We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful holyday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful holyday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

we've just return from 12 nights in Centara hotel. we are a family of five so we had two rooms with a connecting door. the rooms were big, comfortable and very clean. the hotel itself was beautiful, with amazing gardens, plenty of restaurants and a very nice beach. the satff was always welcoming.the breakfast was great with lots of choise . we tried many restaurants in other hotels near by, and i can only say that from what i've seen, our hotel was the best.

my only remark is about the bathroom : there is not enough ventilation ! there is a window but just for light since it is permanently closed. also they could change the toilet seat - it is time !

other than that, we had a really good time during our staying, and we recommend it to every one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meital k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Meital K.,


Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel following your recent stay. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the connecting rooms worked out well for your family.

Thank you for the suggestion on bathroom ventilation. We’ll certainly have a look at that.

We thank you also for the recommendation. Hopefully we will be able to welcome your family back again soon.

Best wishes for a very happy and healthy Festive season!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    723
    214
    87
    51
See reviews for
655
1,159
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

colonial style hotel with a lot of charm; our room was so so( a bit old ) but clean and with a wonderful view on the splendid garden. DELICIOUS BREAKFAST with fresh juices & a lot of choices
2 times /day u can follow yoga lessons with Joe Gasby; a must to do !!!! very competent teacher & motivate his yoga friends so well.
for sure i will go back with my wife next year but in a better room i hope
greetings from khun Maneerat , khun Joe,,,

Room Tip: don't miss the yoga lessons from Joe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Chris V.,

Warm Greetings from Samui! Thank you for your cheerful review of our hotel and the yoga class. We are very appreciative of your positive review on the hotel facilities and activity program especially considering your status as a seasoned world traveler and Senior Contributor to Trip Advisor.

For our part, we certainly enjoyed starting the day off with you and your wife in such a positive and energetic way. A great breakfast is your reward!

We’re ecstatic to learn that you plan to return next year. It will be great to see you both again for another wonderful holiday.

All our best wishes for a very happy and healthy Festive season!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this centara koh samui 25-30dec. First impressions not bad. Got to our room which we paid more for top floor. Very small. But didn't mind that. The bathroom was horrible. Crack in sink. Blocked! Dirty shower! Called reception. Get sink unblocked. And Nope, not done. So fix the problem myself by adjusting the waste. Then you ask for a wake up call and don't get. Miss breakfast nearly!
Complained face to face. Was promised won't hap again. Which it did next day when got a 9am flight to catch!!! Lucky we woke up by chance.
Breakfast good. However need to wait 5 min for a fried egg as big que as one chef!
Air conditioning one day not working in whole hotel.
Insects in room.
Spoke to manager after checked out. All bills paid in full. And management couldn't care less. Sent me an email very poorly written and knowledge the facts I told them. But who cares they got my full money by then.
Check the photos I upload of our room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Dobs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Dobs,

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor. As you would expect we are disappointed with the low rating, but understand your frustration based on your description of your experience

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced. Steps have already been taken to minimize the repeat of such occurrences.

I am sorry we were not able to make your stay an ideal one and we hope you will give us another chance on your next travels to Samui.

Kind Regards

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My first visit to Koh Samui and we stayed 3 nights at the Centara. First lasting impression of Koh Samui - refreshing, beautiful with long stretches of beaches filled with tourists regardless of days.
Our room faces the beach and sea and the view was fantastic. The room was spacious , so was the bath and the toilet. Essential toiletries, towels and mineral water were provided everyday. The greatest setback was the showering system. There was a long bath with tap and shower head. After adjusting the temperature of the water at the tap, I changed over to the shower head. The water pressure was so great and powerful, creating a flood around the tub. Worst of all was the pain when water hit against me while showering. Even the smallest volume of flow did not improve the situation much. Now I understood the reason for the thick towel laying at the end of the tub. I wondered if any guest was ever hurt while showering.
Other facilities in the resort, like the children's playroom, gym, swimming pool were all fine.
Breakfast provided was a wonderful international spread, Thai specialties, varieties of pastries, bread, jams, noodles cooked to orders. Special thanks for the inclusion of a variety of nuts too. But I would like to request that the bakers make sure pastries are well baked. I opened 2 wet croissants when trying to fill it with omelettes.
On the whole, it had been a wonderful experience both in Koh Samui and in the Centara.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centrisleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Centrisleng,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you did enjoy the beach, sea and hotel facilities.
Your description of the shower troubles is a bit disquieting. We normally have fairly consistent water pressure and the majority of our showers have water-saving flow restrictors, but I will make sure to convey your comment to our Chief Engineer. Thank you also for the positive comment on our breakfast offering. As it happens we have just welcomed a new Executive Chef to our team and he’s made some brilliant enhancements to the morning meal including changes related to the presentation of pancakes, waffles, French toast and croissants.
We do hope that you and your family will make the short trip up from Singapore to Samui to visit us again and witness the improvements for yourselves.
In the meantime we wish you and yours a very happy and healthy Festive season!

All the best,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were for our honeymoon on Samui island and spent 2 weeks in the Centara Hotel on the Chaweng beach. Just a great place at a great location. A little bit in the years but very clean and very well organized. We suggest the premium deluxe room with seaview on the 3rd floor.
The GM Mr. Danny McCafferty and his team are doing a great job. The retaurants offer with their well choosen food good meals and everybody may find his favorite. The Spa area is just an oasis of peace, giving you a perfect time to relax. The very well architectured garden and the beach gives you the feeling of freedom accompanied by a nice brise.
We are sure coming back. Thank you all and all the best.

Room Tip: Premium Deluxe Room Seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Manfred K,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay with us. Congratulations on your wedding. We’re delighted that you chose to spend such a special time with us. We agree that rooms on the third floor are a wonderful choice for guests who enjoy waking up early for the sunrise. We also appreciate your kind comments on the gardens and beach. I went for a swim in the sea today and it really is transforming!

Manfred we wish you and yours a wonderful holiday season. Hopefully you’ll make good on your promise and return for a holiday with us soon.

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My family and I stayed here last march for a 2 week holiday, infact its our 2nd holiday here. Great hotel, staff really nice.
Stunning hotel with a wonderful beach. Both holidays we requested a ground floor room which I recommend, infact this time we had a plunge pool within our room, thats a big hit if you have children. If you stay here please take special care in the sea, there is a small area directly outside the complex which has a very dangerous undercurrent, pls pay attention to the signs the hotel puts out, in a two week period a few people had to be rescued by the hotel lifeguards, some people have not been so lucky. Please dont be put off by this just beware.
The hotel as always has high prices but just outside the hotel you will find many good resturants.
If you choose to stay here im curtain you will enjoy it as much as we did.
Our children were aged 9 & 6 years.

Room Tip: Ground floor and enjoy the private patio and beautiful gardens. All rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Michelle Jane C,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor audience. We’re so happy to hear that your family enjoyed the pool suite. We also appreciate your advice to others on the sea conditions. It is true that the currents can be tricky and hazardous in the last months of the year. We always recommend that guests heed the warning signs and flags. It can be tempting for some to test the sea, but in the end it is not only the safety of the swimmers that we are concerned with, but also the well-meaning bystanders who might feel compelled to attempt a rescue of someone in trouble.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review of our hotel as well as the guidance for others who visit Chaweng beach.

Best wishes for a happy and health holiday season.

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed a week here on our honeymoon. We had a deluxe pool villa. On the plus side the staff at the hotel were all lovely, and the hotel has good facilities and is in a good location and seems very family friendly. Buffet breakfast also has a good selection but unfortunately things like waffles, pancakes and French toast seemed to be very tough and seemed stale.
On the down side, our room was full of Mosquitos when we got there which was an unpleasant start and took us about an hour to kill all of them. The room was also quite dated and the fittings and finish off of the room wasn't great (chipped tiles etc). The plumbing seemed to have problems too with the toilet not flushing properly and had to give up on trying to have a bath as it filled so slowly.
Overall this hotel seems more suited to families as the facilities are good (fitness centre, pools, sports to play, breakfast options, etc) so probably makes up for the rooms being a bit disappointing. Not so suited for a couples get away.
Also I think a normal room maybe better than going for the pool villa, as the pool villas are on the bottom floor with a big concrete wall in front of them, (to give privacy for the pool) but this makes the whole room and area quite dark and enclosed so perhaps a normal room would be lighter and have a nicer outlook (a the hotel is on the beachfront).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nudge182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Nudge182,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel for the readers of Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is valuable and appreciated. We are looking at different options for the presentation of some of the a la minute cooked items so our guests always get hot and tasty dishes.

Mosquitoes have been mentioned several times on this forum and we have noted that they are more prevalent in the middle of rainy season. We do smog and employ other measures to reduce their numbers.

Your comment on the design of the pool villas is well noted. In actual fact, outside of the rainy season they get a fair dose of sunshine and are our best-selling room category. As you may have guessed they are most popular with Honeymooners or families with young children who never want to get out of the pool.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you might choose to return and stay another room category –perhaps in building one, on an upper floor which will benefit from a sunnier outlook.

Best wishes for a fantastic holiday season!

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing