We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views, location, quality & service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views, location, quality & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I am sadly leaving centara grand today with a group of girl friends :(. This experience at centara grand has been nothing but perfect!

When we arrived we were greeted with welcome drinks & very friendly faces. The staff here have been so accommodating. During our stay we asked for an ironing board & a DVD player - all of which we got & they brought up happily. We also asked if it was possible to check out later since our flight was late evening - to our surprise we were also granted this & we were able to check out at 3. We were greeted everyday with happy faces from the staff & were looked after very well. The customer service here is outstanding - my friends & I have felt a genuine care from the staff here & will be sad to leave them too!

Centara has a great location along the beach front & on the Main Street of chaweng. There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel, supermarkets, delis & all types of entertainment - plus lots of shopping! The restaurants at the hotel were also very nice & always accommodating.

Centara has helped our first experience to koh Samui Thailand be a very enjoyable & memorable one. I know I will be visiting Thailand again soon & will be definitely staying at centara grand again! Couldn't be any more perfect :). Planning another trip already!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosby003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    713
    208
    81
    51
See reviews for
636
1,130
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and everything about it was great,but our second stay just recently was less than pleasing.The room was great and in a good position in the 8th room building.There was supposed to be daily bed turning down which only happened the first day and the rest of the two weeks was not done.The staff were less then friendly but that's not to say all ....we went for the club upgrade and found it to be absolutely fantastic and well worth it.The staff in the club were the best in the whole hotel and most friendly and did everything to be helpful...hats off to them.The buffet breakfast was appalling.The fruit was covered in flies and the bacon was dryer than an old shoe and the staff had a 'couldn't be bothered' attitude..Unfortunately,the island suffered an electric black out due to underwater cable breakage but that was later on in our stay..They cleaning staff were slow in making up the rooms that sometimes our room wasn't even made until 5pm at night..when we arrived there,we were made to wait in the lobby for hours until our room was ready..as far as I'm concerned if you know that people are arriving early then make sure that their rooms have priority over other rooms so that they don't have to wait.and if they have to wait then take them to the club level and make them comfortable until the room is ready.The staff at the Spa were great and professional..The last time we were there,they had staff going around the pool asking if we wanted drinks or food,but this time we found that the majority of the staff ran past you.they had pacer buttons in places to buzz them but then that defeats the purpose of lying back on a deck chair and being waited on...However,we always enjoy our stay in samui,best beach was in front of the centara grand also because the staff clean the sand early in the morning..so in all it was an ok stay..I think the Thais have lost their enthusiasm to please in the service industry in samui..but not all as I said..the best service was in the club level...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCSBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Daniel G,

I appreciate the time you took to outline our shortcomings on your second stay with us and I would like to apologise for them. Please email our hotel directly (e: csbr@chr.co.th) with your name, room number and period of stay so that we may check our records thoroughly to learn from this experience and ensure these important issues are not repeated with any of our future guests. It is unfortunate that your stay was also disrupted by the electricity blackout which was beyond our control, that time was extremely challenging for all of our departments and I acknowledge that our staff here worked extremely hard however even this was not enough to maintain our usual high quality of service standards.

Sincerely,

Danny McCafferty
General Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here for a week (just before Koh Samui lost power!!) and had an amazing time! We had a great ocean view room in Building 7. Lovely view of the pool and the beach. Loved everything about this hotel - friendly staff, great breakfasts, lovely day spa, amazing pool which you can always get a sun bed at, beautiful beach, great central location, and free wifi in the lobby and bar. Also a few very friendly cats in the hotel gardens! We will definitely go back! A great place to stay!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We recently spent 10 nights here and could not fault the location , the resort or our room. The grounds are the loveliest in Chaweng in my opinion and the beach is clean and the water is crystal clear. While away from the busy end of Chaweng Rd , it is only a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi truck ride ( good for the way home ) and we would not have wanted to be anywhere else. Drinks prices were more expensive than bars and restaurants , but still reasonable and the Spice Island Restaurant was delicious and would I think benefit with some more advertising to those not staying at the resort ( it was a lot better quality than other more expensive beach restaurants we ate at ). Highly recommend bug spray as the mozzies are bad at night and for daytime by the beach, sunscreen with bug repellent would be good as we did get lots of sand fly bites that we didnt even notice biting us. The club staff were brilliant - thank you ladies.
Overall we had exactly the holiday we wanted and cannot wait to return here and bring the kids next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Centara Grand Beach Resort is my idea of a perfect 4.5-star beach resort in that it is located directly on the beach but at the same time is in (about) the middle of the largest beach area (Chaweng) in Koh Samui. Another nice feature is the green area between the resort rooms and the beach, which provides a very relaxing atmosphere. The beach at this resort is one of the best in Koh Samui (note, however, in the off-season the high tides result in a reduced beach area). In other words, the location is ideal for those who love the special qualities of the beach but who also enjoy an exciting nightlife. Another great feature of this resort is that you do not hear noises from the discos/restaurants/clubs during the evenings or later at night: you are like in two different worlds at the same time but you can switch one off to enjoy the other. Some reviewers mentioned there was noise from the streets, so be careful about the room you get. The pool was very nice and located close to the sea, which I found relaxing. We did not use the spa because I tend to avoid paying the unwarranted high prices. The gym was not 4-5 star quality in my view, but then when on holiday one doesn’t need to work out in a high-tech gym. We had a one-bedroom suite with sea view that was quite spacious and nicely designed and arranged. The room was obviously recently refurbished, which was very fortunate for us because other guests have complained about warn out rooms. The balcony swept around the entire suite, giving a very wonderful ambience as well as an excellent view of the sea and hotel grounds. The bathroom was large and practical. I therefore recommend the one-bedroom suite over the deluxe rooms (I’ve stayed in the deluxe room on a previous holiday). We did not take a package that included breakfast on this trip, but I know from earlier trips here that the breakfast is very nice. The restaurants in general are quite pricy and may explain why we saw few people dining there. Another reason may well be all the much cheaper restaurants to choose from in the Chaweng area. For the most part, the staff personnel were very friendly and dedicated to serving the guests. However, there were some instances in which I felt the staff showed insufficient skills, especially in their language proficiency. Thus, make sure you explain very carefully what you need from them. Please note there are stray cats on the resort grounds. This could be a problem for those with a “cat” allergy (I’m told that cat allergies are twice as common as dog allergies). In conclusion, the resort is quite nice and one of the best in Chaweng.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lshapspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this resort. We arrived mid morning and check in was very swift and we were taken straight to our room in block 8. This was quite a long way from the main reception / resteraunt areas but it was quiet and peaceful. No noise from the main road except for when you were walking along the corridors.
Our room was spacious, clean & tidy and had amazing views of the gardens, pool and beach.
It was explained to us that if we wanted to deposit money with the hotel to use in the bars / resteraunts that they would also give us some free credit ( worth asking about if it isnt mentioned to you at check in )
Staff were very friendly and attentive. They worked very hard especially during heavy rainfalls to ensure rooms didnt get flooded.
The location is excellent. It is far enough away from the main center of Chewang( which can get very noisy especially in high season ) but you can walk into the center in 10 - 15 mins.
There are lots of bars and resteraunts directly outside the hotel and we tried quite a few of them - all very good and reasonably cheap. There is an English Bar ( Rose & Crown) to the left of the hotel which does good food and directly oposite there is a tiny Thai eatery ( looks like the ladys private kitchen) but well worth a visit. ( very cheap and very good food)
There is also a very good Indian Resteraunt called Noori ( bit expensive but some of the best Indian food I have ever had)
Breakfast was excellent and catered for all needs with a huge selection ( Fresh Fruit. Cereals, Pastries, Juices, cold meats, bacon/ham, eggs)
The pool bar did good food and not overly priced. Their club sandwiches & Chicken Satay were excellent. Cocktails also good here although some staff need lessons in cocktail making. One day I had frozen Margeritas made which were hardly frozen at all and had no salt around the glass.
We ate in the Seaview Terrace for lunch. Their lunch boxes are a MUST. Great idea and wonderful food.
We also ate in The Palm Grove which again was excellent.
The Deli is a must - especially on a Dull day. Good coffee, great sandwiches & cakes.
Like all hotels, prices were higher than normal but the quality was very good.
The beach was beautiful and kept clean by hotel staff.
It was my birthday during out stay, and a birthday cake was delivered to our room which was a lovely surprise.
Overall it is hard to fault this hotel. Yes it possibly is more expensive than other hotels in the centre of the resort, but it is worth it to be away from the noise of the centre.
Definately would return to this hotel without hesitation

Room Tip: Aim for a high level floor. Block 7 or 8 seems quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 788Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have just spent 2 weeks here and in my opinion it is possible one of the best places to stay in Chewang. It is far enough from the town centre to be quiet but within easy walking distance (or short taxi ride) of the main attractions. The food was excellent and the staff really friendly and helpful. Although the bathroom fixtures were old fashioned they were in keeping with the character of the resort. The grounds were in excellent condition and the pool area well designed. There was easy accessto the beach and plenty of sunbeds available (jut not that much sun). I would be more than happy to return for another holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side on floor 2 or above have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tohrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing