We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so grand” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so grand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have just returned from a holiday to the centara grand in samui. What did we find. In general an untidy and unkept hotel. On our arrival we thought the reception area was outstanding and was looking forward to our room, what a disappointment. Bathrooms are in a very bad state, broken toilet seat, mould everywhere in shower, filthy and broken tiles, not at all what I expected for a hotel which itself states is a 5 star. Outside in the grounds it seemed that nobody cleared away things left by former guests, while I appreciate that it's nice of people to leave kids toys etc by the pool when they go home to have dirty slippers laying around for days is not. sun beds are the old plastic variety murder on your back and the breakfasts while adequate you had a tough time finding clean plates,bowls etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Jane M.,

Welcome to Trip Advisor. We are flattered to be the topic of your first review, but disappointed that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of your room. We have certainly taken your comments on board.

Additionally, we have taken note of your notes regarding the tidiness of the pool area.

To clarify for Trip Advisor readers –the sun loungers poolside are Baillu brand, imported from Spain. They are universally recognized as one of the top performers in terms of comfort and style. The frame is synthetic polypropylene resin with a sling of breathable polyester. This model is the choice of many top resorts in the world.

Jane M., apart from the points that you rightfully mentioned, we hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui in the future.


Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,166
    712
    208
    81
    51
See reviews for
634
1,128
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Perfect Beach - The long stretch of beach is perfect! Just Beautiful. Our family consisting of 2 girls aged 2 and 4 totally enjoy the beach. Water was a tad choppy in Dec but that was fine as we did our swimming in the pool.

Great Pools - Actually we only used the kids pool and it was great they have one. There are few other inviting pools with coconut trees providing shades and that resort-feel.

Kids Club Activities - A highlight for our girls. They enjoyed balloon sculptures, necklace making, fan painting, flower garland making. The indoor and outdoor playgrounds also added some variety to our days there.

The Club - it's comfortable to have an air-conditioned lounge providing food and drinks almost throughout the day. We had our lunches there (fruits, salads and sandwich), afternoon pastries and evening drinks. Warning: does not come cheap.


Cons -
Restaurants are so-so although I find a breakfast variety sufficient. Room service food quality was not below expectations.

Staff Training. Whilst there were some really exceptional staff esp. those at "The Club", most other staff can use a bit more smile and sunshine. Surprised that was the case given Thailand is the "Land of Smiles"

Noise - There's audible music coming from adjacent party-joints till 2am every night.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing except for the pool suites. I stayed on 4th floor main building beside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaw Ming Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Chaw Ming Q,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you felt well looked after and your family had a magnificent time with us.

We’re so pleased that the Kid’s Club activities were a highlight for your girls.

Taking a break in the afternoons to cool off in The Club is a very good strategy. We’re glad that option worked out well for you.

We also appreciate to hear how we can improve so we’ll certainly revisit our room service standards and presentation.

Likewise, you’re so right about The Land of Smiles. We’re aiming for a guest experience based on genuine Thai hospitality so we appreciate the importance of cheerful associates.

Chaw Ming Q, thank you again for your observations. We hope your family makes the short return trip from Singapore to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kivik, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel COULD be so good. They have the buildings location and the grounds. But they really need to sharpen up to get that five star feel.
GOOD:
location right on the beautiful beach,
very nice pool area that felt clean,
lovely grounds,
nice main building,
washing service was superb
The staff in the club area was really helpful
Nice beach massage area.

NOT good:
Beds are very hard- we didn't get any sleep even though the staff put several duvets on to soften it,
the breakfast was very messy and felt like a Butlins camp. Not lush at all, cordial juices,
food was at best ok. Their thaifood was not crisp or fragrant,
was shocked to see that the staff from the children's club left the children alone in the club room,
the house keeping didn't clean the room until lunch time. I like it cleaned during breakfast.
We didn't find Chaweng very charming
Whit out good sleep and food its not a real holiday we think.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank innagaddadavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear innagadddavidda,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed, yet succinct account of your experience in our resort and we are of course happy to learn that we have left you with a generally positive impression.

We’re so pleased that your family enjoyed the grounds, beach and pool. The Club team will be gratified to once again be recognized for their service. Thank you.

We’re sorry you found the bed in your room too hard. We do have an over-mattress that we could prepare should you choose to stay with us again. We think that might be sufficient to make the bed feel softer and more comfy.

We’re saddened to see our breakfast offering referenced to a Butlin’s camp…particularly when we Googled, ‘Butlin’s Camp.’

In fact, we offer separate breakfast venues when we are experiencing higher occupancy. The lovely seaside location of our Spice Island restaurant is quiet, uncrowded and is open from 0830 -1030. We frequently have guests tell us that their best mornings with us are spent there lingering over coffee and sea breezes.

We’ve reviewed the standard for supervision for the children’s club in the event one staff member is called to leave the club room to take a child to the restroom. We agree children should not be left unattended.

Our Housekeeping generally cleans rooms systematically, but we’re always willing to try to accommodate requests for express cleaning especially when families with young children are concerned.

We believe that Chaweng Beach and in particular Chaweng Beach Road has a considerable power to charm. We also recognize that that power to charm can be lost quickly if one is not in the mood for the hustle and bustle. Any additional comment on this would be superfluous.

Apart from the points that you rightfully mentioned, we hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui in the future.


Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The property is in a good location if you are keen on staying in Chaweng, but it felt a bit tired and run down. The pool is nice and the beach is pretty good, but the resort itself needs a bit of work. Hotel rooms were very dated. We stayed for 5 nights over New Years - the highlight was the NYE gala dinner which was good fun. Breakfasts were good and the lunch time food available in the resort was pretty good value - the green curry I had at the restaurant on the beach was one of the best I've had in Thailand! I don't think we'll go back - better options elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Adam L.,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui. We truly value the observations you took the time to share with us.

We’re happy to hear that you found the green curry at our Seabreeze restaurant irresistible. Next time try our Tom Yum soup with prawns. You’ll be glad you did!

We’re delighted we helped you start off the New Year with a bang at our Gala Dinner.

Your complimentary remarks on the pool and beach are also appreciated.

The comments related to the rating you selected are well-noted by management and owners alike. Thank you.

We look forward to our next opportunity to provide you with another memorable Centara experience.

All the Best for 2014!

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our second visit to the Centara Grand and our 3rd visit to Koh Samui. As usual i had done alot of research and emailing to secure the best room that we like and the best rate.
We finally settled on the Centara grand as we were only staying for 7 days this time and we new that it was situated on one of the best parts of Chewang beach with no tidal problems.
We booked through a company called Sawadee.com and found them very helpful and easy to deal with over email, and the clincher for us was free rollaway bed,breakfast and club benefits for our 8 year old daughter.
We arrived into Koh Samui early as we took the Silk air flight from Singapore which getds in around 9.15am and quickly went thru customs and around to our waiting driver...15 minutes later we were at the reception area of the hotel.
As we had the Club benefits we were taken upstairs to the club rooms for check in. This was nice and relaxing with the usual check in routine for Asia. The helpful lady told us our room was being cleaned and would be ready in 1/2 hour and that we could have breakfast either at the club or downstairs at the big buffet spread, which was nice and appreciated by us, as we had our first chance to meet Meena from the club who was an absolute treasure throughout our stay!!
After a quick bite to eat we were shown to our room, it was just as expected with plenty of room for us and exactly the set out that we like for our room on holidays. The bedroom side was nice with a king bed and a nice table and drawers where a flat screen tv and dvd player was and some nice hanging space and open bath with seperate shoer and toilet areas, the bathroom area could be closed of with some sliding wooden doors for privacy. Thru to the loung area side there was a working desk with chair and phone and all usual offerings for work. A lounge that can also turn into 2 single beds was great as we used the bottom bed for our daughter and it could be slid under top bed/lounge during the day to keep it clean. This side also had its own bathroom with shower and toilet and hanging space and room to hide your luggage. It also had a dinning table and chairs, with a nice bowl of fresh fruit being delivered every day.
Cleaning the room was a bit hit and miss with cleans happening early some mornings and very late on other days which was a bit annoying for us as we like a clean room before 2.00pm when we usually returned from the beach/pool.
The Club was great and suited us down to the ground, we usually had the buffet breaky downstairs bit would head up the club at lunchtime to have a snack and a drink to cool down. We were always meet with a smile and the staff could not do enough for you, Banana, Meena, Pom and Lar are all a credit to the club and having a nice dring every day at 5.30 pm was a nice way to finish the day for us before heading out for dinner outside the hotel where there are plenty of places to eat and drink.
The pool and beach area are very nice with no problems with loungers for us but the hotel wasnt very busy at that stage. Our daughter went to the kids club alot and liked it, but we as adults felt that it needed to be a little more organised. My wife went to the gym a few times and was happy with the equipment and set up of area.
My wife had 2 spa treatments which seh came home raving about, but if it is busy or raining you have to book early.
Overall we had a good stay but we think that managemnt needs to start looking at putting some major money into the hotel and start to upgrade the rooms and certain areas of the hotel. It has such a nice spot on the island but with so many new boutique hotels popping up they could be left behind as there are so many savvy travellers out there now, so please management start to look at spending some major cash and up grade soon or you will be left behind with a great hotel that will slowly slip away in condition and stature.
Would be hard to stay whether we would return or nort but we enjoyed our little break and very much enjoyed the club benefits.

Room Tip: Club benefit rooms are well worth while and also top floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum_Dad_and_Zahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Mum_Dad_and Zahra,

Thank you for taking the time to present your detailed review following your recent stay with us.

It’s great to hear that you did your research before booking your holiday and that your family had a nice room at a fair price.

We’re glad you chose The Club option and that The Club team looked after you. Thank you for recognizing their service efforts.

We’re also gratified to discover that the pool, beach, spa, gym and kid’s club facilities met your expectations.

Last but not least, thank you for recommendation on upgrading the property. We do have a yearly plan in place which will address some of the areas that are commonly mentioned on this forum.

Thank you for your feedback and it’s great to know that we were able to assist in making your family vacation on Samui a memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Fab hotel, everything you could want in the hotel, great spa, didn't use the pool, we stayed on the beach. Happy hour starts in sea breeze bar for 2hrs then moves upstairs to the lounge bar for 2 hours and it is two for the price of one. Be aware bars in Chaweng say happy hour but most are the same price as in the menu and they claim to be reduced rather than two for one. We stayed in superior ocean view room which was a little tired but very clean and bed is huge, larger than super king and very comfy. Great balcony for evening drinks. This is a busy, lively resort so not for those looking for peace and quiet as in Centara Krabi (fab resort). The only criticism I have is that you pay a lot of money to stay here and the hotel should section off or make it clear that the beach it is for residents. Lots of passers by we're helping themselves to the beds, brollies etc. beach is very busy, people walking up and down all day. Great for people watching. Had a fab stay, last night tomorrow. Boo hoo!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsClark57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear MrsClark57,

Thank you MrsClark for your fabulous review! You sound like you really had a fun (and relaxing) holiday. The advice you present in your review is sound and Trip Advisor readers should take note.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your spa treatments. Our Cenvaree spa always has great promotions and special new services that create a sense of well-being and relaxation. We believe daily massages are an essential part of a vacation on Thailand.

Your comment on outside guests attempting to access our facilities is well-noted. During the high tides of December-January we are one of the few resorts which still enjoy a nice, wide beach area. We currently have two sentinels patrolling the beach area and we’ll continue to improve our vigilance when it comes spotting outside guests and moving them along.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review and advice on Trip Advisor. We hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui (or Centara Krabi!) in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Expecting a relaxed, luxurious experience befitting the 4.5 star rating, my wife and I were bitterly disappointed.

The location is excellent, being in the centre of Chaweng Beach. The grounds are lovely but.....

We arrived at Cantara Grand on 21st November 2013. Upon arrival, it took almost half an hour to complete the check in process upon which we were taken to our Deluxe Ocean Facing Room sold as suitable for parents with a baby. The room was tiny, had 2 x queen beds pushed together and then on request, had a cot jammed in the corner with no space left to move.

The website says the resort has been renovated but in reality it is run down, tired and old. The paint was peeling & flaking, furniture dented and scratched, the bathrooms were dirty with mould and soap scum evident. It was raining hard the night we arrived and there were towels were laid out along the glass doors to stop water seeping through the seals and even that was not enough to stop the water spreading throughout. The mould and musty smell was unpleasant.

Immediately we discussed our disappointment with the front desk and management who offered us an upgrade to a Deluxe Pool Suite however, with a walking toddler that could not swim, decided against the upgrade. Agreement was reached with the front desk and duty manager that we would pay just one nights accommodation and leave the following day. On check out, we were promised a refund to my Amex of the pre-paid nights totalling 25,068 Baht which was not processed instantly as the credit card machines were down. We are still waiting for the refund almost 2 months later.

In summary, awesome location, nice gardens however the resort is old, run down, poorly maintained, offers slow and poor service. It is at best a 3 star standard. I would not recommend this hotel if a viable alternative is available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Cameron H.,

Thank you for your feedback including the description of your experience during your family’s abbreviated November stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We have investigated the facts and discovered that, due to an administrative error, your reimbursement was not handled in a timely manner

I can personally assure that the process has now been completed and your account has been credited.

We are very sorry that your family was given such a poor first impression and we do hope that your opinion is no irretrievably tarnished.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing