We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at Nora Beach Villa for a week during our vacation in Thailand.
I liked the room and SPA there. Room service was also very good

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    313
    112
    48
    31
See reviews for
203
569
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Stayed at the Nora for two weeks in Aug 08. Nice room, shame about the linen service. Was told by the manager that bed sheets were changed daily showed the manager this was not the case as dirty sheets had simply been turned over. No apology from the manager at all. Food at breakfast was ok; the rest was overpriced motorway food.
As we were staying for our honeymoon we received a complementary upgrade from a villa to a suite, which was a nice touch. Room service food outclassed the restaurant food, how that was achieved I have no idea!
Hotel grounds were kept well and had no complaints there, staff were friendly, manager was not very responsive.
Chaweng was a real tatty let down but cabs were reasonable to other bays on the island.

  • Liked — Nice Room and Gardens
  • Disliked — Food, chambermaids/managers laziness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My sister and I stayed here in late April 2008 and actually cut our trip to Thailand short after arriving at the Nora Beach Resort. We waited around for several hours before we were allowed into our room and they even left our luggage on the street in the sun for hours where anyone could have taken it. The hotel is really far from downtown Chaweng, where there are cheap and wonderful restaurants to enjoy - and great beaches. DON'T eat the restaurant at the resort - it's awful and overpriced. The room we had was crawling with bugs and the resort staff was friendly but didn't speak a word of English and were unable to help us with anything - literally anything.

The beach and pool were beautiful and that is where we spent most of our time at Nora. The water is too shallow to swim in the ocean, but the pool was a great way to cool off. Make sure that you claim your beach chair and umbrella early in the morning (right after breakfast) or you won't get a good spot.

We ended up leaving Thailand early after being so disappointed in Nora and they were unable to help us change/book anything. I booked through Expedia, so we weren't able to change hotels at all, but they were great once I got back to the United States and refunded the whole week. They were even unable to reach a manager (apparently they don't have one because we couldn't get one either) and the woman with whom I spoke at Expedia was so frustrated with the resort that is the entire reason that I was refunded.

There are so many other resorts in Chaweng, stay somewhere else! It does not deserve its 4 Star rating!

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VTDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed at the Nora Beach Resort for 10 nights in December and found it wonderful. When we first arrived, it was just after Bangkok airport reopened so the hotel was very quiet, only 40 people staying there when normally there would be 250 but we liked this, it was very peaceful. We stayed in a nora villa which was lovely, we liked the little courtyard with the outdoor shower. The room was always clean except we did have to be careful about leaving food or drinks on the bedside tables as it would create an ant problem (on the last day of our holiday they were doing a big bug spray). The pool was fantastic and the pool bar staff were extremely friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant, instead going into cheweng or down the road for some cheaper food. There are only a couple of restaurants sort of down the road from the Nora but if you're after cheap Thai food then they're the places to go. The free shuttle into cheweng runs at 10:30 and 3, if you want to go in at night it costs 50 baht per person and runs at 5, 6 and 7 and i think maybe theres a later one. Speaking of costs into cheweng, most taxi drivers want 200 baht but you can get them down to 100, sometimes you have to give in and pay 150 but the trip really isnt that long, we walked it a couple of times. Just a word of warning, don't try and walk from Cheweng beach to the nora beach unless you're willing to get wet and walk on rocks, we thought it would be a pleasant walk but changed our minds just as we were nearing home, oh well it was worth the laugh!
A bit off topic from the hotel, for first time visitors like us to Koh Samui, if you're trying to find cheweng beach, walk straight through from where the nora shuttle drops you off. That might sound silly but it took us 2 days to figure out how to actually get on to the beach, we met another couple who had been there 6 days and still couldnt find it. It really is a beautiful beach. Also, i can recommend the funny day safari tour, somewhere between thinking i was going to die driving through the mountain on an ex military jeep to having to buy things just to use a toilet at the big buddha, it was the funniest day of my life. The Ang thong marine park tour was a let down, probably due to a boatful of sea sick passengers (including myself) but the view was spectacular. Also, check out the lady boy cabaret show near the Combi van bar (you'll see the ladyboys promoting it), it's free you just have to buy you're drinks and it is the funniest thing, especially when they get guys from the audience up on stage, but i wont ruin it for you. it's starts around 10pm in Cheweng.
My only critism of Nora would have to be the prices of food and drinks. Cocktails were 180-190 baht, 50% off in happy hour but you still had to pay the 17% service charge of the normal price so they ended up being about 115 Baht in happy hour (2-3pm at the pool bar, 6-7pm at the beach bar). Food was also very expensive, 250 Baht for light meals at the pool bar, for us that was about $12 as the exhange rate was so low. However, every day they had a lunch special by the pool which would cost 190 Baht, we had it once and it was very nice. One more thing, try hiring the kayak from the hotel and paddle out to the island you can see just off shore, take some baht with you because they have beers and drinks and stuff to sell, it's only a little shack but the people that run it live on the island and are goat farmers, it's a really nice little beach to relax on.

  • Liked — The pool and the pool staff, actually all of the staff!
  • Disliked — prices of food and drinks
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacwi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We visited here for our anniversary. The staff was very pleasant, always helpful, and so very polite. We had a villa with a private pool, but always found ourselves at the beach! The room was always spotlessly clean, and just beautiful. We liked that the beach was a short ride to town (5 minutes)- it seemed to be quieter for those who don't visit the clubs as frequently. The pool was also very clean, and the grounds were amazing. The staff also assisted us in booking a private car to tour the island for a full day, and recommended great restaurants in town (go to the Library!!!). The private car was the BEST way to see all of Koh Samui, and only cost about $60. We will most definitely go back to Nora Beach the next chance we get!!

  • Liked — Beautiful room, great beach, pool, and food.
  • Disliked — we loved everything!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amdonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

what a gorgeous resort, we had an ocean villa and it was beautiful and spacious the bathroom was bigger than most hotel rooms. your own private shower outside and a bath overlooking your little front garden was great. the view was superb. we had friends stay in the normal hotel buildings and these were very lovely as well. the ocean pool villas were magical, but with two young kids decided to stick with the ocean villa as pool had no fence and plus they were little on the beach.
the meals at this hotel, BBQ and seafood night were something else. some of the best food we had in thailand.
the beach was great, there are nicer ones in koh samui, but your little private beach was great and it is still picture perfect, water so clear could see the fish swimming around.
i thing must mention is it is a very ""honeymoon"" destination. felt a little out of place being there with extended family, although they do cater very well for children, and the staff would often watch the kids and play with them while we enjoyed dinner.
really was paradise.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank terrortots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel in August of this year for 8 nights. I booked everthigng seperately to get a much better price than a package. I booked the hotel through asia rooms and got a very good price for b&b. I spent ages and I mean ages looking for the best place to go and reading endless reviews. I booked our flight to thailand through Hoodaki which we had no hassle with and our transfer flight to Koh Samui with Expedia. Everything went smoothly with no hassles. Upon arrival to Bangkok airport (we flew with Thai air) we went straight through with ease to new departures and our luggage was transferred for us. There was a complimentary lounge with food, drink and internet use courtesy of bangkok air while we were waiting for our transfer to Koh Samui. Upon arrival to Koh Samui airport we had organised a taxi with the hotel but there are always plent of taxis around about 200 bhat cheaper than if you book with hotel.
Upon arrival to hotel, we were greated with a drink and cold flannels, shown to our room and it was a very pleasant welcome. The room was faultless, clean, tidy with everything you needed. We had said it was our honeymoon but unfortunatley did not get upgraded as have we read from other reviews but the room was more than good enough. There was a hill to the pool followed by steps to the pool and beach, hard work at the beginning of the holiday coming back up but by the end of the week it had done us good! There were the odd buggy going up to give you a lift but you really cant rely on them as we only had one passing and gave us a lift in the week. Breakfast was amazing, loads to chose from (and Im a fussy eater). The pool was lovely and clean. There was music in the pool area but we did not find this a problem as have many other people, it really was not loud or techno. We ate in the resturant on the night we arrive, the food was lovely but a little overprice and not a huge selection so we chose to eat out most of the time. The beach was not great but not as bad as some have made out, just a little gritty and not pure white sand. We did walk round to chaweng beach along the beach and this is truly amazing. We went into Chaweng most days and I felt comfortable and at ease with the locals, not itimadated at all. The only thing that was very annoyeing was the persistent taylors - you just have to ignore them, as soon as you speak to them, they wont let you go! There are so many lovely places to eat here but our favourite was Chaweng seafood, truly amazing with the biggest menu I've ever seen and very cheap. We visited Big Budda, did a couple of trips around the island in a taxi for about £20 which was worth doing. We went Elephant trekking which was an amazing experience but not as graceful as it looks!! The staff and locals were so friendly and made you feel very welcome, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly return *****

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mlhiscock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,439 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing