We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great relaxation”
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We found our chalet excellent compared to the normal room in complex hotels (Lots of Room). We were surrounded in tropical trees and gardens. Very quite if sitting on our balcony or inside. We found the staff friendly and obliging, an example when our entrance light blew a bulb and was fixed for that night. Our room was made up and cleaned by the house maid with extras such as flower left on the bed and in the bathrooms, a nice touch.
Now for the negatives which is mainly the location not the hotel or its staff.
(1) The beach is not really great for swimming although secluded.
(2)The distant from town. It is not too bad, quick to get there by taxi but if you are like my wife and I it is great to be able to walk outside and get fruit and maybe a BBQ snack from the roadside vendors.
I have being going through the web and brochures and this overall still seems a place that I am reconsidering to stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0tChilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    308
    109
    48
    30
See reviews for
198
560
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

having been to various caribean islands for the last 8 years we decided on koh samui for a change and we picked the Nora Beach resort based solely on the reviews, photos and opinions on here.

This was our first time in Thailand and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our holiday and would recommend it favourably to anyone. In comparison to the caribean all inclusive holidays it was surprisingly equal in terms of value for money and surpasses it in terms of 'an experience'

The Nora Beach itself was great, we stayed in a standard room which is located in the main hotel block. although the villas looked lovely and get rave reviews on here we felt that for the amount of time actually spent in the room the standard option was better value. The rooms themselves are a touch dated and would benefit from a makeover but were more than sufficient as well as clean.

The pool was large and clean but had quite a few broken and uneven tiles- to the point that the staff had placed some sort of matting over the bottom of the pool to protect your feet- this was offset by the beautiful view from the pool over the bay. As other reviewees have said there is a bit of a sunbed reservation race after breakfast every day but no one stays in the sun for long so there are always spare beds. The pool bar was great and the lunch food around the pool was also good.

As mentioned on other reviews the hotel is set on a hill and can be a bit of an effort after a long day lounging but really is not an issue, however if you are placed on the top floor of the main block you will have to negotiate a lot of stairs after the hill!

We did not eat at the restaurant during our stay as the beach restaurants in Chaweng and the other hotel resort restaurants along the main strip all offered better value and more choice. Nora only seemed to offer some form of buffet nearly every night. All hotels stock a free 'Koh Samui Dining Guide' and if you eat at these restaurants you will rarely go wrong - some are better value than others and i would particularly recommend Prego (opposite the Amari Palm Resort) and all of the beach restaurants offer awesome views.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk or 5 min drive from the main strip in chaweng and although other people have chosen Nora to keep away from the bustle of Chaweng I would say that all of the hotels in Chaweng are set back far enough from the road within their own little tropical jungle for you not to worry about excess noise etc..if you haven't been to Koh Samui before it may take you a day or to to get used to the market vendors constantly vying for business and the bar reps trying to tempt you in but it never crosses the line and they have to make a living after all!

In all I would say that the staff at the Nora are wonderful and make the resort fantastic. Koh Samui is lovely I will be booking my return as soon as possible!

  • Liked — the friendly staff and lovely lobby & gardens
  • Disliked — nothing of importance
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mcw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

Nora Beach Resort was everything we were hoping for after a few weeks travelling around SE Asia – relaxing, quiet, luxurious, self-contained and right on the beach. We arrived late at night and were surprised (and initially worried) by how close in driving time the resort was to the airport. It was all good though – there’s no aircraft noise despite its proximity.
We were greeted by very friendly staff and shown up to a standard room up the top of the hill, on the third level. The whole resort spreads down a fairly steeply sloping hill maybe 120m and the accommodation blocks don’t have elevators, so it’s not really a good option for the lazy, the infirm or the elderly. It didn’t really worry us though and the room was great. The fittings, bathroom and balcony were all good, though we did find that whenever we got into or out of the bed (or moved in it) the whole floor creaked loudly. We came back to this resort a few days later and had another room and it wasn’t a problem there so perhaps it was just the one room.
Down the bottom of the hill is the amazing, enormous pool, fringed by frangipanis and with a bar and spa and plenty of sun lounges that fill up with visitors early so you’ve got to get in quick. Down further is the restaurant and breakfast room – breakfast is a huge smorgasbord with just about everything under the sun. The beach looks nice, but it’s not much chop for swimming – it’s rocky, weedy and murky until you get out a fair distance and when we were there the water was literally hot! But it really wasn’t a problem – you just lounge by the pool or down on the beach and if you want to swim you go for a dip in the pool.
Dinners at the restaurant were fantastic – the BBQ nights are great value and the bloke that plays live music is a real character and makes you feel very welcome.
The staff were all very friendly and obliging and the concierge offered great advice about what else to do around the island. In the end we spent most of our time in the resort because we found the rest of the island to be pretty dirty, overrun with tourists and fairly average compared to other places we’d been. Didn’t matter though because the resort itself was great.
The location is about 15mins drive out of the main area, which was great for us but if you’re planning on going in there every day it’ll cost a few $$ in taxis...unless you work around the resort’s infrequent free shuttle to and from town.
There seems to be a lot of construction wherever you go on the island, and while there was no audible work going on near the resort, from our rented sea kayak (the resort has them) we could see neighbouring sites being cleared right along the coast.
The gym is pretty tiny and I thought it was a bit rich that they didn’t supply free water. The water they did supply was massively overpriced – not a big thing but you’ve got to wonder why. The only other issue was with the constant rock and pop music down at the poolside. Looking around, most of the resort guests were 30+, but the music the bar staff were playing was stuff teenagers would listen to. I'm not sure why all resorts in this part of the world think we need bad music as background, rather than the waves lapping on the beach, but from our travels it was evidently inescapable!
Families seemed to be very well catered for even though we didn't have kids of our own - pool toys, children's cutlery and crockery in the restaurant and staff who we saw taking time out to play with the kids and show them around. Top stuff and despite the family friendly atmosphere it was still a quiet and romantic place for us.
Our flight out was late at night and the staff were all too happy to look after our bags and let us use all the resort facilities, then the day spa’s showers at the end of the day. From all accounts the day spa is fantastic though we didn’t go.
Accommodation here wasn’t cheap but we had a fantastic time and in the end were more than happy to pay a little more for the week of relaxation and enjoyment we got in return. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The pool, the location, friendly staff and charismatic singer who plays in the restaurant
  • Disliked — The long walk up the hill to our room, small gym and constant poolside background music
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Not having visited Koh Samui before, we chose the Nora Beach Resort through a recommendation from our travel agent, and from TripAdvisor reviews.

Overall, we were happy with our choice. It's a lovely setting on the side of a hill, very lush with beautifully maintained gardens. Lovely tropical feel. We stayed in an Ocean View Villa, which also overlooked the pool, and whilst it was quite small, we loved the bath and outdoor shower (although our neighours in the hotel block could look right in!).

True, people do hog the sun loungers by the pool, but it didn't really worry us. A polite request often has results. What we didn't appreciate was the thumping techno music that often got played from the pool bar, in the middle of the day. We could hear it in our villa as well. And with with Spa facilities right next to the pool, it was kind of odd when you're having a massage and you can hear a constant 'doof doof' of music over the soothing choice of the Spa's musical collection! So I take it the resort is trying to attract the 20-something crowd?

However, oddly enough, over breakfast and dinner, the musical selections were diverse and at times, quite dated. Kenny G in the morning, cabaret selection at night. Each night the restaurant would have some musical entertainment, churning out some of the most cheesy, resort style (circa 1980s) music. Now, what audience were they trying for here? The 50 age bracket? We were certainly confused, and often frustrated. Sometimes they must realise it's just as nice to listen to the waves lapping up on the beach....

The Spa was lovely and as a honeymoon couple we were treated to a massage each. Not as cheap as in town, but still about two thirds cheaper than back at home. Staff at the resort were courteous and sweet.

Trips into town (5 minute trip, either by hotel bus or around 150baht for taxi) allowed for a cheaper and wider selection of food, but the constant harrassment by locals and other business-minded tourists was annoying. We did have a relaxing afternoon sitting in the restaurant at The Library, a rather exclusive (although somewhat clinical) resort right on the beach. Beautiful views and left in peace.

  • Liked — Beautiful, lush tropical setting
  • Disliked — Frustrating, dated music and entertainment
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank reiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDowall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We arrived at Nora Resort at night and our first impression was i hope the hotel isn't to close to the airport after finding it was only a 5 minute drive. HOwever as soon as we arrived we were greeted with a cold towel and refreshing drink and our worries were put at ease.
The foyer area is very inviting and we found the staff again to be friendly and accommodating.
We stayed in a standard room, which was clean and spacious. The pool area is very relaxing with the swim up bar a great asset. We found that guests were holding lounges while they had breakfast so get tehre early to get a lounge around the pool otherwise they are lounges on the beach.
We found the hotel grounds are steep and stairs leading up to our room, so i wouldn't recommend this hotel to the disabled or someone who has problems with walking up hills.

We found you could hire a motorbike from the hotel for 300 baht, in Chaweng you can pay 250baht. We found paying that little extra was worth it as we didn't have to worry about getting the bike back into Chaweng and then to make our way back to teh hotel. Riding the bike around Koh Samui was easy as Koh Samui has just one main road. Just make sure you take a map with you so you know where you are.
Their is a shuttle bus into Chaweng and i agree with other travellers that even though it's a great service it could be more regular.

The best advice i can provide is to book private transfers from the airport to hotel and back again, it is a little extra but it's worth it as the last thing you want to do is go around other hotels on your holiday.

The tours on Koh Samui are the same as Patong and a little more expensive. But hiring a motorbike we found that we could explore the tourists spots at our leisure and it was cheaper , just make sure you know how to ride a motor bike. You can hire jeeps from Chaweng.

I would also like to inform everyone about a zoo on Koh Samui to STAY AWAY FROM. It's at rainforest 2 and please don't go there. We did and i was disgusted how the animals are treated. With cages for tigers and cheetah's to small, a monkey being chained to a train continually doing back flips and the elephants seemed to be better cared for around Patong Beach.. It was just heartbreaking....

The spa at the hotel is extremely relaxing you will pay a little more than in Chaweng but it's worth it we came out floating on cloud 9.

We would definately stay here again

  • Liked — swim up bar, food at the restaurant
  • Disliked — steep hills,
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We stayed at the Nora for 9 nights. In all our stay was pleasant and we were in an Ocean Villa.

To be truthful both hubby and I was expecting a little more when we arrived but in all we had an enjoyable stay.

The pool is lovely and there is no problem in getting loungers. The beach is a little stoney for my liking and I wouldn't recommend walking without any flip flops. The restaurant is ok and the breakfast is nothing to write home about.

The hotel is on a slope and it is a journey to and from the pool as you need to work up hill. Now again you can jump on the golf carts which was good and it saved my poor little legs..

The staff were amazing..

  • Liked — Tropical setting..
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Absolutely beautiful resort ! All staff is so friendly, no exceptions.
Arrived there with the good news that we were upgraded to a pool villa which was just amazing. If you can afford We would definitely recommend it!

Honestly can not come up with a single negative thing about the resort.
The best visit to Thailand so far!

Niels Huve & Sarah Thomson

  • Liked — the privacy of the villa and of course the pool!
  • Disliked — Can't come up with anything!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nielshuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,412 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing