We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon. It was our first trip to Thailand, and this hotel made the experience even more special than the trip proved to be. Met by our personal transfer to take us from the airport to the hotel. Then greeted at the hotel with someone to take our bags to our room - and a young lady to take us on a tour of the hotel grounds and room. We stayed in the Tropical suite. Which included a spa bath, Massive bedroom, Lounge and dinning area and a bar! Location: 5 mins from the airport by Taxi, 3 mins to the main street via Taxi/Scooter. 20 minutes walk up hill via the road, or a relaxing walk on the beach front. the staff were faultless throughout the whole trip. Pool area was amazing, on the beach front with a nice in pool bar. Off the main beach so there isn't a lot of people bugging you to buy things from them. We didn't eat in the restaurant ( but we had lots of other places recommended to us) We ate lunch by the pool and the food was great! best spring rolls and phad thai noodles. Breakfast will suit all tastes. (From Bacon and Eggs to Fried Rice). The restaurant overlooks the beach. If you do choose this hotel - Say hello to our favourite staff members 'Wayu' and 'Gai' who work in the Pool bar. They were so friendly to us and made the stay so much better. The cocktail of the month was Banana Rama = Awesome!

We're already starting to plan our next Thailand Trip with another couple this time next year - Our plans Definitely include Nora Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Tropical suite adds extra value, but doesnt cost an arm and a leg like the pool suites. We had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giannini000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    290
    105
    48
    29
See reviews for
189
530
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

For the price, particularly for Thailand, this resort was lacking in quality and service (and space and luxury) enough to make it an "excellent" experience. I recommend looking at other places in the area. The pool was just perfect - best thing about it - particularly swimming up to the bar for happy hour, trying the new yummy cocktail of the day. It's a relatively small resort, so it didn't feel overwhelming with people and kids. The beach access was great- you can easily go between pool and beach all day and shop a little too with the beach side venders walking by with silk bathrobes, dresses and jewelry (in a very low key way, it wasn't over the top). The spa was expensive, but worth at least one treatment, with open bungalows for massage. If you're going to stay, definitely book the sea view bungalow rooms, which are small but nicely decorated and private (nice shower and tub). We thought about the pool rooms, but it's a waste of money likely given how nice the big pool is. Housekeeping and room service were sloppy - for $300+ a night I expect much more. The food at the resort is not so great, except for the breakfast which is plentiful, but there are a lot of other options around the resort for dinner (although transportation to and from gets really pricy), We found out late in the process they will provide free transportation to their other resorts. Location is fine - close to the crazy busy "downtown" area, which is not worth more than one trip (particularly if you can catch the drag queen show...most excellent and entertaining). Oh, and don't let them tell you the wireless works, it only works in the lobby, but we were told over and over it would work in the rooms, which it didn't. They blamed it on weather, but I suspect it's their system. Not impressed that I couldn't get a straight answer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Nora Buri resort. The location is beautiful and the resort is well planned with nice spacious rooms n bathrooms. It is 5 min. from the airport and the lobby is stunning with high ceilings n water fountains. We were welcomed with fruit smoothies n wet towels. Service was good n the sea views are great. The hotel is located on a slope and we need to climb steep steps to reach the rooms. Hotel provides buggy service. Breakfast was good n a wide variety on offer. The staff were friendly n attentive at the restaurants n the gym. The beach area is quite small n watch out for the sharp rocks n pebbles. In the night, Rice barge restaurant has live music n good food. Hotel provides shuttle bus service to Chaweng n Fisherman's village. Would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick rooms by the seaside. There is easier access to these rooms and easier to reach the beach. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Im sorry but I booked this hotel trusting a travel agent and I was to spend 4 days here after a 10 day tour around Cambodia and Thailand. This hotel is really nothing special. The first room I got was the basic room and had a funky mold smell. I brought the front desk assistant there to smell for herself and she said it was normal. Whatever. Next day my tour guide asked about our accommodations and I flat out told him our room smelled and I would prefer another hotel altogether. He worked out an upgrade to a detached room which was a bit nicer and guess what--no smell. Liars!
There were still huge gaps between the outside doors so expect bugs and ants. The housekeeping ladies will come in and spray if you ask which I did every day since the ants were sort of ridiculous.
Pool was very nice. Wake up early and claim your chair with a towel and grab some breakfast.
The beach was kind of blah. I expected white powder sand and it was not.
I took a snorkeling tour to koh Tao and another island by speed boat. It was 1500 baht per person. Glad I did it but really was a cattle call with tons of tourists. The white powder beaches were non existent on this tour. I'm talking about hard as anything rocks and smashed shells on the beach. Ow! Ow! Ow! So painful so be prepared. The day was cloudy but we still had a great snorkeling experience. We fed the fish banana chips so we got some great interaction and nice pics.
Koh Samui is a resort island. 2 days is enough. Would not stay at Nora again bc it was unexceptional and I probably won't return to the island. If I'm going to travel across the world I would expect better service.
One other plus. The resort offers a shuttle to town that is free certain times of the day and 50 baht per person other times. There's a great massage place called orchid massage that is right by the shuttle pick up point in town (next to tropical mc-something's) that's reasonably priced if you have some time to kill while waiting for the shuttle. I personally would rather spend 300 baht on a massage and get a free shuttle back than pay 300 baht for a taxi back to the hotel. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jolie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiverpoolMick84
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed here for 6nights and I have to say I regret the decision to do so. Upon arriving at the hotel I waited 3hours for my room to be ready at which no time was I offered any refreshments etc.....I went to buy a beer which were on average 70-80 baht in here they were 200 plus VAT and a service charge ending up 3times more expensive then anywhere else.

Also they only have WIFI in the reception area not in the rooms and for the price this is the least you will expect.

If you are looking at here please look elsewhere yes its nice but it is overpriced and out of the way plus the rooms are dated.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LiverpoolMick84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed in Nora Beach a while ago and absolutely enjoyed every minute. I travelled with children and the service was smooth and attentive. The breakfast was perfect and room very clean and spacious (suite).
It we wanted some extra service (taxis, hotel in Bangkok or a dinner reservation) elsewhere all was dealt with a nice smile and friendly attitude.

Would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aukusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at the resort between 3rd and 5th Jan 2012. We had to take an early morning Bangkok Airways flight and arrived there at 9am. The published check-in time was 2 p.m. so the reception made us wait til 1:30 inspite of requests for an early check-in. Its understandable though, since its a high season time. We stayed in a Superior room with a garden view. Rooms were tidy and decor was nice though looks slightly dated.
Linen change and room cleaning was done daily and the staff always bore a friendly smile and greeted us every time they passed us.
The beach is quite nice though the uphill walk back to the room was slightly tiring. The resort is located slightly away from the main Chaweng market with only a handful of free shuttles at fixed times being provided by the hotel. At other times, hotel charges 50 bhat per person for drops to the main market which I feel is unnecessary and the hotel could provide a free shuttle.
Overall a nice stay and would definitely look forward to come back here.

Room Tip: While choosing superior rooms chose the building block situated near to the beach, that way the trek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harshtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
1.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing