We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fifth time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Our fifth time”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have stayed here previously, in fact this was our 5th time. Before travelling to Koh Samui we were thinking of trying something different. To be honest we were look for something that was a little more boutique and luxury on the beach. Most of these places were located in North Chawang however none of them really suited our needs after reading the reviews on here.
We decided to book Centara for the following reasons:

1. Location: For us this is one of the best located hotels on Chawang beach. Yes it is south Chawang, but it is fun walking up the road at night to go past all the shops and restaurants. After shopping and dinner we usually go a taxi back as we normally walked all the way to northern Chawang.

2. Grounds: Centara has the best grounds of any hotel on Chawang beach. The pool is big enough to have your own space and there is plenty of room to laze about around the pool, on the beach or the grassed areas. Whilst there is a lot of rooms and therefore guests, we ended up with the same lounges each day by the pool.

3. Pool – The pool is big enough to have your own little space. The pool is also big enough to get away from Kids if they annoy you. The pool bar is good for a drink

4. Beach – Centara has the best beach along Chawang. Going further south the beach gets a lot narrower and non-existent in front of some hotels, such as samui resotel at high tide. The beach also has massages at either end of the beach front of Centara. On a side note, I would recommend the southern one, which has the same lady giving my massages all previous trips. Also there is a vendor out the front that sells corn and beer. The beer is 70 baht which is a lot cheaper than the hotel.

5. Room – We had a premier deluxe room. We were on the top floor in the wing closest to the health spa. We would say that the room is ok. It has everything that you need, but it is not luxurious per say. Having said that, we did not spend much time in the room so it served the purpose. The bed was comfortable, and a lot softer than the usual rock hard situation. The room was very clean and we could not complain about the room.

6. Food – we ate breakfast everyday at the hotel which provided sufficient options and was very good. We ate at Seabreeze which was good. Again nothing to complain about and they do a special dinner most night, including a seafood feast one night. Most nights we ate outside the hotel because after a day of relaxing at the resort we wanted to get out for a shop and walk.

Overall we enjoyed our stay mainly because of the grounds, pool and staff. Centara certainly has the best location and there is not much direct competition for 4+ star hotels close by. Because of this I think Centara have let the hotel go a bit. They are doing some room renovations, but we think the whole complex could do with some more renovations. When we were there we did hire a car and drove around the island and visited some of the more high profile 4 to 5 star hotels around the island. It is not appropriate to give our view of these in this review. Next time we would probably try something different, but would certainly recommend this hotel to new comers or friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barneyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Barneyridge,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review after your 5th (!) stay with us. We’d also like to thank you for your loyalty.

You make a number of valuable comments and I’m sure that other readers on Trip Advisor will appreciate the good advice you offer. The observation on the beach is spot on. When the wind changes and we get higher tides November-February we are one of the few hotels in Chaweng that still has a beach area for guests to enjoy.

We appreciate that over the years you have chosen to stay with us notwithstanding the lure of new properties opening. We are thankful for that and hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,290
    766
    220
    89
    55
See reviews for
703
1,229
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We returned to this beautiful hotel in mid October, as usual the staff were great,my sincere appreciation to the club members and the Beach restaurant
The lady office manager was so enchanting and helpful

Room Tip: Depends on your Budget, but I found the premiere rooms as excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Mazengo,

We’re so pleased that you chose to return to Samui and our hotel so quickly. We believe October is one of the best months to visit especially for long lunches or sundowners by the sea. We’ll pass on your kind comments to Pat, our Front Office Manager, the Seabreeze restaurant team and The Club staff. It’s always great for our staff to have their strong efforts recognized.

Thank you again for returning and reviewing our hotel once more. We hope to see you again…hopefully in two months!

All the Best,

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqva, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We are a family of 5 adults. Our rooms were large and very well equipped. The rooms were with a superb sea view.
The staff were very good. The service was excellent. We asked for a recommendation of a restaurant and we received a great service including a reservation on our behalf.
All in all we had a great experience and we highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor sea facing rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Yoav R.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with readers on Trip Advisor. We’re glad to hear the trip was a success and that your family enjoyed themselves. We thank you also for your commendation. With a bit of luck we’ll be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from spending time at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui. We loved the experience from start to finish. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the service couldn't have been better. The location of this resort is beautiful and ideal for both couples and families. We are already planning to go back next year and taking our children & grandchildren with us. The food in the restaurants was great and catered for all requirements. We had such a wonderful time we didn't want to go back come. We can't remember the last time we had such a brilliant holiday and we will highly recommend this resort to all our friends & family. Once again THANK YOU VERY MUCH to all staff at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui for making us feel so welcome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Maria W.,

Thank you for sharing your Brilliant Experience! We’re overjoyed to hear that you plan on returning next year with the whole family. Thank you so much for your kind words and unreserved recommendation. We look forward to seeing you all next year!

Best wishes for a great Festive Season to you and yours!

Kind Regards,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our family group stayed at this resort and found it really lovely. It was after the colonial style set on acres on the beachfront with tropical gardens and a beautiful pool.
We booked two rooms for us and our adult daughters. Unfortunately they did not understand that we were in a family group and the rooms offered were not situated together and the bedding was not what we wanted. If you book this resort you have to specify interconnecting or adjoining rooms otherwise you may be on different floors. If we had young children it could be a problem. Fortunately they organised two rooms side by side which we moved to the next day, but at least we were together.
The breakfast was excellent with a great variety on offer to suit all nationalities.
Only complaint is that the resort hardly caters for 'gluten free' requests with only small bread rolls and sometimes small muffins on offer. Requests to take a couple of bread rolls back to the room were objected to and the GF rolls were not available in their coffee shop. They did seem to want to co-operate after we spoke to the duty Manager.
There were several restaurants within the Resort, all seemed excellent and their themed nights for a set price were also excellent.
There was a lovely beach right out the front and a great 'day spa' treatment shop in the Resort.

Room Tip: I think that the rooms on the upper floors are the best and they all seem to have an excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Madstravel,

Thank you for sharing your review with the readers of Trip Advisor. We’re pleased to hear that most aspects of your stay met your expectations.

Thankfully the rooms situation did not present too much of a hardship.

We have noted that there are an increasing number of requests for gluten-free goods and so we’ve added to our offer on the breakfast buffet. It’s true that we discourage guests from packing to-go food away from buffets so perhaps the restaurant staff might have been reacting to this general policy. At any rate we’ve now added some items at The Deli and Piccolo outlets and we hope you come back soon to try these and other treats.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your observations.

Kind Regards,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

While doing a tour of the islands this has to be the best place I stayed and possible your of all hotels before. Paid for the club service and seriously I didn't have to ask for anything as it was all there. Private splash pool was great and the location of the hotel was just enough to break away from the party area down the road. Would highly recommend, food was very nice as well.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashsfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Ashsfinal,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent island hopping vacation.

We’re delighted to hear that we compared favorably with the other resorts you stayed. It’s truly hard to go wrong with Club service and a Pool Suite!

We hope the Festive Season in Brighton is filled with joy for you and yours…come see us again when you require a Holiday in the Sun.

All the Best,

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

i cant say how much i had a fantsic time there wonderful beach wonderful service and fantasic staff, couldnt fault the hotel, Excellent food, Excellent Spa, Excellent swimming pool, and loved the music of a night when i was having my cocktails excellent excellent would recomend to everyone. and would go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Gaylene S.,

Thank you for writing such a superlative review. We’re delighted that your holiday stay was such a tremendous success! By the way, the music comes from our in-house band, Traffic Jam and you are right, they are excellent….so glad you enjoyed their shows.

We can’t wait to welcome you back for another great vacation.

All the Best,

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Fastbooking, Travelbag, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing