We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just back from second stay at Centara Grand Koh Samui after 10 years when we considered rooms luxurious. But under different ownership little has changed & rooms whilst clean & spacious are now looking dated and in need of refurbishment. Certainly nowhere close to 5*. However location is on the best part of the beach (warm calm sea), very friendly & helpful staff plus good breakfasts make up. Another plus is free wifi in De-luxe rooms & free towels & loungers on the beach. The well maintained gardens are a joy. Overall a comfortable stay albeit not cheap.
Pros: Location in central Chaweng - Service & willing staff - Breakfasts - Free Wifi in rooms
Cons: Tired rooms - Noisy AC - Birds & Cats annoy at outside breakfast - Sea views blocked by trees (OK in our block 2) -Towels only changed once per day - bedsheets variable in quality

Room Tip: Block 2 has best views of sea as less blocked by trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Chris B.,

Thank you for sharing your review. We’re glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay. It’s great that the beach, breakfast buffet, and gardens all exceeded your expectations.

Your comment on the rooms is noted. We would like to offer a point of clarification-we have not changed owners and remain under the Centara Hotels and Resorts umbrella.

Thank you again for offering your observations. We hope you’ll return for another pleasant, relaxing stay.

Warm regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,665 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Centara is a beautiful resort with great facilities and activities.There are numerous eating and drinking locations and they are all reasonably priced. This was our second stay at Centara and the staff are all very attentive. The staff all provide exceptional service in all areas. There are some great activities organised daily for adults and some exceptional activities for children. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting Samui. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Connie B.,

Thank you for sharing your review after your second stay with us.

We’re very grateful for your positive feedback on our staff, activity program and restaurants.

Thank you also for the recommendation. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your family back next year.

Best regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our family checked in on the 21st of May for 7 nights in a Premium Pool Suite which was absolutely marvellous. My wife and I had visited 10 years ago and had very fond memories of the resort. We found that the levels of service and hospitality to be consistently exceptional during our stay. Our family had access to the Club facilities and found them to be of a very high standard, with the staff engaging and very accommodating of our boisterous 5 and 7 year old sons. Overall the people of the resort have created a very relaxed ambience in a beautiful setting; this facility is deserving of much credit and praise. We cannot wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Andrew P.,

Thank you for the great review following your recent stay with us. We’re delighted that your family had a relaxed and enjoyable vacation in one of our pool suites.
We’re especially happy to learn that you returned to us after such a long time away.
Your feedback on our staff, The Club and other facilities is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming the whole family back next year.

Kind regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed at the Centara Grand Samui five times now, we would have to say that this time was the best , from our special welcoming to the outstanding service of The Club staff , Banana and his team Lar, Meena, Aom and Pom who truly went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. We will be back next year for sure. We highly recommend this hotel and recommend upgrading to The Club room, the benefits are worth every penny.
Mark and Shelley Taylor

Room Tip: Upgrading to a Club room is worth it !
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shellstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Taylor,

First-thank you from all of us here at Centara Grand beach Resort Samui for the loyalty. We completely understand that these days travelers are spoiled for choice when it comes to accommodation in Chaweng. We truly appreciate that you’ve returned year after year.

Thank you also for your kind comments on The Club team-much appreciated.
We’re delighted to learn that this year’s vacation was the best so far. We’re looking forward to having you back next year!


Warm regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I have been holidaying at Centara Grand Koh Samui for 13 years and can honestly say that we have been treated like family. To begin with on arrival you are greeted with the best reception ,rooms are all sea views and very clean and well appointed . Breakfast fantastic plenty to choose from. Spice Island restaurant on the beach great. Pool lovely, water in ocean clear as crystal. Now all the staff at Centara are just wonderful from Management to Beach staff they are all very helpful and friendly and happy .The gardens and all the grounds are extremely beautiful and well kept. We have no hestitation in recommending this hotel and hope we can make it to our 14th stay at Centara .

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Diana1935,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the readers of Trip Advisor. You’ve been with us almost from the start and it’s always our pleasure to welcome you and your husband back to Centara.
We sincerely appreciate your kind words and strong recommendation.
We’re all looking forward to next May when we’ll welcome you back and share a few laughs.

Take care…Kind regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Left the resort yesterday after 7 nights. Cannot fault, the room was clean and large, pool and grounds excellent, food above average and friendly helpful staff. Toilet broke one morning and was fixed in 30 minutes. Also, suffered a nasty cut during a island boat trip and when I returned was treated and bandaged by helpful staff. The beach is dirty and a pity that the hotels didn't band together and clean it up. Such a beautiful beach with bottles, old nappies and plastic bags lying around. Thank heavens the pool was good.
Part of the complex carries along the street and you will find a Deli which makes the best coffees in town. Was great to find as miss my flat whites when away. Nee is the lady that makes the best but you will have to ask for a double shot latte to get the great tasting flat white. Thanks Nee!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobby12GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear BobbyGoldCoast12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review here on Trip Advisor. We’re glad to hear that our staff were able to assist with your cut.

With regards to the beach we think perhaps you are referring to the public access section of the beach a few hundred meters down from us. Unfortunately, you are correct. That area is the frontage of a derelict resort and sometimes (particularly weekends) rubbish is left behind by locals having a ‘day at the beach’.Having said that, we (Centara) organize a weekly deep clean of the beach and totally agree that more coordination from all Chaweng hotels would be beneficial.

Thank you for the kind words for Nee and the girls in The Deli. They do a magnificent job with their coffee creations…not to mention the made-to-order sandwiches and yummy cakes!

Thanks again for your useful feedback. We do hope you’ll return for your flat whites and to see an immaculate Chaweng beach.

Kind regards,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful and everything done skillfully”

(19 March) Linda and I stowed our snow skis, packed our bags and drove to SF for a late dinner at La Collina before boarding the airplane at SFO-TPE-BKK and then Bangkok Airways to Koh Samui. We were met outside the baggage claim area by Golf and Linda was at ease knowing we were in the safe hands of the Grand Centara and Golf.

There are many places on Samui and throughout Thailand that provide สัปปายะ Sappàya but if I can have only one such experience than the tropical beach, facility and staff of the Grand Centara remains at the top of the list. If given more than one such experience, then such experiences must begin at the Grand Centara where we can relax and enjoy the beauty of our surroundings and the loving kindness of the Thai people.
I rise early to watch the sun rise and meet the Thais with อรุณสวัสดิ์ à run sà wàt, sitting on the beach under the stars อานาปานสติ breathing with eyes closed and sensing the wonderful smells of the garden behind me, listening and feeling the breeze and lulled by the sound of the waves which beckon that first swim as the sun begins to lift above the horizon.
That first breakfast with Linda eaten under the Plumeria trees where the fragrant flowers fall with music playing softly, and the Thai girls working diligently and เก่งที่สุดเลย skillfully to make the moment a beautiful experience. They always succeed.
The remainder of the day is spent swimming in the pools or bay, walking in the gardens in search of new flowers and other living things, listening to the chatter of the guests and staff, reading and studying about the Thai language and culture and simply immersing ourselves into the surrounding beauty.

Dinner followed by dancing under the stars and Plumeria trees. The variety of special dinners and entertainment contribute to the uniqueness of each evening…again overwhelmed by the colors, sounds, smells. Linda and I talked of family often and especially her father…one special evening when Lek was singing “New York, New York” in the lobby of the Centara, Linda’s father’s favorite Frank Sinatra song, we were in the Sala alone and Linda said “Dad is with us now”. It is often like that when surrounded by beauty, that sensation of others now long gone ‘joining’ us for a few moments.

Leaving, always difficult, but we never really leave the Grand Centara and the people that work there and live nearby. Some things linger forever.

Room Tip: Gym is on the north side, pools on the south side, and restaurants located in the center and south p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RANGERConners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 103 in Chaweng
2,633 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
835 reviews
2 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £112 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and to Chaweng Road. The resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a spa, complimentary Yoga classes, a large sea-gazing pool with swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts, two kids clubs, and 6 restaurants and bars. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, water sports, snorkelling and island hopping excursions, and diving opportunities arranged by the PADI Dive Centre. You'll enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites (from 40 to 132 square metres) while selected suites also provide concierge services. The resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing