We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful 8 days for the whole family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful 8 days for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

A great location and a wonderful hotel. The service was excellent and the staff really friendly. I was a little surprised that the kids club was more a number (4) of daily activities rather than a club but that said there was more than enough for my 10&8 year old to do; table tennis, badminton, water basketball, volleyball were all available. The beach was lovely and there was some snorkelling at each end with fish and coral ( just don't expect barrier reef Quality!). Had a couple of suits made by Mr Joseph just over the road. Paid £80 each for the best material. Needed to haggle a bit and £18 for an extra pair of trousers.

Hotel food quality really good with the Italian night being superb. Make use of the bars happy hours (2 hours!) which makes the hotel price reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillSeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    715
    208
    81
    51
See reviews for
638
1,133
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I and my wife and my son from 17 to 22 august were stayed in this hotel, the primary entrance to the hotel was very nice and warm , hotel staff were very polite and kind . Enviromental of hotel was very nice and clean, we are in block 6 room no 637 ,for cleaning and room needs to be 2 times in a day. The beach of hotel was very clean and beautiful, restaurant and bar next to the hotel beach and swiming pool and the rest of it was very enjoyable. Hotel breakfast was very good and complete.Our room was fantastic with a great veiw of coconut trees and thailand sea with sound of sea waves.With all of these beautiful, room and toilet and bathroom fixtures and floor are old and need renovation , ceiling fans shoud be equipped hotel lobby because the lobby was very warm and it is necessery to change the decoration. Overall a very good hotel, but I was buzzing with many hotels including 5 star hotels(centara grand in phuket) know it 4 star hotel. But again, that probably come to samui i will stay in this hotel. irany 11

Room Tip: select rooms in block 8 that have great veiw of sea and trees and silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irany_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed August 2012 as 4 adults for two weeks. All around perfect!
Rooms:
Although we travelled as 2 adults and 2 teens (17 and 14) this meant that we were 4 adults and had to have 2 rooms. We had inter-connecting rooms which were great! They both had large balconies with two sun loungers and a table each. The beds were comfortably large and very comfy! Bathroom had a great shower and bath, and the t.v had access to great channels.
Pool:
Great pool, very large. 2 sections joined by a bridge of steps. Fountains on one side with an area for the water activities (volleyball aerobics). The other side has the swim up bar as well as a basketball hoop. The pool is over 1.2m, so there is a little pool attached for the kiddies. Pool is very clean and warm.
Beach:
The beach is public so there are locals selling things, but they are very polite and unintrusive. The food and drink they sell is munch cheaper than the hotel which is a plus! Sea is lovely and warm with little fish swimming around.
Staff:
Staff are definitely one of the best features of the hotel, so polite and friendly, could not do more for you! Always there to help and serve.
Location:
This hotel is in one of the best spots. The beach is behind and the Chewang strip right in front! Unlike other hotels you can't smell of hear the street from inside either! Once you leave the hotel you are on the street. It can be busy but food and drink prices are much cheaper than the hotel, not to mention shops selling everything from authentic Thai silk to fake designer items. Also there is a great amount of markets which is a fantastic experience. The hotel will also help you to find a taxi to these places and any day trips you fancy too.
Food and drink:
There are 3 restaurants and also the pool bar which serves food and a deli and cafe. All the food is great ranging from Thai, Japanese and Italian. There is also a bar which offers a great range of cocktails. The food in the hotel is worth it's price, however cheaper food can be found out on the street. The hotel offers theme nights, such as a beach BBQ and a streets food market on the green, both of which were great food and a lot of fun!
The club:
The. Pub option is definitely worth doing, it basically means that you can drinks and food at any time of the day, as well as acces to 2 computers and a printer. The club has its own floor, with two air-conditioned room and places outside. They serve breakfast up there for those of you who prefer a quieter early morning. A lunch buffet includes sandwiches and soup. Then there is afternoon tea with a selection of cakes. Happy hour is 5:30-7pm and then cordials served after 9. Definitely worth the money, and the staff are amazing and so friendly!
Overall:
Great hotel, wonderful time! Will definitely be returning and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel in August 2012 after a very long flight from the Uk, I have to say after reading the reviews from trip advisor I have to say I was very apprehensive. When my friend his family and my family checked in we were told that our rooms were unavailable, they apologised and upgraded us to a family room with a plunge pool ( I highly recommend this room it was brill for a young family or couples) for three days plus use of the club facilities for the duration of our hols ( this was brill facility) . I am used to staying in top hotels in the world through my work, this hotel is there with them ,food excellent ,staff were brill, the bathroom was a little bit dated but it added to the feel of thailand, it was spotlessly clean. I am cannot support the previous comments and were really unfair.Breakfast and dinner superb ,take advantage of the bonus bonanza ,this gives you 50% free cash to spend at the hotel. Spa is more expensive than others but it is a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Without a doubt this is the best hotel on the planet! The best setting giving you an excellent view of the beuatiful beach, a nice base as there are many exciting places to visit all around! Top quality food, rooms and the best and most polite staff you could ask for! We will be back!

Room Tip: Get the top floor balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Buffajoe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in August - room no 235

The pro's
- the pool
- the beach and it's proximity to the hotel pool
- location to shops/airport etc

The con's
- THE ROOM! These need urgent work i.e. the lock on our door had to be fixed twice, the water was yellow, run down rooms, water pressure of the shower, temperature issues with the shower (I could go on)
- room service menus could be better
- service is very ordinary, although as staff are friendly

Overally, we probably not stay here again unless they have a major refurbishment! Also this is no way near a 5* hotel 4* at best. If the location, beach and pool are your main criteria this hotel is for you but the room and that higher level of service is at the top of our want list and this hotel just dosen't meet those

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJonesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCSBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear DrJonesss,

I would like to apologise upon reading about your experience at our resort and I was disappointed to read your negative comments regarding the quality of our rooms. Not all of our rooms have this issue, and we receive many compliments on some of the different room types, however we do have room upgrades planned for later this year and assure you that afterwards our rooms will be of a higher standard. I would like to use this opportunity to welcome you to stay with us again next year so we may show you that we have listened and learned from your critique.

With renewed apologies,

Danny McCafferty
General Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Upon arrival we were pleased that the hotel looked exactly as it did in it's photos. We were welcomed with cold towels, a refreshing drink & a receptionist who sat us in a comfortable area & came to us to take all the necessary details .... A nice touch after a long journey. Due to a few teething problems with the booking we were given vouchers for free dinner for our family of 4 followed by free entry to "the club" when we had problems with our room door. It was have been nice if neither problem had occurred at all but the way both were dealt with was what mattered. "The club" was excellent & included, amongst others free happy hour from 530-7pm, Free lunch with soft drinks, Free afternoon pastries etc all in 2 air-conditioned areas where you met other guests. I'm not sure how much it normally costs but it's definitely worth checking out.
Our room was cleaned impeccably with lots of little surprise treats throughout our stay. The private plunge pool outside our room was the best decision we made. The kids had a ball in there when the sun got too much.
The pool, leisure facilities and grounds were all immaculately kept but it really is the staff that make this place. Nothing is too much trouble. "Bung" who headed up the kids activities was great. Our kids have never been interested in the organised activities on holiday before but he had a fantastic way about him.
All in all, the location which is practically on the beach and the staff well make this hotel worth the money.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool suites are great for families & if you have small children there's no need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sykeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag and Ebookers so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing