We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-run resort in a great position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A well-run resort in a great position”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked and stayed late January leaving on the 4th of February.
All booking arrangements were done via email and in a professional manner.

Their web page was helpful when planning, we felt their page is a good reflection of what we actually found on arrival.

This is a well-run resort with good room choices, (we checked out the different room types) The Beachfront Villa being our pick.
The rooms were clean and spacious (remarkably spacious) there is a degree of aging but it is obvious there is a good maintenance program keeping up a very good standard.

The resort we felt is in a great position being a little bit away from the busy, cluttered and somewhat slightly dirty part of Chaweng Beach. The beach directly in front of the resort is EXCELLENT with far less people, clean sand, fantastic shady trees or full sun, however you prefer it. There was also an abundance of available resort sun lounges.

The pool is excellent being large and well designed. Once again there were plenty of sun lounges and tables for poolside dinning along with good service from cheerful (even fun loving) staff.

The morning buffet breakfast was very nice, it seemed to cater well for the mixed cliental. Breakfast is located just on the beach, on a spacious timber deck with plenty of shade, a very nice way to start the day! We also had lunch and dinner in the restaurant at times and found this to be an equally good standard as was room service.

A couple of weddings took place during our stay. From what we saw of them, in terms of the decoration and setup, The Nora Beach Resort seems to be an excellent venue for those planning a wedding. Incidentally none of the weddings had any noticeable affect on other guests.

The reception staff were helpful in coordinating a late departure to coincide with our flights and the staff at all levels seemed cheerful, (even enjoying their respective rolls). We feel happy staff always enhances a guests stay.

All in all The Nora Beach Resort is beautifully operated, great staff, it is located in a great position, the rooms are clean and large, the restaurant and particularly the food is very good, the pool is excellent.
For us it was a most relaxing stay, we were in good hands we are sure you will be as well.

Enjoy!
GS

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancerA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    307
    108
    48
    30
See reviews for
193
553
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We started our honeymoon here and had a great time. If you want a pool bar that's also right on the beach this is the place. If you are looking for a boys trip or party, book a hotel closest to the Ark Bar in town. This place is a 10min drive into town and easy to get in by taxi, taxi bike or these weird cards where you can jump on the back and negotiate a deal for your journey. We stayed in a superior room and was awesome. We are glad not to have booked a villa as the pool and beach are great. Ps watch out for cats.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank horsecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Koh Samui and Nora Beach Resort and Spa was the last stop on our three week trip through Thailand. We stayed here to recuperate and recover before flying home. I have mixed feelings about this place, but on the whole they are positive. The problem is i had just come from a small boutique resort in Krabi where i felt like i was a part of the hotel managers family, and Nora Beach is a rather large resort. No problems with check in or check out, both were quick and easy. There was a free shuttle 3 times per day into the main drag of Chaweng, and a few later ones that cost 50baht each. The concierge drove us in each time, and was happy to drop us wherever we asked along the very long stretch of road. There was one pick up i think, but this was too late for us, so we caught a tuk tuk back which cost about 150 baht for two people. The hotel suggested this was a cheap price so we always haggled with the taxi driver so we wouldn't pay more.
There were a couple of days where we lazed by the pool all day, and i must say the pool side service was excellent. On days where we had been out in the morning we would always wind up down by the pool for lunch and a swim afterward. I can highly recommend the Hawaiin club sandwiches. On our arrival we ate a pizza at the restaurant and we weren't very pleased with out choice. For the duration of our stay we would catch the 6pm shuttle into Chaweng and ate at some great restaurants in the town. I can recommend Via Vai, Duomo and Nora, and for the other 2 nights we ate on the beach but can't remember their names but there are many to choose from!
Although the Nora Beach Resort and Spa, has its own private beach, it was closed for the whole time we were there due to the weather and rough seas. I admit i wasn't overly impressed with the beach because where i live in Australia we are spoiled for beautiful beaches.
The resort was a little further out of the main town than i thought it would be, but extremely close to the airport, which is not a problem for noise.
Despite the good service we recieved by the pool and on check in etc, we were sort of at loss for booking tours from the hotel and so we did this from a tourist place in town. The place in town also helped when we wanted to know any notable places to visit while in Koh Samui.
The pool was lovely and the room was lovely and had a nice balcony. We had to ring up about towels one night because the cleaners had only left us a set for one person. However, by the time it arrived i was already showered and dressed having had to use the same towel as my mum because we were heading out soon.
With that said, i am not sure if i would stay here again, partly because i there is a bit of protected Chaweng beach that i think would be good to stay along, and this is right in the town area. However, Nora Beach Resort is probably more private as people don't just walk through the resort to get to the beach. Because i live around many beautiful beaches (which i definitely take for granted), i am not sure i would even return back to Koh Samui anyway. For the price this place was probably worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We really liked this hotel; unlike other high-class hotels in Thailand this one is cozy and personal. You feel at home, the staff recognize you and remember what you use to order. Everyone is so friendly and happy! The area is quite small, but beautifully planned. Cute little bungalows lies between crooked trails in the middle of the jungle. The food is AMAZING! Both the breakfast, lunch and dinner! So good! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josefine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

- GREAT location with a beautiful, clean, almost private beach only a few feet from the pool!
- Definitely on the pricier side (some drinks were as expensive as being in the US!!) but it was our honeymoon so....
- Free shuttle to Chaweng Beach "city" area which is pretty much like other city areas - lots of restaurants, massage shops, vendors, etc.
- Free Wifi
- QUIET and RELAXING! We spent so much time either at the beachside bar enjoying the cocktails/beer and amazing view or relaxing in one of their lounge chairs (available on both the beach and pool area - 2 free towels/day too)
- Spa and treatments were amazing!
- We would highly recommend this place but it is definitely on the more expensive side

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessrosern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of the many positive feedbacks on Tripadvisor. After arrival at approx. 10:00 am we were told that the room will be ready not before 2pm what we understood. But then? That was it. We used a public restroom to get rid of the winter clothing and packed this into our handluggage and started to explore the resort ourselves. Dirt all over. The pool area was full with guests and only on request, two small towels were given to us. No beach bed was available so I asked for assistance to get two to rest some hours until the room was ready. Two desinterested guys from the pool staff arranged the beach beds and placed them on the sand. Another guest moved her beach bed closer to the beach and was ragged not to do so. These were our first impressions.

We were hungry and ordered from the restaurant two vegetarian salads. What was brought were two salads with seafood.

After 2pm we asked at the reception for the room again. It was not ready. After insisting that after 24 hours of travelling we needed the room, one person finally accompanied us to the room. Our reservation was for one room ground floor. "Our" room was in the third floor. It was old, dirty, not correctly cleaned, the electrical system was partly damaged, the shower head was so old and dirty that one must be afraid not to receive unknown bacteria infection. We asked for talking to the hotel manager which was ignored several times. As a result, we finally decided not to stay even one night in this terrible environment. We found a very attractive alternative immediately. Better some waste of money than trouble for 2 weeks with ignorant and not helpful staff. We cannot understand why so many positive comments have been written about this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, QLD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our stay at Nora Beach was amazing. The staff were very friendly and happy to help in any way. The bungalow-type rooms were quite quaint and perfectly sized for the two of us. The pool area was well equipped and the pool staff were easy to talk to. The spa alongside the pool was very nice and offered a great range of treatments. The restaurant staff were very friendly and more than willing to accommodate our requests. Overall a great resort far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle of Chaweng Beach but close enough for a 5min taxi ride to get to the fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZakandLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,354 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,738 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,398 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing