We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit in 1 bedroom suite villa but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice visit in 1 bedroom suite villa but.....”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our second visit to the Centara Grand and our 3rd visit to Koh Samui. As usual i had done alot of research and emailing to secure the best room that we like and the best rate.
We finally settled on the Centara grand as we were only staying for 7 days this time and we new that it was situated on one of the best parts of Chewang beach with no tidal problems.
We booked through a company called Sawadee.com and found them very helpful and easy to deal with over email, and the clincher for us was free rollaway bed,breakfast and club benefits for our 8 year old daughter.
We arrived into Koh Samui early as we took the Silk air flight from Singapore which getds in around 9.15am and quickly went thru customs and around to our waiting driver...15 minutes later we were at the reception area of the hotel.
As we had the Club benefits we were taken upstairs to the club rooms for check in. This was nice and relaxing with the usual check in routine for Asia. The helpful lady told us our room was being cleaned and would be ready in 1/2 hour and that we could have breakfast either at the club or downstairs at the big buffet spread, which was nice and appreciated by us, as we had our first chance to meet Meena from the club who was an absolute treasure throughout our stay!!
After a quick bite to eat we were shown to our room, it was just as expected with plenty of room for us and exactly the set out that we like for our room on holidays. The bedroom side was nice with a king bed and a nice table and drawers where a flat screen tv and dvd player was and some nice hanging space and open bath with seperate shoer and toilet areas, the bathroom area could be closed of with some sliding wooden doors for privacy. Thru to the loung area side there was a working desk with chair and phone and all usual offerings for work. A lounge that can also turn into 2 single beds was great as we used the bottom bed for our daughter and it could be slid under top bed/lounge during the day to keep it clean. This side also had its own bathroom with shower and toilet and hanging space and room to hide your luggage. It also had a dinning table and chairs, with a nice bowl of fresh fruit being delivered every day.
Cleaning the room was a bit hit and miss with cleans happening early some mornings and very late on other days which was a bit annoying for us as we like a clean room before 2.00pm when we usually returned from the beach/pool.
The Club was great and suited us down to the ground, we usually had the buffet breaky downstairs bit would head up the club at lunchtime to have a snack and a drink to cool down. We were always meet with a smile and the staff could not do enough for you, Banana, Meena, Pom and Lar are all a credit to the club and having a nice dring every day at 5.30 pm was a nice way to finish the day for us before heading out for dinner outside the hotel where there are plenty of places to eat and drink.
The pool and beach area are very nice with no problems with loungers for us but the hotel wasnt very busy at that stage. Our daughter went to the kids club alot and liked it, but we as adults felt that it needed to be a little more organised. My wife went to the gym a few times and was happy with the equipment and set up of area.
My wife had 2 spa treatments which seh came home raving about, but if it is busy or raining you have to book early.
Overall we had a good stay but we think that managemnt needs to start looking at putting some major money into the hotel and start to upgrade the rooms and certain areas of the hotel. It has such a nice spot on the island but with so many new boutique hotels popping up they could be left behind as there are so many savvy travellers out there now, so please management start to look at spending some major cash and up grade soon or you will be left behind with a great hotel that will slowly slip away in condition and stature.
Would be hard to stay whether we would return or nort but we enjoyed our little break and very much enjoyed the club benefits.

Room Tip: Club benefit rooms are well worth while and also top floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum_Dad_and_Zahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Mum_Dad_and Zahra,

Thank you for taking the time to present your detailed review following your recent stay with us.

It’s great to hear that you did your research before booking your holiday and that your family had a nice room at a fair price.

We’re glad you chose The Club option and that The Club team looked after you. Thank you for recognizing their service efforts.

We’re also gratified to discover that the pool, beach, spa, gym and kid’s club facilities met your expectations.

Last but not least, thank you for recommendation on upgrading the property. We do have a yearly plan in place which will address some of the areas that are commonly mentioned on this forum.

Thank you for your feedback and it’s great to know that we were able to assist in making your family vacation on Samui a memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    732
    215
    89
    54
See reviews for
666
1,179
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Fab hotel, everything you could want in the hotel, great spa, didn't use the pool, we stayed on the beach. Happy hour starts in sea breeze bar for 2hrs then moves upstairs to the lounge bar for 2 hours and it is two for the price of one. Be aware bars in Chaweng say happy hour but most are the same price as in the menu and they claim to be reduced rather than two for one. We stayed in superior ocean view room which was a little tired but very clean and bed is huge, larger than super king and very comfy. Great balcony for evening drinks. This is a busy, lively resort so not for those looking for peace and quiet as in Centara Krabi (fab resort). The only criticism I have is that you pay a lot of money to stay here and the hotel should section off or make it clear that the beach it is for residents. Lots of passers by we're helping themselves to the beds, brollies etc. beach is very busy, people walking up and down all day. Great for people watching. Had a fab stay, last night tomorrow. Boo hoo!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsClark57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear MrsClark57,

Thank you MrsClark for your fabulous review! You sound like you really had a fun (and relaxing) holiday. The advice you present in your review is sound and Trip Advisor readers should take note.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your spa treatments. Our Cenvaree spa always has great promotions and special new services that create a sense of well-being and relaxation. We believe daily massages are an essential part of a vacation on Thailand.

Your comment on outside guests attempting to access our facilities is well-noted. During the high tides of December-January we are one of the few resorts which still enjoy a nice, wide beach area. We currently have two sentinels patrolling the beach area and we’ll continue to improve our vigilance when it comes spotting outside guests and moving them along.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review and advice on Trip Advisor. We hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui (or Centara Krabi!) in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Expecting a relaxed, luxurious experience befitting the 4.5 star rating, my wife and I were bitterly disappointed.

The location is excellent, being in the centre of Chaweng Beach. The grounds are lovely but.....

We arrived at Cantara Grand on 21st November 2013. Upon arrival, it took almost half an hour to complete the check in process upon which we were taken to our Deluxe Ocean Facing Room sold as suitable for parents with a baby. The room was tiny, had 2 x queen beds pushed together and then on request, had a cot jammed in the corner with no space left to move.

The website says the resort has been renovated but in reality it is run down, tired and old. The paint was peeling & flaking, furniture dented and scratched, the bathrooms were dirty with mould and soap scum evident. It was raining hard the night we arrived and there were towels were laid out along the glass doors to stop water seeping through the seals and even that was not enough to stop the water spreading throughout. The mould and musty smell was unpleasant.

Immediately we discussed our disappointment with the front desk and management who offered us an upgrade to a Deluxe Pool Suite however, with a walking toddler that could not swim, decided against the upgrade. Agreement was reached with the front desk and duty manager that we would pay just one nights accommodation and leave the following day. On check out, we were promised a refund to my Amex of the pre-paid nights totalling 25,068 Baht which was not processed instantly as the credit card machines were down. We are still waiting for the refund almost 2 months later.

In summary, awesome location, nice gardens however the resort is old, run down, poorly maintained, offers slow and poor service. It is at best a 3 star standard. I would not recommend this hotel if a viable alternative is available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Cameron H.,

Thank you for your feedback including the description of your experience during your family’s abbreviated November stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We have investigated the facts and discovered that, due to an administrative error, your reimbursement was not handled in a timely manner

I can personally assure that the process has now been completed and your account has been credited.

We are very sorry that your family was given such a poor first impression and we do hope that your opinion is no irretrievably tarnished.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

In markets located in Thailand beach resort you always hear the comment "same same...but different". This is true for what is our third family visit in as many years. Good value for money. suitable accommodation, adequate breakfast and good location. Service in these three years remains unchanged and most staff do ok. The new manager Hester certainly tries to improve standards on offer and is seen all the time all over checking that staff are attending to guest requirements. Avoid the first persons on right of the hotel on the beach renting wetbikes and offering ski rides. They are a rip and rather walk an extra 200 metres to the next same same outfit and pay 20% less without even bargaining. For beachtime refreshments Pierre plonks himself each year in front of the hotel on the beach offering delicious corn on the cob , fruit and cold drinks to keep you going through the day while Dawn just right of the hotel on the beach will give you a great massage while you relax with the sound of the waves. Rooms standard is ok but the room cleaning seems to get going late on some days. Location on the Chaweng beach and shop strip is good. If in need a a good cuppa and sandwich then visit the deli on the street side of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Jeff1996,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review and advice on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your loyalty to our resort and for the fact you have returned again and again. We’re also appreciative of your kind comments on our staff and services. Hester is particularly tireless and a real team leader-thank you for recognizing her efforts.

We’re glad you mentioned the beach rentals. To be perfectly honest we never advocate guests hiring the motorized watersports available on the beach precisely because there are too many rip-offs associated with them, predominantly with jet skis. Please Google ‘Thailand Jet Ski Scam’ for more information on this situation.

Jeff1996, thank you again for your feedback and guidance to other Trip Advisor readers. We hope that we will see you and the rest of our South African friends again next year.

All the best,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This resort seems to be one of the oldest in Koh Samui and occupies a prime location on Samui’s most popular Chaweng beach. I believe it is one of the biggest resorts on the island, a part of the Centara chain from South East Asia. Being a bit dated, its facilities are not the most modern but they have recently refurbished the property and amenities are luxurious nevertheless. The resort offers numerous, good quality facilities like a very large outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, several and activities to keep kids entertained. The rooms are spacious and most of them have a sea facing view, however the 100 metre distance from the resort building to the beach with palm/coconut trees means that the view is not exactly mindblowing. Reaching the hotel is very easy by using the shared taxi service from the airport, everyone knows it. Several restaurants (with one right on the beach, perfect for a romantic sunset dinner and a scrumptious breakfast which spoils you with choices), good service and a nice overall ambience make it a good safe bet for a relaxed holiday compared to several other, cheaper options. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Sid1206,

Greetings to our friends in Mumbai!

Thank you taking the time to offer your descriptive review and solid recommendation following your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our facilities are received with great pleasure. You really do have a great way of explaining the surroundings and what guests will experience during a holiday here.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we were very impressed. The manager sits you down & gives you a welcome drink & cool towel. Immediately we felt relaxed & genuinely looked after. After check in they take you to your room & let you know where to find things etc.
We just booked the lead in ocean view room & even this room is very impressive. As you can imagine ocean views & partial pool views.
The pool is amazing & is just off the beach which is nice to swim in as well. There are heaps of lounge chairs as well so no need to get up early to claim seats. They offer pool towels which you need a card for (make sure you don't loose this or you get charged for them).
We had breakfast included which was great they have the westerns style buffet which also includes Asian options as well we were very impressed with the breakfast.
The property is very secure, they have a guard at the front who only lets in legitimate people. It is abit of a walk to the main part of Chaweng about 15mins to the bigger bars etc, however all the way along the Main Street are restaurants & shops (it does get annoying as every shop owner wants you to come into their shop or restaurant, but if you politely say no then they leave you alone). Another thing you will notice is trucks going up & down promoting Muay Thai & bars - we were going abit crazy as you can hear them everywhere, they even get on boats & go up & down the beach all day haha! The only time it's quiet is the day after a fight night. We found ourselves walking up & down the street most nights to walk off our meals.
Definitely have your massages outside the hotel - they are ALOT cheaper & just as good :)

If you are willing to spend a bit extra on your hotel definitely I would recommend this property it is amazing!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank M0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear MOppy,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We’re pleased to learn that your stay was relaxed and care-free.

We smiled at your mention of the Muay Thai Boxing trucks / boats. Its true that after you stay on Samui a few days you know the promotion script by heart…tonight, tonight…

Still, for most of the day the only noise is the waves and the rustling of the palms in the sea breeze so we hope that the boxing Thai ads didn’t put you off too much.

It’s a good strategy that you recommend –strolling down the beach road to walk off your meals. We like to walk on the street going out and walk back on the beach as it’s cooler and so pretty at night.

Your other bits of advice are sound as well and beneficial for the readers of Trip Advisor. Thanks again for taking the time to write up such a complete guide for other travelers.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.


All the Best,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We love Thailand and Koha Samui specially, travel every year and can't seem to get enough of it. We arrived at Centara Grand on April and had a wonderful stay of 5 nights, nice with a welcome drink and we were pampered and taken care inmediatelly after arrival. Great pool, super pretty and calm beach, perfect for small kids, thou there are a lot of dogs around, apparently the hotel near by is abandoned and has some people that guard it and lots of dogs, so not so good idea to walk down that area, we hired (free) canoes and paddled around instead, it is really calm and pretty out there, our 10 year old loved it. The restaurant in the hotel is pretty good, breakfast was a blast..so yummy! and the pools are great. They have a child friendly with great views and a wonderful one at the beach.
The bedroom was roomy and fresh, beautiful and clean, with tons of storage possibilities, amenities in the bathroom everyday and very very friendly personal, they are a little bit far away from other restaurants and stuff so they offer a very cheap shuttle service that works wonders to get to Lamai.. really smart! Take is on the night and get to Lamai food court very close to where the shuttle bus stops and get some great food and do some smart shopping there, lamai is cheaper than Chaweng.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniMagnusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear MoniMagnusson,

Sunny Samui Greetings to our friends in Sweden!

On behalf of the management team, we’d like thank to you for taking the time to offer your comprehensive review following your recent visit to Samui.

It sounds as though your family really got out and about. We love to hear about our guest’s explorations.

We are happy to hear that your 10 year old had a special holiday time too.

If you decide to come back in April again make sure to join us for Song Kran Festival (Thai New Year) its one of the highlights of the year here.


Kind Regards,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing