We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was ok but the service was terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Hotel is good but we had some issues:
1. The pick up and drop service to airport which is barely 10 mins away is not included in the package.
2. Our balcony was semi circular protruding outwards.The ppl staying right above us threw cigarette ashes and stubs outside their balcony all of which landed in ours. It was dirty. We complained to the receptionist. They said they would clean it and notify the guests upstairs. But it was still dirty everyday.
They offered to change our room but we did not want to take the effort of switching rooms and hence we never used the balcony.
spa is good. Breakfast is ok .

Room Tip: Make sure your there is noone living directly above your room. The hotel offers 50% off on spa on t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShivaniJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCSBR, Executive Assistant Manager – Rooms at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear ShivaniJ19,
Sawasdee Ka and Greetings from Koh Samui.
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui.
I am sorry to hear that during your stay with us we had failed to meet your expectations in servicing your room. To assist us in further investigating your concern, I would appreciate if you are able to contact me directly on hesterya@chr.co.th to provide your stay period and the occupied room. The hotel encourages and support a non-smoking policy, however, as you are aware we respect all our guests habits and culture. Like in most public facilities, guests are encouraged by staff to respect and be courteous of others within the hotel, but unfortunately the acknowledgement is upon the individual. I am pleased to hear that our staff had tried and offered to assist you with the matter, and can understand your decision to decline the offer after having settled into your room, but unfortunately unable to fully utilize your room facilities.
The room rate of which our guests reserve, whether through a direct booking, online or travel agent, does not include transfers to and from the hotel. Arrangements for the service can be undertaken directly with the hotel or through your travel agent prior to the time of arrival. Your comment, however, provides a valid point to consider for future rate packages or promotions.
Thank you once again for taking the time to forward your feedback as it only assists us in our continuous improvement endeavours. If you are returning to us in the future, I would be pleased to assist you with your arrangements, and be provided the opportunity to meet you in person.

Sincerely,
Hester Yao
Executive Assistant Manager – Rooms
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,532)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked a last minute holiday to Koh Samui and this hotel came up as the cheapest (less that USD400) 5 star available. That alone should have set alarm bells ringing, but then I read the fabulous reviews that other readers have left and decided to believe in my good luck and book it. Well, I should have trusted my gut. And it seems that the people who gave this hotel positive reviews must have stayed in some other hotel than I did! There is no way this hotel can be classified as a 5 star hotel. It is extremely old, tired looking and does not even get the basics right when it comes to providing an experience fit for a 5 star hotel. Let's start with the rooms. They say it is 36m square, but most of the space is taken up by the bathroom and the balcony, so leaves very little for the living area. We had our son staying with us in our room and after the second day had his extra bed removed so that we could have had some space to move around. The bathroom is old and dilapidated, the shower light did not work for the first 4 days, the shower floods, the house keeping is abysmal (we almost used to wonder whether the room has indeed been cleaned or not) and to top it all, the room flooded every time it rained (which it did almost every night) from the balcony - so we used to wake up in the morning with water all over our floor!! Oh and the bathroom door doesn't close! The pool is dirty with all sorts of things on the floor. Doubt it has ever been cleaned. During one of our swims, an underwater light detached itself and floated up to the surface, giving my wife a scare of her life!! It was fixed by one of the pool boys who slotted it back in, only for it to float back up again after sometime. The food is beyond appalling - it is tasteless and most of the times, cold. On one of the evenings they had a BBQ buffet on the lawns, and unfortunately it rained. They had to move the buffet inside, but much to our horror, the salads and the desserts had rainwater in it !! They also hadn't bothered to relight the chaffing dishes, so every thing was cold. Also, don't order food by the pool. The staff does not believe in covering the food between the kitchen and your deck chair, so by the time it arrives it is a. cold b. Probably has been tasted by hundreds of insects that are all over the property, as the hotel probably hasn't heard of the word "fumigate". The spa is average for the kind of money it charges. I can go on and on, but will close with the funniest incident. We ordered a hotel car for 4 hours to take us around the island, which at 1700 bahts was not cheap. The car was neat and clean, the driver was polite, which was great, but he had got his family along as well (wife and kid) who stayed with us for the entire duration !! First time in my life I had a joint family outing in a hotel car !! So, spend a little bit extra and stay somewhere nice. This place is just not worth it. The only bright spot is some of the staff who are genuinely nice and try their best. Special mention to IT by the pool and Gio at spice island. You guys were great ! And the fact that the location of the hotel is brilliant, you can escape the deary depths of Centara and walk along the road with its many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thejainfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCSBR, Executive Assistant Manager – Rooms at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Jainfamily,
Sawasdee Ka and Greetings from Koh Samui.
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui.
I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we had failed to meet your expectations. The colonial charm of the resort is what differentiates us, and our Centara Grand sister property, from most beach resorts and boutique hotels on the island. It offers most guest, particularly our loyal returning guests, a home away from home. In the past year, 104 of our deluxe and premium deluxe rooms were refurbished, with ongoing plans to continue refurbishment work to commence in the coming months. On the contrary, the spaciousness of our bathroom and balcony facilities is what most of our guests positively comment on. The hotel does have various room types available, ranging from one Standard Deluxe room to the One Bedroom Suite, which has a separate bedroom and living area space suitable to accommodate an extra rollway bed. To assist us in further investigating your concern, particularly the maintenance and housekeeping issues, I would appreciate if you are able to contact me directly on hesterya@chr.co.th to provide your stay period and the occupied room.
The pool is cleaned nightly by our team, and this itself is done once again by a hand vacuum, rather than by an automatised pool vacuum cleaner. In this respect, we accept that human errors do occur occasionally, and we need to be more attentive to the areas pointed out. All pool lights have been checked and secured, and this is also undertaken as part of our daily pool maintenance program.

Your comments regarding your dining experience is much appreciated, as these have been noted and actioned by the relevant Management team for future occurrences. Our pool team has undergone a refresher training course on food delivery. With the assistance and co-ordination from our Food and Beverage and Kitchen team, we are exploring different ways to deliver items like corn-on-the-cob so they arrive hot, tasty and hygienically presented. We hope that upon your next visit you will be able to experience the changes implemented.

Following your feedback regarding the hire of a private car and driver, we have addressed the concern with the operator. We like our guests to be assured that our referrals of local operators will provide them a safe and quality service and experience. In this respect, it is a serious concern for us, unacceptable in the manner conducted, and we thank you for having brought this to our attention.
Thank you once again for taking the time to forward your feedback as it only assists us in our continuous improvement endeavours. Furthermore,for acknowledging the staff who had made a positive impact on your stay experience. These have been passed on to them as a feedback. If you are returning to us in the future, I would be pleased to assist you with your arrangements, and be provided the opportunity to meet you in person.

Sincerely,
Hester Yao
Executive Assistant Manager – Rooms
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We spent 6 days in two connecting rooms.
Very nice and warm check in process, nice lobby, beautiful installations. Quiet rooms, great breakfast and restaurants, nice swimming pools, relaxing spa... And the marvelous sea! Even when rains is nice, very smiling attention, best place for families.

Room Tip: Go to building 8, may be a little far but quit
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Check in.
Seamless. Being a return guest, it was pleasing to be recognised and welcomed as such.
Room.
Resided in two rooms ( having moved rooms), one without a fan, one with, both on the Club plan. Now , bearing in mind we stayed during a recent power outage where air conditioning was un available ( more on that later), the room without the fan was slightly uncomfortable. Bed is very comfortable, sound proofing good, and amenities all good. View from balcony is outstanding ( 235).
Hotel grounds
Beautiful. The gardens are stunning, well maintained and lovely to walk through.
Health club.
Excellent, plenty of equipment, and large.

Pool areas.
Main pool, quite large, and where most families reside. Adjacent pool, lovely to cool down in and swim up to the sip and dip bar, where you can relax and chat with fellow guests.
We preferred the beach deck near Sea Breeze bar as less children. More than enough sun loungers located over the vast stretch of beach, gardens and grassed area to suit all preferences.

Beach.
Outstanding. Best stretch on Chaweng as the hotel maintain it regularly. The beach hawkers leave you alone, however they are there if you want them and are very friendly. Only negative are the jet skis. Not as bad as other areas of the beach, however some of the users are clueless about there dangers. Be aware of rips during rough seas.( which are rare)

Breakfast.
Varied selection of cold and hot options. As mentioned, the fresh fruit would be better off under cover, which I believe is being addressed.

Sea breeze bar.
Excellent food and lovely sea breeze to keep you cool. Funny that!
Islander bar. Excellent to relax and sip whichever cocktail takes your fancy. An excellent selection of spirits for the connoisseur.

Spa.
My wife loved her Spa experiences. Special thanks to Bon and Boom ,who provided her with a high class experience at very reasonable prices.

Weather ( dec 5 to 13)
One early morning shower ( 0300 am) average of 32c with a slight ,welcomed cooling breeze. One full day of cloud.

Club lounge.
Now, this was the best part of our stay, and I would recommend any prospective guest to pay that bit extra for the priviligies it extends. The staff are simply outstanding. They epitomise professional customer service. They are led by the club manager , Banana , who leads them by example. Aom, Meena, and Jan are the three lovely ladies under his wing, and each and every one of them are a credit to him and Centara.
Lunch, afternoon tea and evening canapés are most welcome, but for me , it was being able to interact with Banana and his team. From recommendations for dinner in Chaweng to teaching me Thai, they will give you as much time and attention as you wish.
It has been mentioned that the food in the lounge needs attention, and I agree it can be hit and miss( more hit than miss), but from what I could see and heard, there are about to be significant changes made.

Check out.
Again, seamless and special thanks goes to Guest relations manager Weeru.
As previously mentioned, there was a power outage on Koh Samui and neighbouring Koh phanghan which lasted two days. At the Centara, the impact was minimal, as the hotel has its own generator, however the air conditioning was un available. Not much of an issue for me as the time you spend in your room is minimal. After pointing out to Banana in the Club lounge that our room had no fan, he was on the case, and within 30 minutes we were being relocated to another room. He actually helped us pack and helped with the move. Impressive.

The General manager, a very likeable Irish gent called Danny, organised an impromptu free cocktail event on the beach in order to apologise and inform every guest at the hotel. Present was every manager and team leader fielding questions from everyone. Again, very impressive. Having stayed at many ,many 5 star hotels both on business and leisure , I've rarely met such an approachable and passionate GM. As mentioned the fault was island wide and not in any way a fault of Centaras ,yet they should empathy and understanding at the impact it had on their guests.
It's true what they say, that excellent customer service comes from the top. If the boss is passionate about customer service, it will filter down to everyone. At this hotel this is true.

In summary. Just go. You will love it. I'll be back soon.
Steve and Ali

Room Tip: Club room with ocean facing view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sev1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I am sadly leaving centara grand today with a group of girl friends :(. This experience at centara grand has been nothing but perfect!

When we arrived we were greeted with welcome drinks & very friendly faces. The staff here have been so accommodating. During our stay we asked for an ironing board & a DVD player - all of which we got & they brought up happily. We also asked if it was possible to check out later since our flight was late evening - to our surprise we were also granted this & we were able to check out at 3. We were greeted everyday with happy faces from the staff & were looked after very well. The customer service here is outstanding - my friends & I have felt a genuine care from the staff here & will be sad to leave them too!

Centara has a great location along the beach front & on the Main Street of chaweng. There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel, supermarkets, delis & all types of entertainment - plus lots of shopping! The restaurants at the hotel were also very nice & always accommodating.

Centara has helped our first experience to koh Samui Thailand be a very enjoyable & memorable one. I know I will be visiting Thailand again soon & will be definitely staying at centara grand again! Couldn't be any more perfect :). Planning another trip already!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosby003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and everything about it was great,but our second stay just recently was less than pleasing.The room was great and in a good position in the 8th room building.There was supposed to be daily bed turning down which only happened the first day and the rest of the two weeks was not done.The staff were less then friendly but that's not to say all ....we went for the club upgrade and found it to be absolutely fantastic and well worth it.The staff in the club were the best in the whole hotel and most friendly and did everything to be helpful...hats off to them.The buffet breakfast was appalling.The fruit was covered in flies and the bacon was dryer than an old shoe and the staff had a 'couldn't be bothered' attitude..Unfortunately,the island suffered an electric black out due to underwater cable breakage but that was later on in our stay..They cleaning staff were slow in making up the rooms that sometimes our room wasn't even made until 5pm at night..when we arrived there,we were made to wait in the lobby for hours until our room was ready..as far as I'm concerned if you know that people are arriving early then make sure that their rooms have priority over other rooms so that they don't have to wait.and if they have to wait then take them to the club level and make them comfortable until the room is ready.The staff at the Spa were great and professional..The last time we were there,they had staff going around the pool asking if we wanted drinks or food,but this time we found that the majority of the staff ran past you.they had pacer buttons in places to buzz them but then that defeats the purpose of lying back on a deck chair and being waited on...However,we always enjoy our stay in samui,best beach was in front of the centara grand also because the staff clean the sand early in the morning..so in all it was an ok stay..I think the Thais have lost their enthusiasm to please in the service industry in samui..but not all as I said..the best service was in the club level...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCSBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Daniel G,

I appreciate the time you took to outline our shortcomings on your second stay with us and I would like to apologise for them. Please email our hotel directly (e: csbr@chr.co.th) with your name, room number and period of stay so that we may check our records thoroughly to learn from this experience and ensure these important issues are not repeated with any of our future guests. It is unfortunate that your stay was also disrupted by the electricity blackout which was beyond our control, that time was extremely challenging for all of our departments and I acknowledge that our staff here worked extremely hard however even this was not enough to maintain our usual high quality of service standards.

Sincerely,

Danny McCafferty
General Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here for a week (just before Koh Samui lost power!!) and had an amazing time! We had a great ocean view room in Building 7. Lovely view of the pool and the beach. Loved everything about this hotel - friendly staff, great breakfasts, lovely day spa, amazing pool which you can always get a sun bed at, beautiful beach, great central location, and free wifi in the lobby and bar. Also a few very friendly cats in the hotel gardens! We will definitely go back! A great place to stay!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £92 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing