We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, small rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great time in koh Samui, the hotel was very nice and the staff friendly. We had little luck getting hot water in the shower, the water in the bath was yellow and the water pressure was terrible. But because Thailand was so hot the cold showers didn't bother us too much. The wifi was VERY spotty. Breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: laundry and the spa were super expensive. Better luck finding something in town.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieleblanc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuijoe, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear JulieLeBlanc13,

Thank you offering your thoughts after your recent stay with us. We’re happy to learn that you thought the hotel was nice and the staff friendly.

A tip-should you make a return visit you may find the Wifi is most stable closest to the routers in the lobby and restaurants.

Best Regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,529)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

After our intitial impression, which as you may have read was very encouraging .
The Centara Beach resort continued to impress us with its Colonial styled charm, fantastic attentive staff and a position with stunning views that would rival the finest hotels in the world.

We sat daily on the beach in a comfortable sun lounger watching the Thai beach world go by, which included traditionally dressed beach traders who did not impose at all on anyones relaxation ,nor did the food vendors who sat next to roaring hot-make shift barbeques, cooking corn on the cob, chicken and other delights that sent a wonderful aroma to make any tummy rumble.
The hotels restaurants too would draw you in with their wonderful tasting plates of tempting canapes bought to your sunbed to sample the evenings delightful offerings.
Each sunbed has a beach side menu and contactor close to hand attached to a post for you to order from your sunbed allowing you to continue to enjoy your thoughts of staying here forever.

A Thai cooking class awaits you ,were the head chef will take you to the wonderful eye opening local market to see the treats and meats on offer to make fantastic dishes to wet any pallet. then its back to the hotel to don your apron and cook a trio of dishes from Pad Thai, Thai green curry and special fried rice and then sit down and enjoy the fruits of your labour with an ice cold beer or fine wine.

There is far to much to tell you about the Centara Grand Beach resort and I fear I would over indulge in telling you all its finer points as it has many, but I will let you all discover its wonders for yourself, as you will not be dissapointed.

We are booking a trip in September 2015 of 2 nights in Bankok followed by 4 nighs in Krabi and then 10 nights in Koh Samui and they will all be spent in Centara hotels, so look out for a few more reviews.

Joe, we will see you and the gang soon, keep us a pool suite aired and a beer on ice.


See you soon.

Tom & Shelley

Room Tip: A deluxe pool suite is heaven for couples.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Joe B.,

Thank you for presenting such a vivid and descriptive review recounting your recent stay with us. You certainly do have a talent for painting a picture. No wonder you have so many ‘Helpful’ votes!
Maybe you should consider a second career as a travel writer?

Joe B., we very much appreciate that you took the time to write about all aspects of your stay and we’re looking to your next visit (and of course the subsequent review!)

All the Best,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is our 3rd time to the Centara Grand and the 5th time to Koh Samui. We have always found the resort to be great, catering for families and wonderful service. However this time, there has been some negatives! It is beyond my comprehension why nightclub music would be played from 10am in the pool area - this is NOT relaxing nor tranquil. It is neither appropriate for the time of day or for the type of resort (many families). If I wanted duff duff I would have stayed at the Ark Bar. We complained on 3 separate occasions, however this seems to have fallen on deaf ears. Which is so amazing to me, especially in that we were told, "yes we have had a number of complaints about this." (I also notice it was a point if contention on trip advisor comments as well.) Now wouldn't you think if a hotel has had numerous complaints about a particular topic then perhaps this would be rectified??????? Amazing!!!!
The other issue is the air conditioning in the room. Extremely loud which did not allow my mother who was sleeping in the loungeroom to have a peaceful nights sleep. It was apparently looked at twice but not fixed adequately. A suggestion - if a guest requests something to be rectified - it would be appropriate and courteous to advise the guest if the outcome and not let them guess as to whether anything was done!!!
On a positive note - we couldn't be more pleased with the staff at the club lounge. Wonderful people!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hontay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Hontay,

Welcome to Trip Advisor and thank you for making us the subject of your first review.
We are happy that you enjoyed The Club, amenities and special care that the The Club team delivers.
We’re sorry to learn that your mother was not able to sleep peacefully in your room’s lounge area. Thank you for the suggestion for better communications regarding maintenance issues.

Furthermore, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience the music at the swim-up bar presented. There are times when the youthful exuberance of the team there gets the best of them. Rest assured we have clipped their wings and the music played no longer includes any duff, duff…

We do hope that you’ll return for a fourth time for a more peaceful stay.

Kind regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights although the hotel itself was lovely and also the grounds the staff lets it down Their English was not great and it was a bit of a chore trying to make yourself understood in comparison with other hotels in Thailand we have stayed in. The room although big and well cleaned could have done with a fresh coat of paint. Also beds were not changed as often as they should have been . We found that certain guests seemed to be allowed to take glass bottles into the pool and just stand about with these drinking and smoking and seemed to use the pool as their ashtray.
Location of hotel good and beach nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gregg M.,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We’re glad you enjoyed the beach and grounds.

Guests are not supposed to bring glass to the pool area. This is a basic safety tenet and we have reminded our Beach and Pools team to be more diligent in spotting and removing glass containers.

Thank you for bringing this point to our attention.

Warm regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at centara grand for 9 nights in June 2014, this was our first time to Thailand. What you see on their website in terms of the rooms is not what you get, the rooms are very old and tired and need updating. When we arrived it took five hours to get a room, the lady who greeted us Lara was not helpful at all she just wanted to register the credit card to the room and no information given to us about breakfast etc, just told to wait til 2pm for the room. The room we got was on ground floor with two single beds so I complained it was not what we asked for, eventually I spoke to the manager who was really helpful and we got a premium deluxe room upgrade and then the premium pool suite which was so much better. Unless you complain about the service they don't really care. The restaurants at night are empty we went out to eat as did everyone else, they need to have more choice. Breakfast was ok. The spa treatments are fantastic and the staff there are really polite and helpful I would recommend the spa. I wouldn't rush back to a centara hotel but I have given them direct feedback.

Room Tip: I would suggest you book a premium room rather than standard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagmankoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Jagmankoo,

Thank you for sharing your review.

We note again for readers of this forum that our check-in time is 14:00 and unless a change is requested (as in your case) our guests may have the room at that time.

We think it’s fantastic that you were exploring Thailand for your first time. Your suggestion that ‘Lara was not helpful’ is a little off-base. As much as we’d like to, we can’t realistically offer free room upgrades to all first-time visitors to the Land of Smiles. At any rate, we are glad that you found the upgrade to a pool suite a good value for money.

Thank you for the positive comments on Cenvaree Spa.

Warm regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in this Hotel. We have stayed many times and every time when we come home we always say that's our last long haul flight but a few weeks on we are yearning to go back. Yes the rooms could do with a spruce up but this is a beach resort and the time spent in the room is minimal so it's a small point and does not retract from the service given from the Hotel staff,everyone does they're best to ensure that guests have a carefree holiday. I have to mention our little room maid Nok,..she was an absolute joy and such a happy little soul, our room was always spotless after she had been in. The grounds ,pool and public areas are kept beautifully and everyone works very hard at keeping this hotel a place that guests want to return to. We had breakfast most mornings at Spice Island as it was nice and quiet with lovely views over the beach. (Best part of the beach on Cheweng) . Thank you for looking after us and looking forward to our next visit. One small point..... please change the music at the dip n sip bar,the continual thump thump thump day after day spoils the tranquility . Ps.very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Block4. Great views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loobieloo1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear LoobieLoo1952,

Thank you for the complimentary review. We’re so glad to hear that your Samui holiday was worth the long-haul trip from Dundee.
We conveyed your kind comments to your room attendant, Nok. Thank you for the encouraging feedback.
We also look forward to your next visit.
Have a pleasant Summer.

Kind regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed as a couple for 12 nights in June.
When we arrived we was dealt with professionally but seamed to be rather slowly after a long flight but I think this is a relaxed Thai way.
The room was large and superb air conditioning which was a relief to come back to at night to cool down.
The bathroom just had a shower which was large and spacious but the plug seamed to be at the highest point in the floor so it took a while for the water to drain away. We also noticed this was the same with the plug on the balcony so when we had rain we was always left with a large puddle.
The bed was a lovely king size bed which was comfortable and clean.
After reading some of the comments about the housekeeping I am personally puzzled by the complaints and issues raised. We had a girl called Poo who kept our room lovely and clean and kept us hydrated with complementary water.
The gardens were well kept and the pool was cleaned every night and was always inviting.
The beach was clean and the hard choice of the day was do I cool down in the the sea or the pool. There was also plenty of sunbeds but the ones around the pool got used up first.
The only thing I would have a complaint about around the pool area is that there was a board showing activities happening at certain times but the only thing that happened everyday was the water volleyball.
The breakfast had plenty to choose from but the service could have been a lot better especially at busy times. Sometimes trying to get a waiter/waitress attention for tea/coffee was frustrating as they seamed to keep going back to the same tables who they had just been to.
We also ate at the restaurant by the beach which was good value with good service. The same could be said about piccolos which done rolls coffees etc.
The hotel does themed buffet nights and we went to the Italian night which was very good and I would recommend.
The hotel is in a great location with a lot of bars, restaurants, shops within walking distance away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrfarandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCSBR, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear MrFarandAway,

Thank you for sharing your review. We’re delighted that you stay provided ‘just what was required’ in terms of rest and relaxation.

Thank you for the kind feedback on Poo, your room attendant. She really does have a wonderful ability to perform her tasks and connect with our guests.

Your remark on the coffee / tea service is well noted for our team at breakfast.

The observations you make on the grounds and restaurants are also useful and appreciated.
We hope you’ll return when another holiday is required.


Kind Regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £80 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing