We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you are expecting a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed. We had just left Centara Grand in Hua Hin and expected the same standard. Reception staff - it must be said were poor. Did not explain room facilities or offers available at the hotel. Our room on arrival had not been properly prepared, the bed linen was damp and smelled foisty as did the whole room. To be fair we complained and the bed linen was replaced immediately and the room freshened, however, this should not have happened. Main breakfast area is like a 2 star canteen but if you avoid this and take breakfast at Spice Island situated right on the beach it is wonderful and the staff are warm and friendly. Generally we found the staff inadequately trained, this is probably due to senior management cutbacks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedsue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Jedsue 11,


We’re delighted to learn that you had such a glorious experience at our sister hotel in Hua Hin.

We are concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction. In fact, we are particularly troubled that your review repeats practically verbatim a review we received at the end of March. Clearly there are some issues here that necessitate closer examination.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we do hope that will visit us (or our friends in Hua Hin) again in the future.

Warm Regards

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,342
    786
    222
    91
    55
See reviews for
747
1,252
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wright5
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in March for my XXth birthday, the rooms were lovely maybe a bit tired but nothing to moan about, we were greeted and booked in by Banana from the Club rooms who made us welcome, and showed us that there were mosquito burners in the room as I had been bitten in our previous resort (Phuket). The breakfast was extensive something for everyone, some que at the egg station but they did there best.
Staff were all so friendly and polite especially the staff in The Club, the guys by the pool will fetch you sunbeds tables and parasols to your desired location which is a lovely change from Europe.
The hotel is a the far end of Cheweng so we often chose to get a ride to the busy end rather than walking which was not much money, they have a great transport service in shared taxi's (sorry cant remember the name for them).
We hired a taxi for 4 hrs for about £40 and the driver was lovely and took us to all the tourist attractions and this enabled us to stay for as long as we liked rather than waiting on other people on an organised trip.
For my birthday my husband arranged a very romantic meal for two in the beautiful pagoda in the grounds of the hotel ,which was amazing, the food was the best we have ever tasted and the pagoda was decorated beautifully and we had our own waiter who was lovely
We had Club facilities and each afternoon enjoyed afternoon tea and cakes and evening cocktails and canepes which made our holiday special all the staff in Club were amazing.
Free wifi is great to have
The location right in front of the beach is wonderful and allowed us to view the beach without being harassed to buy stuff from traders on the beach, security staff made sure no one came onto hotel grounds.
All in all it was brilliant, loved our whole stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants a lovely hotel in a quieter end of Cheweng beach but with easy access to the busy bit.

Room Tip: We were in room 712 and it was looking over the gardens which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrighty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Wrighty5,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay and celebration of your XX birthday! We’re pleased that Banana and The Club team took such good care of you. That kind of attention to detail and genuine hospitality are what The Club is all about.

The candlelight dinner in the Sala by the Sea sounds like it was a very special evening. We’re delighted that it was such a success.

It’s great to hear that you did some exploring using ‘songtaews’. That’s what we call the pick up trucks with the benches in the back. They are a great way to get around as long as you bargain the price up front.

Thank you for mentioning the beach and security. We have a full-time security team patrolling the beach. Additionally, there is a long-standing agreement that the beach vendors may not approach guests. Of course, if our guest is interested in whatever wares the vendor is selling he/she may approach the guest to make a presentation. Still, the guest must initiate the process.

We’re happy that you had such an enjoyable stay and shared that experience with Trip Advisor readers.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we do hope that will visit us again in the future.

Regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We have just enjoyed our fifth stay at the Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui so obviously we quite like it! Once again from warm welcome to warm departure the hotel excelled and met the high expectations we have here. Whilst rooms are somewhat dated compared to more modern hotels, the setting and service more than compensate.
Our allocated Premium Deluxe room we felt a bit small so chose to pay a bit more and upgrade to a Deluxe Pool Suite which was a lot more spacious with the luxury of a very good sized plunge pool to relax in at the end of the day. Kun on reception was most helpful. For us the bulk of the day though has to be spent on the glorious beach - surely one of the best beaches in the world. And if by chance you don't fancy the beach, then laze in the superbly maintained pool and garden areas.
Whilst there the management went out of their way to ensure our fifth stay was no less memorable than our previous four .... and hopefully our sixth, as, all being well, we'll definitely be going back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AllRoverTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear All RovertheWorld,

Many thanks for choosing Centara for your fifth stay and for sharing your positive review afterwards.

We’re glad that the Pool Suite met your needs. That plunge pool is especially nice now that we’re in the peak of Hot season!

Your special mention of Kun on the Front Desk is also much appreciated.

We do hope that ‘All being well’ you do visit us again when the next opportunity presents itself.

Until then –all the best,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed at the Centara for the second time,same standard of excellence.The bed in our room was huge,plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for your clothes,seats on balcony with view over garden, great for that drink after coming back from the beach, prior to getting ready to going out for the evening We already miss those breakfasts we had which were excellent, lots of choices for everybody, no problem getting a table in the Palm Restaurant although we did find our table cleared once when we came back with our food, because the couple on the next table thought we had forgotten our glass cases and handed them in,but that was soon sorted out.Loved Happy Hour at the Breeze Bar,with a drink and snack looking out over the beach.Lots of bar and food places outside the hotel ,food stalls and market stall down Walking Street,Happy Night Bar just across the road for drinks only.Cant praise the staff enough,or the hotel.Thankyou hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueashleyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear SueAshleyAllen,

Well, you said it! Thank you for all the positive comments and praise for our staff. Your observations are very encouraging.

We’re delighted that you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel and all our facilities.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards.

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just returned from a ten night holiday in this resort. We loved the large and open garden areas. The beach area of the hotel us just beautiful. Breakfast offered many choices including a noodle bar, pancake bar and eggs done to order. The only issue we ever had, and only on some of get days, was trying to get a tea or coffee refill........minor problem really.
The food in the restaurants was good value and delicious. We loved the Deli attached to the hotel. The coffee was great and the lovely staff who work there are so helpful and charming.
My favourite staff member was the security man on the front gate. He had a beaming smile everyday when I went out to visit the nearby shops.
The hotel surprised me with a cake in our room on the day of my birthday, which was was really appreciated.
We had a pool suite that was very private. It suited us but some people may not like the fact that these rooms have no view. Many of the other room styles have lovely views over the sea. We enjoyed the private aspect though and the beach and sun chairs were all close to our room if we wanted to take in the views.
The standard of the toiletries was very high, in fact the best I've seen.
Over-all, we loved our stay there and have come back to the real world fully relaxed and already planning the next visit to this lovely place. Small warning.....we booked with hotel but it would have been cheaper to book through a booking website.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Carolyn A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.
We love that you mentioned the Security man at the gate. In some ways he has a very difficult job-standing out in the heat with out much to break up the day, but he certainly has a positive outlook and makes the best out of it. We’ll let him know that he’s gaining notoriety for his cheerful outlook.
Your review contains a number of valuable points and it will be very useful to fellow travelers.
We do hope you enjoyed your stay (and the birthday cake!) so much that you’ll come back to see us again. Maybe for your next celebration…

Kind regards.

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I did not chose to stay here as we have previously stayed at the Centara at Karon Beach and hated it. This time we stayed purely because my mother-in-law booked it as stopover on her return to the UK from Australia and we were meeting her and my father-in-law. Our expectations were therefore low from the outset however we were really pleased with what we found.

On arrival we were greeted with a cool towel and cold drink whilst the check-in process was completed. The reception area is very open but pleasantly decorated. Lara who checked us in was very helpful and showed us to our room. We had booked a pool deluxe suite which was situated by the Health Club.

Lara showed us personally to the room. We were offered club rates at a premium but decided not to pay for these as they provided little benefit on top of the room we were in. We did however take advantage of the Baht Bonanza. To encourage you to eat and drink at the Hotel the Hotel offer a scheme whereby if you deposit a sum of money within the first 24 hours they will give you extra Baht to spend in resort. This is worth asking for the details we deposited 20,000 Baht (approximately £400GBP) and got an additional 7000 Baht (approximately £70GBP to spend). Worth it if you intend to use the Hotel bars, restaurants and spa,

Anyway back to the room. It was spacious and clean. The rooms are a tad tired but this is also because of the climate. The toiletries in our room were great and the hairdryer good enough that I did not unpack my travel one. Free mineral water is topped up twice daily and we had a turn down every evening.

The resort does suffer with mosquitoes and I got badly bitten (40 bites!). Lara however had the room sprayed for us and recommended a pharmacist across the road opposite the Hotel. Most days the Hotel then sprayed the room for us.

The location of the Hotel is great, right on the beach. We did find that loungers were reserved with towels early in the morning but always managed to find four together.

The drinks are more expensive in the Hotel than in the local restaurants and bars as you would expect but you can follow Happy Hour around from one Hotel bar to the next if you so wish from 3pm in the afternoon until 11 pm in the evening (drinks are then buy one get one free). You can also buy singha, chang or soft drinks from the guys on the beach for 70 baht per beer if you want to.

Breakfast is served in 2 restaurants. We ate each day in Spice Island which is much quieter and overlooks the beach. The selection is the same but the staff here are friendly and it is more relaxed than the queues we observed in the other restaurant.

I had a massage at the spa which was sublime! The staff were lovely and really friendly and I had free use of the steam room first. I would recommend. However if you want an authentic foot massage if you go otu of the hotel across the road there is a salon called My Friend. It was great, I paid 250 baht (approx £5 GBP) for a 1 hour foot and neck massage.

The beach is fantastic here as well but it is advisable to pay heed to the warnings with regards to the surf. Whilst here we saw a swimmer get into serious trouble. The Hotel were excellent they have a security guard watching the beach and he called for the local guys on jet-ski's who rescued the guest. This was on a yellow flag but it quickly changed to red. That said I am not a strong swimmer and on the green flag went into the sea with my husband and loved it. The water is clear and warm you just need to take care.

We loved our stay at this hotel and did not want to leave after 10 nights, I am sure we will return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in 106 which was a pool room. They are quite enclosed but we loved having our own pool in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HollyBramble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear HollyBramble1,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay. We’re delighted to learn that you were pleasantly surprised.

Thank you for commenting on the amenities. We believe Harnn products are among the best quality we have sourced and we’re very pleased with the feedback from guests as well.

It’s great that you took advantage of Baht Bonanza and Happy Hours. Those are two easy ways to get more value for money.

Thank you again for putting together such a complete review for the Trip Advisor forum.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just arrived home from a great stay at Centara from 21 March to 1 April.

I wish I could give this hotel 4.5 stars as everything was perfect except for check in, check out and a mix up with our room. Other than that 100% perfect!

We arrived late on Friday night and was disappointed that it took about 30 mins to check in - this is the longest check in I have ever experienced. We had been travelling for about 14 hours at this stage and just wanted to sleep but regardless they were very friendly.

Our room was lovely we stayed in 118, it was a far walk from reception tucked away behind the side but still a decent enough view of the beach. However I booked a premier room as I wanted an awesome beach view and good location as he had our 3 year old with us and didn't want her to have to walk far to everything. But that late at night - I couldn't be bothered saying anything.

When I did eventually say something - a few days later mind you - I was told it was there mistake and offered a credit which I accepted. Don't get me wrong the room was lovely - but I wanted more and was disappointed we didn't get this during our stay but was happy they credited us the difference.

The rooms here are great - big bed with great draw space to put your things away and great size bathroom. Big balcony with 2 large chairs for lazying about.

The grounds are immaculate so beautiful, lovely to walk around. They have a great area for kids with a small playground and area for soccer. There is a kids club - not that great - I certainly wouldn't leave my daughter there - but great for a bit of indoor play from time to time.

They served the most amazing breakfast every morning - there is nothing I could have wanted for. We pigged out every morning eating eggs, toast, bacon, cereal, pastries, juice yum!! Huge selection, probably the best I have ever seen.

The pool area is to die for! 2 large pools looking over the beach, heaps of pool lounges placed around the pool and on the beach. We spent most of our time here playing around. The staff here are so friendly, always playing around with our daughter and giving her little treats etc.

The beach is also beautiful here. Coming from Queensland Australia I am spoiled for gorgeous beaches - but this beach is certainly up there. Beautiful powder white sand and warm ocean - gorgeous.

The location of the hotel is perfect for us. Heaps of cafes and shops right out the front of the hotel or on the beach, no need for walking far. However if you walk about 20 mins you are right in the hustle and bustle of Chaweng also. We often walked along the beach - much quicker than the street and then walked down the street home. Or you can catch a songthew for pretty cheap if you don't want to walk. But as I said you can just wait outside the hotel and everything you need is right there.

On check out the credit was not on our bill which was disappointing, but after a few queries this was sorted out. Check out did once again take a while, but again everyone was very friendly.

Highly recommend this hotel, this is my 2nd time staying here and I loved it as much this time as last time. I am sure if I come back to Koh Samui we will stay here. But I was disappointed with the long check in and check out and the mix up with our room.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room in the centre buidlings like 3 or 5 - 4 is the lobby. I think something in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Makiely,

Thank you for sharing your comprehensive review. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced related to your check-in / out.

We’re happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and made the most of it.

Thank you also for the positive outlook on the grounds and the beach. As you say, coming from Queensland you are spoiled for choice when it comes to great beaches.

Speaking of –we noticed that you’ve got an intense tropical storm headed your way-all the best to you and your family and stay safe.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,819 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing