We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, location & worth to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, location & worth to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed there on 24-27 Nov 2013. During my stay, it's raining every other day.
The Ko Pha Ngan can't be operated. So most of the time, I stayed in the hotel & that didn't make me bored. Centara is a big hotel & have got big pool, big garden & gym.
For me, I enjoyed a lot with yoga practicing.
It's my first time to practice yoga under the coconut trees & in front of the sea. Great experience that I was really relaxing & closing to the nurture.
Thank you so much for all staffs especially Joe Clasby who lead me 2 times /day yoga lesson.
I love it very much & for sure Centara is my first choice in Samui.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Ratto H.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re sorry to hear that the weather during your stay wasn’t all sunshine and blue skies, but really November is the traditional rainy season for us. It’s generally pretty wet that month, but on the bright side it does keep everything green and lush for the other months of the year.

We’re happy to hear that the yoga classes and resort facilities made your stay an enjoyable one.

We hope someday you can come back to visit us in a ‘sunny’ time to really experience a full Centara holiday in true tropical splendor.

Thank you again for your positive comments.

All the best for 2014!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    724
    214
    88
    52
See reviews for
658
1,160
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We've been staying at Centara Grand Beach hotel on Koh Samui since it first opened seventeen years ago. We still love it and it is a very special place for us. The staff always treats us like family and Joe is the most wonderful host. He was a good sport even when our Seahawks beat his Forty-Niners. The property is extensive and the gardens are beautiful. We love that it's right on the beach and this is what brings us back every year. The Ping-Pong table in the garden helps us stay happy and healthy. The pool has been more crowded in recent years, so we now relax in the garden area. Piccolo has good food and the service from Pa (Auntie) Dang is extra special. Breakfast is delicious and the Deli is great for a quick sandwich to enjoy on our balcony with a view of the ocean. We have enjoyed many dinners at Spice Island, Palm Grove and Hagi. Even though the rooms are a little older now, we can't complain as it's such a beautiful place overall. We didn't see the General Manager of the resort this trip, but we have confidence that Joe is more than capable of running the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tom S.,

Thank you sharing your review (and its encouraging comments) from your many, many years of staying with us here at Centara Samui. You really did make us smile as we could easily picture your customary movement...from the long walks on the beach before the sun gets too high, to the coffee shop (with Bangkok Post in hand) to the ping pong table to the Coconut Grove.

We passed your nice comment on to K. Dang and she was so pleased to hear she had made it on to the illustrious pages of Trip Advisor! Personally, I want to thank you both because it really is easy to be gracious hosts for such pleasant guests.

We always look forward to your visits and agree that the 49ers / Seahawks rivalry should never get in the way of our relationship. Especially this year…

Thank you both again for taking the time to give us your helpful comments and we look forward to seeing you again later this year.

All the best for 2014!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melboune
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 10 nights in Dec and was pleased with our choice. Location was far enough away from central Chaweng but 5 mins in cab or 15 min stroll along road or beach. Beach is great, very wide frontage no others could match. Plenty of lounges around pool and beach with heaps of shade if needed, good security day and night along beachfront, beach was great to swim in so only went in pool twice! Bars and restaurants the right mix and open hours although a lot cheaper outside for drinks and food but steak in main restaurant was first class so worth a visit or two. Rooms are a little outdated we had ground floor one with pool which was great, no stairs did not miss the view as did not spend much time in there. Older decor in rooms was a small neg with many many more pluses. Staff very friendly although some bar staff had poor English, the managers drinks was nice but some words from the GM would have been a nice touch although management team did circulate. All other areas the Spa and gym and sports area all very serviceable and my wife and daughter got a treadmill each morning at 8am easily. About 250 Baht to get up other end of Chaweng for more shops and restaurants and bars in taxi but 7 11 is 2 mins from front gate and plenty of shops and massage places within 10 min walk left or right from gate. 350b for 60 mins back massage is good value. Certainly consider going back and Centara brand of resorts seems very well managed so will consider elsewhere in Asia next holiday.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear 25Jezza,

Thank you for the comprehensive review. You really did cover just about everything! I believe that your report will be very helpful for the readers of Trip Advisor.

We’re pleased to hear you intend to revisit us or another one of our sister properties. At the moment we have 38 Centara hotels and resorts in Thailand to choose from or you might try one of our properties in Viet Nam, Maldives, Bali or Mauritius.

Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we do hope we can welcome your family back to Samui again one day.

All the best for 2014!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for 5 days. The hotel from the outside is very nice, but this changes quite quickly when you enter your room. We had a deluxe room that left quite a lot to be desired. The rooms are very tired and well over due to be fully refurbished. The water in the bathroom had a tinge of brown, along with a distinct taste (and smell) of rust! There are other hotels in the same location, so perhaps these could do with a second look. Internet is only available in the foyer (very slow) but free of charge. If you want it in your room, it's 100bht an hour, but once you log on, the user has to use it at once, there's no opportunity to log on and off and you wish. As for 'Happy Hour' - we asked the staff and no one knew if they had one! Once they discovered they did have a happy hour, they were rather 'excited' to say the least. The only problem was that happy hour was between 5 & 6pm! On a positive note, the breakfast area is lovely, the staff are fantastic and couldn't do enough for you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn_Egan_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Glenn Egan Perth,

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations following your stay with us.

Your comments on the rooms are well-noted. There can be at times, a high iron content in the island’s water which produces a slight discoloration. Generally, the drinking water in Thailand is not considered safe to drink so we provide free bottled water each day. We recommend that guests brush their teeth with this.

Thank you for your comment on WiFi. We recognize that most travelers want to use their devices through the day so we offer complimentary WiFi in all our restaurant outlets and in the lobby. Guests who opt to sign up for our C1C loyalty card are given a free connection throughout the property.

Please accept our apologies for the uncertainty you encountered when you inquired about Happy Hour. We’ll do some retraining with our associates to make sure this does not happen again. We do offer Happy Hours in all our bars including the very popular beach-side, Seabreeze Bar and two (very) Happy Hours in our Zico’s Brazilian Grill & Bar.

We’re delighted to learn that you found the breakfast lovely. It is the most important meal of the day after all, so we strive to make it special.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments. We hope you’ll make it back again soon for another Centara holiday.

We wish all the best to you and your family and a Happy New Year!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fine and I wouldn't want to worry anybody who has a stay booked here but it just is not anymore than fine/good. There is no flair anywhere within the hotel expected when booking through the top tui brochure. Rooms are fine but unrememberable (except for bed which was enormous)

Breakfast was fine but again no more than that, everything you would want and probably a little more, however cats running under the tables at times and tables were incredibly close to each other.

The location is the real winner! Straight onto the beach away from all the hustle and bustle of 500m up the beach but perfect if you do want access to all that but quickly escape back. Likewise for getting into the town.

All in all a better than average hotel just not as good as we were led to believe but in a cracker of a location

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Letsallhaveadisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear jonrooke,

Thank you for sharing your review after your recent stay. We agree with your assessment that we have the preeminent position on Samui’s best beach. It’s one of the main reasons that guests return year after year.We're happy to hear that our location surpassed your expectations.

We also thank you for your candid estimation of our hotel’s stateliness. We understand that there is always room for improvement and appreciate you took the time to offer your view.

We wish all the best to you and your family. Happy New Year!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

As soon as our taxi pulled up to the Centara Grand, Koh Samui we were all in awe. The hotel is, in one word, breath-taking. Open plan lobby with panoramic views out to the swimming pool and ocean - it honestly is palatial. I adored this hotel.

The staff were fantastic, the rooms were great (all with balconies) and the breakfast was delicious.

The beach that Centara is located on is postcard perfect... white sand framed by picturesque cliffs and the crystal clear ocean. The swimming pool was also great - very unique layout and style, dotted with palm trees for shade.

Located in a prime spot in Chaweng, we were close to reggae bars, restaurants, shisha cafes, markets and excursion operators.

I honestly did not want for anything here - I have stayed at the Atlantis in Dubai and that is meant to be one of the most stunning hotels in the world, and I can honestly say that this tops it.

The gym is also very good, small, but everything you need is there.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zéna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Zena B,

Thank you for such a positive and sunny review. It’s clear that you had a wonderful and satisfying holiday.

We definitely appreciate your description of the hotel, beach and gardens. You really have given the readers of Trip Advisor a great picture of our resort and Chaweng beach area.

We do hope you make it back soon for another amazing holiday.

All the best to you and yours for a wonderful holiday season –Merry Christmas!

Warm regards,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

we've just return from 12 nights in Centara hotel. we are a family of five so we had two rooms with a connecting door. the rooms were big, comfortable and very clean. the hotel itself was beautiful, with amazing gardens, plenty of restaurants and a very nice beach. the satff was always welcoming.the breakfast was great with lots of choise . we tried many restaurants in other hotels near by, and i can only say that from what i've seen, our hotel was the best.

my only remark is about the bathroom : there is not enough ventilation ! there is a window but just for light since it is permanently closed. also they could change the toilet seat - it is time !

other than that, we had a really good time during our staying, and we recommend it to every one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meital k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Meital K.,


Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel following your recent stay. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the connecting rooms worked out well for your family.

Thank you for the suggestion on bathroom ventilation. We’ll certainly have a look at that.

We thank you also for the recommendation. Hopefully we will be able to welcome your family back again soon.

Best wishes for a very happy and healthy Festive season!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing