restaurant was again completely lacking we weren't greeted and seated - despite and handful of staff who were simply stood around, we asked for one boiling water and one coffee and got a cold cup of each, again we weren't after much but just good value, there was no toaster at the breakfast buffet - consisted of ham and frakfertes floating in tubs of water and there was not much alternative to chocolate coronflakes.

At reception we asked for the general manager who we were again told was not available, when we retorted that we were told the GM would be here between 6-3pm we were firstly met with a very worried look which was seemingly followed by all of the staff forgetting that they spoke english - the more we pursued it the more frustrating it got so resolved to just leave and seek compansation elsewhere.

In conclusion, my finacee and me have travelled from one side of this planet to the other and we've seem a lot of a starnge things, but never have i been so appalled by any one place. I would suggest to even stop here a night would spoil the rest of your tour. We lasted approximately 12 hours in this place and 6 of those were spent finding somewhere else to stay. I'd challenge anybody other than Bear Grylls to stay there longer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martanontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 25 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed at this Hotel several times before and loved it. Unfortunately, the new owner completely changed everything that was nice about this place - particularly the staff. As I learned during our stay almost all of the former staff including the former manager left the Hotel. The new staff could not care less about the Hotel and the guests, sometimes only sitting around, sometimes just sleeping ! The beach was cleaned every evening - just a thing of the past, all kind of rubbish now at the beach.
No service at the beach anymore, umbrellas only self-service. Most annoying, even outside guests use the pool and the beach chairs. When I pointed this out to the staff because all beach chairs were occupied the people just shrugged and did nothing about it.
No room cleaning if you leave the room too late.

Nobody cleans the pool anymore, so the water turned green several times during our stay. The cure: Put in more chemicals - and the water turned brown for 2 days.
Its really a shame, the staff at this Hotel was really nice and friendly in the past. But no more. Some areas are in bad need of renovation, but the new owners apparently care only about quick return of their investment.
Unfortunately, this was our last stay at the Chaweng Villa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicero_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews