We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room is basic...go for a villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic room is basic...go for a villa”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Good things first; nice "jungle" atmosphere, pool area is okay and I had a good thai-breakfast every morning, but do not worry..there is a breakfast for Englishmen too. AC in the room was very effective, with normal noice.
Some negative issues; basic room was far away from 4-star level, points for website photoshopper. Restaurant and bar prices are about double compared to town. Private beach is not useful. Location is not a big problem because a shuttle bus, and taxi rates were cheap too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    307
    108
    48
    30
See reviews for
193
553
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Spent 3 nights at Nora Beach Resort and had a great time. Great breakfast buffet every morning while enjoying our beach-front view. The beach was walking distance and occasionally while in the resort's pool, we would run the short 100 feet or so and swim in the ocean. We had such a relaxing time at the resort just laying around, enjoying the views and eating great food. Room Service food was fantastic too. The staff were all friendly and the resort offered a free shuttle to and from the Chaweng city center at various times during the day. If you didn't catch the free shuttle, they also offered a 50 baht ride to the city which is incredibly cheaper than a taxi there. It was a 5-minute shuttle ride to the excitement but far enough for peach and quiet. Gorgeous greenery all over the resort but not good for those who are very sensitive to mosquito bites like I am. There are mosquitos flying all over the island and the entire resort - minus the rooms - are outdoor, including the resort lobby. The only place I could get relief from the annoying bites was in the room - as long as you were able to keep them out. Another minus is that the food and drinks are incredibly over-priced - even for a tourist spot in Thailand. They were charging Vegas club prices for alcoholic drinks but not nearly as strong. Plus they include a 10% service charge to every bill which is unusual in Thailand. Kinda felt like I was being ripped off but I guess that's the price you pay for paradise. Aside from the mosquitos and the overpriced food/beverages, I was very happy with the beautiful resort and all its amenities. A very romantic and remote spot and perfect for our honeymoon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villas which is one up from the basic rooms. It had vaulted ceilings and was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The resort is very beautiful, set in the hillside above the hustle and bustle of Chaweng it is a world apart from the surrounding area. Palm trees fringe the main site as you go down the hillside to the beach front, 9 chalets are right on the edge of the beach, they are gorgeous and very luxuriously set out. We stayed in 7009 which was right next to the beach side restaurant and very handy at mealtimes although we were not bothered in any way with noise from it. All of the 9 chalets have a pool and outside bathing areas with loungers, inside a spacious lounging room, bedroom and well equipped bathroom. The beach adjoining the resort was tidy with nice white sand - not a reflection on this resort but generally and sadly go off the resort and the beach side is a mess with rubbish, we found this all over Thailand they do not care much about their environment - Nora Beach Resort kept things very tidy. If I was to mention one thing that was a little annoying - at the poolside there were limited seats for having lunch, unfortunately the staff allowed swimmers and bathers to commandeer these seats by putting bags and towels on them which stopped us having lunch - contrary to that they did stop people leaving towels on loungers. This was the only resort issue and we would definitely recommend it hence 5 stars overall......

NOW ON TO THE WARNING.....We found this resort after weeks and weeks of searching around for the best options and amenities that suited our tastes - this was our first trip to Thailand. We had booked and paid in full (non refundable) through Agoda, we were due to stay in a Beach Front Chalet. We had chosen something special as it was our 15th wedding anniversary. When we arrived the resort told us that there had been a double booking error which was very upsetting, we hold Agoda completely responsible as we booked with them and they had over a week to communicate this issue to us and allow us other options - we may not have even travelled to Koh Samui as other hotels in Phuket were equally as good. Putting that aside back to this resort and a very special thanks to the general manager Prajuabphan Sakakorn who dealt with our issues very well, under his management the hotel put us up for two nights in the sister resort Nora Buri which although was not beach front was still stunning. We feel that he went out of his way to assist but the responsibility for our unnecessary stress and inconvenience was with Agoda.

WARNING DO NOT TOUCH AGODA (www.agoda.com) WITH A TEN FOOT POLE - APPALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE NO CARE OF DUTY TO TRAVELLERS, THEY DON'T CARE AT ALL AFTER THEY TAKE YOUR MONEY

Room Tip: Beach Front Chalet is the best by far 7009 is next to beach pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0hnn0_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzeliya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

like:
great view, good- rich breakfast (althought there were ants in the sweet section), good pool resteraunt (value for money).
private beach access
the hotel provides shuttles to the city center (5-10 min ride)

dislike;
old rooms, too many bugs & flies!!! (cant sit in the balcony), not enought light in the rooms,
the staff not very nice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morin255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We came back for the second time, and enjoyed again.
We had a superior room. Size and balcony are OK and all you need is there, but decoration (lamp shades) and bath room are outdated.
We enjoyed the location, the beautiful and quiet greenery around and the beautiful location for the breakfast.
Beautiful pool next to the private beach.
Nice and friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine123Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My family stayed at the superior room with a balcony on high floor. The interior of the room is a bit old and worn. The towels are not 'white' enough. There is complementary wifi in the guest room.

We have breakfast at the main restaurant. Though the variety of breakfast is limited, the omelette is good. The restaurant is located next to the beach. It has a nice view.

Nora Beach Resort and Spa is not an expensive hotel. I am satisfied with the quality for that price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwf1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My partner and I stayed at Nora Beach Resort and Spa from 21st feb to 28th feb 2014. I was not expecting what I found. From the moment I walked in the front reception, I knew I was in love. When we got to our room, the cheapest one you can stay. I was almost in tears and it looked like a house. The room was clean and had more than you will ever need. Two flat screen tvs one in the bedroom with a huge king bed flowers all over it and a romantic looking mosquito net around it. A tv in the lounge room!!!! Lounge room, was not expecting that space. We had a kitchen table and bar. A spa bath in our room was a great surprise didn't even know we were getting that !!!! Air conditioning was fantastic, security was too good, I felt that my belongings and myself were safer there than at home lol.. The service is something else... I hope they all get paid great money because they deserve it. Polite, attentive and will do anything for you. At front desk they have tour guide folders for you to look through. Amazing they do it all for you its so easy. Food is fantastic and buffet breakfast.....---- SO MUCH FOOD--- I never felt healthier. Pool with a swim up bar lol.. Swimming around the pool with a cocktail in your hand.
Thank you Nora Beach Resort and Spa, we will be back..
ps if you are looking to do a getaway beach wedding do it there !!!!!
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: We stayed in Superiour room wich I think is the cheapest.. I couldn't imagine anything better. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaniaJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,354 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,398 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing