We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Nora was Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Craig & I enjoyed our wedding ceremony on the beach front at Nora Beach Resort in Koh Samui Thailand on 11 October 2013. Everything about the ceremony was perfect, even the weather put on a clear sunny day. The setting was beautiful, the management & staff (especially Anna) were wonderful, their professionalism, enthusiasm and care in delivering the most perfect day was way beyond our expectation. The set up on the beach, the flowers, music, the cake, the extraordinary long cake knife (sword), the carving of our names in the watermelon, the franjipani's scattered on the pathway, the bubbles filling the air as my father escorted me to the "alter" was simply breathtaking. I had to fight back tears as I took in this amazing scenery and atmosphere. The flowers were exquisite and plentiful and so beautifully presented…. Paradise! The food & its presentation at the resort was first class. The resort musicians had our group captivated & we spent most nights eating at the resort to enjoy their music. Some nights we followed them as they played at different locations around the resort. They happily took requests and replayed our wedding song each time they saw us on nights following the wedding. We would like to give them our heartfelt thanks for learning & playing perfectly the songs we chose for the ceremony, our appreciation is immeasurable. To our surprise we were upgraded to a beachfront pool villa for the wedding day/night and were greeted with gifts and flowers throughout the room. We would like to give special thanks to Anna the Assistant Group Sales Manager who was patient, polite, considerate & professional. Anna was always obliging and went out of her way to ensure our special day was truly wonderful. We also thank Michelle who gave us the confidence to commit to our wedding so far away. We would highly recommend a wedding ceremony at the beautiful Nora Beach Resort Koh Samui. It was a day we will cherish forever. We will return to Nora one day that is a certainty. Regards Denise

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denise U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for Nora Beach Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our travel agent chose this resort for us as a place to relax and chill out after a wonderful but tiring European holiday. After 6 weeks traveling we had 4 nights at Nora Beach Resort on our way back to Australia. What a fantastic place! We had a standard villa which had everything one could wish for, it was spacious, spotlessly clean and midway between the beach, pool and restaurant and the hotel lobby. The resort runs a courtesy bus backwards and forwards into town at intervals throughout the day, but in any case it's only a 10 baht tuk-tuk ride one way. after staying in Phuket (Patong) three times previously, we found Samui to be much more laid back. There are plenty of shopping and night life opportunities in Cheweng Town as well as plenty of good quality restaurants.
As with everywhere in Thailand, its the people that make it such a wonderful place and the Nora Beach staff are no exception. They are friendly, attentive and always have a smile, Rin, Par and the breakfast staff especially!
Can't wait to come back, for longer next time.
Thanks
Martin and Karen Barnett Western Australia

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartinBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A friend and I recently traveled to Koh Samui and stayed at the Nora Beach Resort in Chaweng. After deciding tolash out and not to go for one of the budget hotels with our travel agent what we were greeted with was definitely not what we expected.

There were some great features to the Nora Beach Resort such as the pool, view of the beach, bar/happy hour, the grounds and the staff were all fantastic.

However, the rooms were unfortunately a great dissapointment for us. When they first showed us to the superior room we had booked we were so disspointed that we requested to purchase an upgrade as we had already paid a lot of money to stay there and did not want our holiday to be hindered by how unpleasent the room was (this included the fact the superior room was very small, dark and tired looking, not very clean and the bathroom was the worst part), the only positive was the tv which looked newish and was flat screen.

They then showed us a villa which we did like more compared to the superior room, however was still quite disspointed due to how tired, unclean and dark it was. Also, the tv in the villa was a very small square box and whilst we didnt go away to watch tv, we were looking forward to watching a movie here or there. We said to staff we would pay for the upgrade if tv's could be swapped. Unfortunately they could not swap the tv's (I'm not sure why), but upgraded us for free which was nice of them and unexpected, but the room still wasnt what we had hoped for and the whole experience was quite disspointing. The TV channels in the villa did not work at all nor did the DVD player (we bought some DVD's which work fine at home but would not play there), and the room was still very dark and a bit depressing.

Happy Hour by the pool was great with half price cocktails which worked out to about AUD $5 however ate in the resaurant once for lunch and did not go back due to the fact the area was quite dirty with food on the ground and prices were quite high compared to going into town.

The location suited as perfectly, being a short distance from busy inner-city Chaweng (about a 50Baht Tuk Tuk or 150Baht Taxi), but far enough away that it was still very peacful.

Overall we did enjoy our stay at the Nora Beach Resort but as mentioned earlier, this was mainly due to the nice pool area and friendly staff.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It was an amazing experience and the highlight of our trip was staying right in the resort with takeaway Thai food and occasionally, room service.

Location:
Location was far from town centre, with not many shuttle buses to take you there. Barely saw any taxis and a 8min ride from the airport to the resort was expensive - travelling around the island is very expensive. If you have any tours, make sure they pick you up.

Service:
Great service, we were driven down in a buggy to our villa and the breakfast buffet was fantastic.

Room:
We had a beachfront villa, a splurge on all counts but so. worth. it. We had a private beach right at our doorstep, though it wasn't a great one and we were taught never to swim alone in the ocean. A lesson we were thankful for because in the middle of our stay a tourist got caught in a rip and had to be rescued! The sand was rocky, but the ocean breeze and view was still spectacular. A bit disappointing it wasn't a great beach. We had a little pagoda attached to the villa, and a private swimming pool that we swam in almost every day. The public pool with pool bar was great, but nothing beats having one all on your own.

There was 3 of us sharing and I was delegated to the sofa bed, not that I minded as I got a perfect view of the greenery around the villa, and the best view of the sun rising above the ocean horizon. We spent many days just lazing around in the sun, in the pool or watching movies/documentaries on that sofa.

There was an issue with WIFI, but we soon found out that it affected most of the island and there was little the hotel staff could do about it. Ok. We made heavy use of it as soon as it came back on, but being forced to be cut off the outside world was probably a blessing in disguise.

I had a spa treatment at the resort and loved it, came out smelling like delicious coconut cream. Took a shower, jumped into the pool again, bliss.

We still long to come back here again!

A little tip: Just 10mins walk down the road to the left is a Thai seafood restaurant (next to the minimart), we ate there so many times the waiter could smell us coming. Spoke really good English, and the food was delicious!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, definitely get the beachfront (ideally the first or second villa close to the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeSongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. Reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. We were not impressed that many things cost extra money. We had to pay 500THB deposit just to be able to have a 2nd key. (If you don't have a 2nd key, the air con doesn't stay on in your room). To use the kayaks you had to pay 200THB. This should be included and not an extra cost. The air con in our room didn't work and when they told us it was fixed it didn't reach a cold enough temperature what so ever. We were also told that our 'my time' benefit would include a free mini bar set up. We were very disappointed when we found out this was in fact just 2x cans of coke! Overall the resort is dated and needs a revamp. We did enjoy the food at the restaurant however and the head waitress was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 4 nights here in the cheapest room. We asked for a room on a high floor so we had a view, we could see the ocean over the treetops (not the beach, just a distant glimpse of the horizon). Rooms on the ground and 1st floors do not have views. All rooms have balconies. The beds are REALLY hard, we requested a soft underlay 3 times which never arrived. The common area's of the hotel are great. The grounds are lush and well tended too. The pool and swim up pool bar are fabulous however I can imagine it would be quite crowded in high season as it doesn't appear to be large enough to accommodate a full house. Although this hotel is right on the beach, the beach is a narrow strip of sand and the ocean in front looks to have dead reef so it takes a bit of navigation to get through to be able to swim. You will probably end up at the pool because of this. The beach at Chewang is much much nicer with white sand and blue water. We walked from town centre back to Nora Beach Resort along the beach - not a good decision. If your going to do this you definitely need some solid shoes (not thongs). The breakfast is great with a wide variety of cereals, eggs (any way you want), local cuisine, breads, juices etc.

Room Tip: If the bungalows are out of your price range, ask for a room on the top floor closest to the pool so...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My family spent there 6 nights in 2 Ocean Villa (bungalows) with connecting doors. Villa is pretty big, so 2 combined are even bigger.
The main disadvantage is the location – about 2 km to Chaweng center (which is also long to walk)
There are 3 free round trip shuttles from the hotel to Chaweng center around 10:15, 15:00, 2200 which we used and were great. Although you should be ahead of time because more than once they left before the time and left us behind.
Still you need to remember that you are depending on this, or on a taxi (around 50 BHT PP). We tried walking but it’s pretty far and inconvenient (no sidewalk- part of the way and ups and downs). So if you are going to spend most of your time in the center you should consider if it suits you.
Breakfast was good. Every day you receive a complimentary bottle of water per person in your room. Rooms well equipped. TV (old version) includes English movies channels as FOX and HBO.
Swimming pool good although the floor needs replacement.. In general you can tell that the hotel is Outdated. The good thing was there are not too many people around so it’s nice, peaceful and welcoming.
Staff is very nice and friendly.
Breakfast and swimming pool (and the beach) are downhill and you need to climb in order to arrive the reception and the road. It’s pretty stip. I didn’t mind, but consider this with very young/old people. (I know they have trolleys, and I saw guests driven occasionally)
The beach is small and not as clean and beautiful as the beach we went to in Chaweng. The Shampoo, soap, Conditioner and lotion are in small glass container which are mostly broken or missing it’s cap. Somewhat annoying. There is both big bath and shower and even a shower outside the villa so you can wash the sand off before entering the room, which is good. We adopted the local habit to leave the shoes outside and walk barefoot on the clean wooden floor.
Few meters away you can do your laundry for 40 BHT per KG. There are also 2 supermarkets very close by.
Despite the disadvantages and the good ones, I have to say we had a terrific time.

Room Tip: Think in advance whether you prefer to stay closer to the pool/beach and breakfast or to the recepti...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinala_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,495 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,474 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £72 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing