We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous friendly beachfront resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 weeks at this resort. The place has a lovely relaxed feel as soon as you arrive. the staff are all lovely and friendly. we stayed on the top floor and it was very peaceful. The room was very clean. We went half board and could not fault the food it was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cjx929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this resort for a family wedding. We had 5 nights in a pool villa, which was well worth the extra money. It was lovely to have our own private pool, that we could swim in any time of day/ night. (The resort pool closed at 7 pm) The pool villas are like a small house, lots of room, and totally private.
As has been stated in other reviews, the resort is ageing, showing a few signs of wear & tear, but this is Asia, and it's warm and humid so that is to be expected, as are the occasional bug or lizard. I had a few niggles regarding cleaning of the rooms, also the tiles in the main pool are lifting, resulting in a few stubbed toes - overall the setting of the resort was beautiful, with a clean beach, and it was nice to be away from the craziness of the town, yet it is only 5 minutes away via taxi or tuk tuk.
The staff were wonderful, no complaints at all, and the spa well worth every cent, a very relaxing experience. We ate in the restaurant several times, and had very nice meals, with a large selection of authentic Thai, and there was also a range of western style food. Breakfasts offered a very large buffet with every food option you could want.
As stated we stayed here for a wedding, and it was a beautiful experience, very memorable, and seemed to all run very smoothly. The whole setting of the resort, with water features and gardens is very soothing and relaxing.
Would highly recommend this resort for those wanting a quieter location, and relaxing break you could hide away here and be blissfully unaware of all the action down the road.

Room Tip: Choose a pool villa if you stretch the budget a bit further, much larger than a villa and totally pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a villa for 4 nights. The setting of hotel is good, with nice beach and pool. Room is a little bit worn out but acceptable. There are ants and mosquitos, but this is part of the nature.

Staff are friendly and attentive to our requests; though comparing with other resorts with similar price we have been to; they can be more proactively tell us when will be the night market open in fisherman village or weekend market etc since this is our first time to samui. We did call to set up wake up call every morning, some of them were missed and some were not at the right time. Not sure if it is problem of english or anything. Breakfast quality is a bit below average.

Overall the location and environment of the resort is very well. Service and room is acceptable. With the price of a village cheaper than a room in nearby Anatara, I think we cannot complain too much.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Buckeyebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here end of May for a week. We stayed in the Nora Beach Front Villa - definitely recommended!

- The room was amazing with amazing view. Staff were very helpful. Rooms service very good. House keeping very good. Pool was lovely, very private. Well worth paying extra to have this villa! Late night swims and morning swims were amazing! Overall, no fault with this villa. (7014) go for it!!!! :)

- Food - was nice but very repetitive. Lunch menu never changed- mostly burgers and chips. Dinner menu was the same every night and got a bit bored of same food throughout the week - mostly fried food. No fresh fish on any of the menus which is disappointing.

Day:
- There isn't anything to do here at the resort in the day other than sunbath by the pool, although day trips are available:

Day Trips:
- There's a good choice of trips to do around Koh Samui. We did the elephant safari for 1 hour which was a great experience. One full day trip that I will 100% recommend is Ko Tao!! You can either do it by speed boat which is crammed full of people and is more for snorkeling all day but the best one is the catermeran boat. It's a more relaxing day out which takes you to beautiful islands and the best snorkeling place. We pulled up to the island and had coconut cocktails, went swimming and took in the amazing scenery! But be careful... We booked this trip to be picked up at the hotel at 6:30, they were late picking us up, we travelled 45 minutes to get to the boat and it had gone without us so we had to go back to the resort and change it for the next day, so make sure you tell him to be on time!! (Ha)

Spa:
-WOW! Amazing spa!! I'm a beauty therapist and the treatments were the best I've ever had. They were really cheap compared to at home and we had one nearly every day in the evening. They gave us a complimentary candle lit spa bath because we were good customers which was lovely! haha bless!! But yeah, Thai massage was the best!

Evening:
-Very dead in the evening. We like to have a few drinks before dinner at 8. Every night we were the only ones there! Everyone was eating at 6:30 and entertainment finished about 7! No one around the bar at night. But, if your going into the town you can get all the entertainment there, but would be nice to have a bit of liveliness at the resort a few nights.

Beach:
- bit disappointing to be honest. You couldn't go in the sea because of all the stones and shells. Not only that, no matter how far you walked out it would still be no higher than your knee
So you definitely couldn't swim in it. The only time we went in the sea was on the day trip.

We went to the Maldives last year so we spoilt ourselves there a little bit :/.. For the price we paid for this holiday for a week, we could of gone to the Maldives!!!! Let alone how much we paid for drinks and trips etc! Crazy!! But was a nice experience overall to of visited Thailand :)

Think I covered everything.. Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy6754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Nora beach is so lovely! Beach, pool, gardens, cocktails, rooms, food! All amazing. Stayed for six days, wish it was six weeks.

The staff were also really friendly and smiley. Very informative, especially their grasp on the English language. Not being overly familiar with south east Asian dialect made the cultural adjustment so easy and enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank add_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I has to admit up until the last day we had a great time! The pool staff were amazing especially "Rin" and "Plong" who was the best cocktail maker!!!
Just a small disappointment with the front reception staff especially the front offices manager, "Pichet" who was very very rude and unhelpful! He definitely put a damper on the last day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Klee_139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Nora beach resort is undoubtedly a beautiful resort, with access to prime beachfront. For me though, location is not the only factor determining an enjoyable stay.

The staff, although friendly and pleasant, are not very proficient in English. We called reception to report that the power in our room had tripped. When no one had come to assist after an hour, we had to go to reception and explain with gestures what the problem was. On our last day, we had a transfer collecting us at 6:30 am. With breakfast only opening at 6:30, we tried to arrange earlier breakfast, or a packaged breakfast. After a ten minute conversation, all the receptionist could confirm with us was that breakfast in fact opened at 6:30. With no resolution, we gave up. To the credit of the breakfast staff, however, when we showed them our transfer ticket at 6am, they gladly let us in early to grab a quick breakfast.

Restaurant and bar prices are extremely inflated. Our check out bill for two Chang beers (normally about 50 baht in a restaurant) and a pineapple juice (roughly 60 baht in a restaurant) was 470 baht! I expect to pay more in a hotel, but these prices prompted us to eat elsewhere (apart from breakfast, which was included in our rate) for the duration of our four night stay. The breakfast spread provided huge variety, with a different menu each day. Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, an omelette station, soups, curries, pasta and pastries were on offer, as well as pancakes, breads, bacon and sausage. No complaints about the breakfast, and the view from the restaurant deck is absolutely stunning in the morning.

Hotel shuttle service runs on a timetable with day trips for free and evening trips charged at 50 baht pp (one way only, except for a free return at 10pm). We managed to take a tuk tuk back to the hotel for 150 baht for two people, after negotiating with the driver. Restaurants are within walking distance and we frequented a banana pancake stand just outside the travel agency down the road (40 baht for banana, peanut butter, condensed milk and chocolate sauce: delicious and cheap).

The room itself was spacious, with a bacony and garden view. Just a note that when you turn off the lights at night, the power points are also disabled. To charge our mobile devices, we had to bypass this by turning the bedside lamps on, then unplugging them to plug chargers in. I found the bed to be incredibly hard, and rather uncomfortable.

The pool is absolutely stunning. Chairs with umbrellas are set up around it on the wooden deck and a pool bar is available. The beach directly in front of the resort is clean and there's a relatively rock-free patch to get in, with a shallow sand bank further out. Great visibility for snorkeling, although not nearly as much variety of sea life as one would find on koh Tao, for example. A walk up the beach is sadly greeted by pollution and litter.

While Nora beach is undeniably beautiful, I'll be seeking out a smaller, less commercialised hotel if I ever return to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
1.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £48 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Splitty, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing