We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big 50”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the centara grand beach resort in may for 7 nights. I thought 7 nights would be enough time to experience samui and also have somd well earned rest but we should hhave stayed longer. The resort was amazing with a fantastic clean Beach. Prices in the resorg were really good. The rooms were comfortable and clean.shopping, massage, restaurants were straight outside the gate. Fantastic .we will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wishingalbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Wishingalbury,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review…and congratulations on reaching the Big 50 milestone!
We’re delighted that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the resort facilities. We thank you for mentioning that you plan to return and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Overall our experience was varied. Did not start off on a great foot with the check in lady being rather rude. Partner was extremely unwell (tummy bug) and we arrived at the hotel at 9.45am but were told we could not have our room until 2pm. We understand this is normal policy so asked if we could have any room just so he could rest but were told no. A little frustrating but still understandable. We did however return at 1.50pm and were still told we had to wait the 10minutes even though our key was sitting on the desk ready to go. We would not let this ruin our holiday!
Room was great, nice view and rather big. Ocean facing was lovely. Only thing was the air-con kept breaking which was again frustrating in 36oc heat.
Resort facilities are nice, the pools are big and the beach is a great spot for swimming. Plenty of pool chairs everywhere!
Food from the resort was also fine, we ordered room service a few times and it was all good. The buffet breakfast was fantastic. We would recomemend getting it. Plenty of variety and enough to fill you up until an early dinner.
Our two favourtie staff were: Pat at the service desk, so lovely amnd helpful and our room cleaner (not too sure of her name but she was such a sweet and lovely young lady)

Resort is centally located on the main road. Very easy access to everything around. Make sure you go walking up past the 'Festival' shopping centre. Much more night life up that end with bars and clubs plus a lot more restaurants.

Overall we had a lovely time in Samui. Not 100% sure we would stay again but despite the few small things quite happy.

Room Tip: 315 was a great room. It was just the standard ocean facing room. Located very close to the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Christie P.,

Thank you for sharing your review after your recent stay. It is unfortunate that your partner fell ill and your initial experience with us did not meet your expectations.

As a matter of course we explain to guests who book directly to the resort the check-in and check-out times. It appears that information was not shared with you by your travel agent. We apologize on their behalf. Also, during your stay we experienced a period with very high occupancy which made it logistically impossible to provide rooms earlier than the 2 p.m. check-in or later than the noon check-out.

Still, we should have offered you option to shower, get changed and found you a sunlounger in the shade to doze peacefully until the room was ready.

We are glad to learn that you liked your room. We do apologize for the inconsistencies with the A/C. This was due in part to a upgrade program the local electricity authority is going through. Each time the municipal power is shut off (power outage) it requires recalibration for our chiller system. We are in the process of finding a solution for this challenge.

We’re pleased that you found the restaurants to your liking.

Thank you for the kind comments on our staff members, Pat in the Reception and Poo, your room attendant. They were both quite proud of the recognition and your review was shared with the entire team.

We understand that you may now consider other options should you return to Samui, but we do hope that the positive aspects of your stay will convince you to come back.

Kind Regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We first stayed at the hotel in September 2011 on our honeymoon and loved it then. We stayed in a pool suite and whilst we found the room a little dark and a bit dated ( in a very colonial fashion), we love the hotel overall. It's location is perfect. You are at the quieter end of chaweng Beach so whilst there is an abundance of shops, spas, bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity, a brisk ten minute walk or a couple of minutes in a taxi and you are in the heart of the action! We go on holiday to relax and be pampered and the hotel was outstanding in this respect. Beautiful gardens, a large pool that never seems overly crowded, a fantastic spa, great restaurants and all on top of a picture postcard beach. The spa is, as you would expect significantly more expensive than the many spas all along the beach road but in my opinion, is well worth the splurge every few days. They make you feel like a VIP and the treatments are ( though occasionally tough) generally blissful! It feels very luxurious and they were able to help me with a stressed and knotted back which was a lifesaver! Breakfast is delicious with offerings from all over the world and room service is of a very high standard and extremely reasonably priced. We visited for the second time March /April this year and took along our 5 year old daughter. On this occasion, we opted for a one bedroom suite and were particularly happy with our room. The room was a proper suite, with a huge living room, a luxurious bedroom and stunning bathroom with roll top bath and rainfall shower. Our balcony was large with loungers and views across the coconut garden out to the Gulf of Thailand! It was sheer bliss to wake up early, make a fresh coffee ( machine in room) and watch the tropical sun rise over the ocean. Our daughter loved the hotel too. There are kids activities every day, and the well designed pool allowed us to have us beds right next to the section in which she swam so safety was never a concern. With trepidation we booked a babysitter and were so relieved when we met the wonderful Pam. She needed up babysitting for us for 8 nights and our daughter loved her. We will be pre-booking her for our next visit!
All in all, a wonderful hotel in our favourite part of the world. We have already booked to go back for 19 nights next year!

Room Tip: We personally prefer the one bedroom suite to the pool suite. Having stayed in both, we found the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph1975_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Steph1975_12,

First off we have to thank you for your loyalty and repeated patronage. We’re so happy to learn that you love our hotel and its location.

Its also nice to see the experts at the Spa got the knots out of your back, relived all your stress and fully pampered you.

We fully agree that it is sheer bliss to come to life each morning with a nice cup of coffee while gazing at the glittering sunrise.

It’s also great that your daughter enjoyed the kid’s activities program. Having happy children goes a long way towards making a family holiday more enjoyable.

Thank you for the kind words for Pam who helped out with babysitting. We’ll be sure to share your review with her. Please drop us a line qtycsbr@chr.co.th closer to your next visit and we’ll let her know you’re on your way.

Thank you again for the cheery review. We’re already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and i returned on Tuesday following two weeks at this wonderful hotel and resort. We had a standard ocean facing room on the second floor of block 7, which had a lovely view of the beach and sea across the beautifully manicured gardens. Whilst i would agree that some areas of the hotel are showing signs of wear, it was certainly not a major issue. The pro's definitely out way the con's.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy. The air conditioning is effective and easy to use. The bed was so comfortable and must have been ten feet wide with the biggest quilt i have ever seen.
We had most of our meals in the hotel as the food was excellent, with plenty of choice and wonderful surroundings, particularly at Spice Island, an outside restaurant directly overlooking the beach. All the staff deserve mention because they are so efficient and friendly. It takes me back to the days when most people had good manners!
It was my birthday whilst we were staying at the hotel, and they provided a really delicious birthday cake in our room, and we also received a 20% discount on a couples spa treatment that lasted three and a half hours and was great value, and really enjoyable.
I know that some people have made negative comments about the hotel, but my wife and i had a wonderful time and hope to return in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear David T.,

We’re so pleased that you shared your review and happy that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your kind remarks on the staff and facilities are truly encouraging and we’re very
grateful.

We hope you make good on your promise and return again to enjoy another great Centara experience.

Regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself is very large and beautiful. Staff is great - Kun and the concierge and housekeeping staff were great. Our room was facing the beach, but was rather shabby and run-down. Great location. Fantastic beach. Breakfast was alright.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bsaghian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear bsaghian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We’re delighted to learn that our location and beach exceeded your expectations.

We are also grateful that you mentioned our staff and especially Kun at the Front Desk.

We do hope that we’ll have the chance to welcome you back.

Regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Centara is a nice resort. The swimming pool is OK. Some rooms are very nice while others are old and shabby. If you decide to choose this hotel it is highly recommended not to take the standard room but pay a little more and take a room facing with access from the pool area and with a private pool.
Highlights: the pool and the other facilities are very nice, the beach is nice and clean. Location is on the crowded chaweng beach but on the far end of it.
Lowlights: Disappointing breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liran777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Liran777,

Thank you for sharing your review.

We appreciate your positive comments on the pool, beach and facilities.

We are a bit surprised that you found breakfast disappointing as most guests enjoy this aspect of their stay.

All things considered we hope that you’ll visit us again should you return to Samui.

Regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in the Centara back in 2011 so this was our first choice when returning to Samui. We had booked a Premium Deluxe Room as we had before in 2011. When checking in, it was extremely slow considering we were the only ones at Check in. All in all it took the girl 40 mins, not ideal when you are hot and tired after travelling. It was 4pm and she said she was sorry but the room was not ready and she would check for us. After another wait she said the room was now ready and would show us to our room, when walking across to the lift she mumbled in poor english that our room was not available and they had put us in a different room for 2 nights and compensated us 500 baht. My husband asked what she meant but unfortunately she could not communicate well enough with us so we walked back to the Check In Desk where a manager told us that the room we had reserved over 8 months ago had sold out and they were putting us in a room below the type we had reserved. My husband checked online on his phone and there were still rooms of the type we booked available to book for the evening and we told the manager that but she said that was not true. She said we were being moved to the room type one level down for two nights and compensated 500 baht. We said that this was not ideal as we were on holiday and wanted the room we booked, plus did not want to move rooms, plus the compensation and moving us down a standard in room was an insult and not good customer service ( at all times we remained calm and never argued, we are not like this). She went away and came back and said sorry but we would now be moved to the lower standard room for one night and as a gesture of compensation they would upgrade us to a suite for the remaining 5 days. We accepted this and said thankyou. We then were taken back to the room for one night ,which was dirty with a cracked sink and very noisy as near to the pool and Club Lounge.

On the second day the bell boys moved all of our luggage and we just needed to clear the safe and get the new keys after lunch which we did. The room we were upgraded to was very nice although it smelt musty (housekeeping left plug in air freshners) and the water from the sinks was smelly. I went to have a bath as the bath in the room was lovely and freestanding but the water continually turnt brown so I gave up.

Again food in the hotel is lovely and special mention to the staff in Seabreeze Bar who are excellent. Food is lovely here.

Also the Chinese lady on Check in (speaks very good english) is excellent and could teach some of the others how to provide good customer service.

Gardens still very well maintained and look gorgeous.

I do think the hotel need to look at room availability if this problem is a regular occurence as otherwise you could have some very unhappy hotel guests. On this occasion we were lucky but it left a very bad first impression and now we are doubtful whether we would return to a Centara Hotel as there is no guarantee that the room you will book months in advance will actually be available.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room you book is actually available! Room 621 is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegasJetsetter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear VegasJetSetter77,

Thank you for sharing your review and kind comments on the staff and food quality at Seabreeze.

The Chinese Lady you refer to is Hester. She’s Australian, but her English is good and she appreciates that you recognized her efforts.

Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced involving your booking.

We do hope that you’ll be willing to give us another chance to get it right and we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £95 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Splitty, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing