We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The staff are friendly but not as much when compared to other Thailand areas. The room we stayed in was on the fourth floor without elevators/escalators. climbing up and down those stairs everyday numerous times in the heat was extremely exhausting. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and there were ants in the room. the in room service and bar drinks are expensive. the pool and pool bar was nice, right next to an exclusive beach. well worth the view

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porkie_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    309
    109
    48
    30
See reviews for
198
561
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Nora Beach for 12 nights in mid May, and found the Hotel to be meet most of our needs. It isn't perfect, but then few hotels are.
The resort is only ten minutes away from the airport, but only occasionally do you hear any noise from the airport. The resort is on a hillside that slopes down to a quiet beach Just to the north of Chawang Beach. The reception which includes a lobby bar, and an area containing 4 computers is at the top of the site, with the accomodation spread down the slope to the sea where there is a pool and the main restaurant.
We stayed in a Villa and this contained almost everything we required. The bathroom especially was impressive with a double bath, and a separate Shower. There was also a seperate shower outside the building. In addition to the normal things you expect in a good hotel room, they provided a torch, umbrellas and scales, presumably so you can avoid excess charges when you pack.
The little quibbles I had regarding the room were that there was little storage space, only 8 hangers and very little cupboard space so we effectively had to leave most clothes in our suitcases. As others have said the bed is on the hard side and takes some getting use to. There was a nice balcony at the front of the villa, but no view as you looked into the garden, this meant it was a little gloomy and humid.
We had breakfast everyday and found the selection of foods to be more than adequate. I can not understand how a few other comments have criticised the selection as i honestly can not think of anything that you could reasonable expect to have for breakfast that wasn't provide. We eat twice at the restaurant in the evening. One of the meals was very good, and the other less so. Both times there was a band playing live music while we eat.
We used the pool on most days and found it to be perfectly adequate, but not perfect. We never found a problem getting a recliner, but I can image that when the hotel is full it would be a real problem, as they were only 40 available round the pool plus a further 20 on the sand. There is a swim up pool bar which some guests liked, but i personally could live without. At times this spoilt the atmosphere as it sometimes played inappropriate music which disturbed more people than it entertained. The tiling round the pool was pretty lousy. We did use the pool service for drinks and one lunch, and found the service to be good, but a bit expensive, especially when there was a beach vendor providing fresh fruit (Pineapples etc) for 50Baht, a fraction of the cost you were paying inside the hotel.
In front of the pool is a nice quiet beach. The sand isn't as good as the sand at Chawang Beach and the sea isn't really deep enough to swim.
All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and welcoming, and couldn't do enough for you.
The hotel also provides shuttle buses into Chawang Beach, which stop outside Tropical Murphys in the centre. At times they are free (10.30, and 15.00), and at other times a nominal charge of 50 Baht was charged (19.00). We also used the shuttle bus once to come back, but it's just as easy to get a taxi. We paid 200 baht each time we used them..
My one major criticism of the hotel was the cost of everything, especially as 17% was added to all bills to cover 7% Tax and a 10% service charge. I sure this partly must be due to a Governmental policy charging tax on top end hotels, as most smaller restaurants didn't charge this. This additional charge discouraged us from spending more at the hotel. Particularly as there were two mini markets 200 yards down the road from the resort (Turn left). Here you could buy beer, soft drinks etc at a fraction of the hotel prices. the furthest one was open 24 hours and has a ATM outside.
We found the hotel to be just a little too far out, although it is possible to walk to the very top of North Chawang beach. It about a 600 yard walk from reception. Turn left and walk past the two mini markets to where the road bends, then take the side road going downhill on the left. At the bottom of the hill go right, then left through the resort and on to the beach. Within about 100 yards you reach a group of restaurants on the beach, the busiest and best we found to be 'Your Place' We eat there 4 times and it cost around £20 for a 2-3 course meal for two with 3 cocktails each, at least half the costs at the hotel.
Overall we thought the Nora Beach to be a fine resort, so if you have booked to stay you will have a great time. It however isn't perfect, and there will be better hotels you could stay at, however as to which one depends on individual preferences. We did visit a few in Chawang, and whilst we didn't particularly like Chawang, the resorts on beach are at least 100 yards from the main road and seemed very good. The advantages of these resorts are that you are then within walking distance of a fantastic beach especially in the southern and central parts of Chawang Beach and close to lots of restaurants either on the Beach itself or in Central Chawang. We also Visited Fishermans Village in Bophut and found the selection of restaurants, bars and shops to be much more appealing to the main Drag in Chawang. There are a number of good resorts in this area which are worth considering, although the beach isn't as good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I have just spend 8 nights in the Tropical suites and found the resort to be an outstanding decision. The resort was close enough yet far enough away from Chanweng to be perfect. Most outstanding were the young guys who looked after us at the pool. All the guests found them helpfull and fun to be around.

The resort offered a very peacefull and quite location for us. It was exactly what we wrere looking for.

Breakfasts offered everything you could possibly want. Outstanding beachfront dining. Allround great expiereience and we will be returning to this resort.

Room Tip: Look for sometning close to the beach if possible. Its a small walk up the hill to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a fantastic week at Nora Beach, we had an ocean pool villa which was simply lovely and the setting is nice and peacful but only a 200bht taxi into the hustle and bustle of Chaweng. The villa was immaculate, and our pool was bliss. The staff are really lovely and fast if you ask for anything. Housekeeping is everyday and on arrival we got a bowl of fruit in the villa, just a shame this wasnt regularly replenished. The villa was next to the beach. The stretch of beach that the resort has is the best in the bay, but suffers from being very shallow and there is quite a lot of sea weed...

The food at breakfast is ok... I think I had thai curry in one form or another every day, but there was an excellent selection of other items to have!

Room service was quick and lovely!

It was the best holiday I have ever had, and me n the wife were very sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fezuk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This resort is lovely!! Great location, nice and peaceful location, yet just a short taxi ride to the main strip.
Beach is nice, not great, but good for Samui and is good for kids as shallow for a long way out.
Food was good and fresh, breakfast buffett pleantiful and varied.
The staff were friendly, expect for one very rude and grumpy receptionist...obviously needs a new job, or at least a job in the back away from the punters!!!
Our bungalow was lovely, cleaned every day. We initially booked for a standard room..Big mistake. They're rubbish. if ya gonna stay pay for an upgrade once you get there...you can haggle the price...I got em' from 1500 to 800 bhat :-). The grounds of the resort are beautiful and very tropical, with wild buterflies everywhere. It really is a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Haggle for an upgrade once you arrive if you've just got a standard room. They're rubbish co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The resort stretches from the main road down to the restaurant and spa on e beachfront. The place is tranquil and beautiful but a 10 minute drive away from Chaweng so there is no night life there.

The pool area is big with plenty of deck chairs and it is right on the beach with a beautiful beach area overlooking a small island. The water there is very shallow so even small children should be able to play in the ocean safely. Grown-ups will on the other hand have to talk quite far before it is deep enough to swim.

The restaurant is quite expensive by Thai standards and offers only average food - though it must be said that the complimentary breakfast buffet is top notch. the dinner entertainment were a couple of musicians who were a little loud, making it hard to talk, but they could definitely play.

What sets this place apart is the service. The staff is extremely helpful, forthcoming and always smiling which makes it a joy to stay there.

All-in-all a very nice place.

P.S. It is probably not a good place for the elderly or the disabled as the hotel is on a slope and there is a bit of walking involved in getting from the beach to the reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

At first we were concerned about the location (a few km's away from Chaweng), however it's actually a bonus. Basically there is NOTHING AT ALL to complain about. The food, the staff, the service, the rooms, the pool are all exceptional. Friendliest staff with a good understanding of English (and other languages) are making this trip a worth-while experience. The pool bar staff are happy and friendly - always helpful and smiling. If someone had restricted mobility this hotel would not suit them due to the hilly terrain however, there are electric golf buggies to help people up and down the hill. Staying for 6 nights and could easily stay much longer. This is our third trip to Samui and probably the best resort for us.

Room Tip: We are in an ocean view room 7118 and have a great view over the pool and ocean. Advise you book a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing