We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our 2nd time at the Centara and we were not disappointed with the level of service and overall experience for our stay.Nothing seems too much trouble to the excellent staff and if you want a holiday to go stress free then this is the place.Great breakfast with loads of choices and is the best we have experienced in our 10 years coming to Asia.I can highly recommend this hotel in all aspects of your stay and would not hesitate in booking in the future

Room Tip: free Wi-Fi is available if you sign up to the Centara card which is not a problem as only have to pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Peter E.,

Thank you taking the time to share the review of your stay on Trip Advisor forum. We appreciate that you chose to return.

We’re particularly grateful for your positive observations on our staff and breakfast offering.

Thank you also for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    746
    218
    89
    55
See reviews for
684
1,202
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

For me there is nothing but accolades for the Centara Grand Beach Resort. Everything about it is wonderful. The setting overlooking the sea, the beautiful gardens, and the lovely rooms, the friendliness of the staff, the pool area and let’s not forget the food!

My partner and I spent 17 nights at Centara Grand from early August. We were met with a cold towel and a drink upon arrival. I had requested a room on a higher floor and we were taken to a lovely room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the resort and the sea. The room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and excellent bathroom facilities. The room was serviced twice a day. Not long after being shown to our room we were contacted to enquire that everything was ok and the room was to our satisfaction, and it was.

The staff always acknowledged our presence when walking around the resort, always friendly and happy to help. We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning and the food was fantastic. Variety to please even the most fussiest of appetites. An egg station to get your freshly cooked eggs or omelettes made. There is plenty to do on the resort without even leaving, badminton, table tennis, petanque, mini soccer etc.

A resident band played most if not every evening which was a pleasure to listen to after a hard day lying on the beach! The resort is right amongst all the shops and restaurants so you do not have to walk far if you are not eating at the resort. The Deli café which is part of the resort but on the main street at the rear of the resort has the best coffees in town and the best milk/ice cream shakes. If you need your dairy fix then go there as the milk shakes are made with fresh milk and real ice-cream. Most other places just sell fruit shakes which are basically fruit with crushed ice. I didn’t try the food at the The Deli but my partner did and said it was excellent.

If you are a cat lover like me you will love the cats wandering around the resort; I don’t think officially owned by the resort but the cats have taken up residence there anyway. They are friendly and will come up to you. I ended up buying tins of food for them at the local family mart. I did take issue with the resort that they needed to take responsibility for the de-sexing of the cats as I counted seven kittens from two different females. I was assured that this was going to be addressed.

We were also invited I assume just by a random invitation, to a cocktail party by the hotel management which was held at Zico’s Bar and Restaurant across the road which is also owned by Centara. The event went for an hour and we got to meet the management and the staff who were in charge of their various areas/departments. All enquired as to how we were enjoying our holiday and asked for feedback on the resort and their service. There was no shortage of wine, beer and non-alcoholic drinks accompanied by tasty canapés, all complimentary. On our last night we had dinner at Spice Island Restaurant at the resort. We sat outside in an idyllic setting overlooking the sea and enjoyed the wonderful food from the extensive menu.

My partner and I have been to Phuket twice which we both enjoyed but after staying at the Centara Grand it was the selling point for us returning to Koh Samui. And there will be no question we will be staying at Centara Grand again. I can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pammyjeanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear PammyJeanNewZealand,

Thank you sharing your comprehensive review. After a 17 night stay you are definitely positioned to make a well-informed appraisal of our product. We do appreciate that you took the time to write such a descriptive assessment.

I did respond earlier to your concern about the cats here in the hotel. Since then we’ve vaccinated nearly all of them (the older males are proving very elusive) to prepare for their neutering operations. We hope to have them all done before rainy season starts.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

All the best,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in August. We found it to be in an ideal location set off the main road so that its near to all the nightlife but once inside it becomes an oasis of calm. Located on a superb beach complete with sunloungers and shade.
Rooms are spacious enough and housekeeping is great. We emailed the hotel previously to ask for a room near to the facilities and we got exactly what we asked for which was great.
Pools and gardens superb. Pool service excellent.
Breakfast was also good but not enough tables available within the air conditioned areas, if you like to eat breakfast outside then there is no shortage of tables there. Too hot for us outside but that's just our preference.
The staff were pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed meeting them at the Managers cocktail party held over the road at Zicos.
On the day of checkout my husband fell ill and the staff very kindly allowed us to keep the room for an extra hour and then sent my husband to the Spa to sleep on a bed there until our airport transport arrived. We were extremely grateful for their kindness and consideration.
The daily water volleyball game was always well received as was the water aerobics. However, just one suggestion from us is that maybe the sports staff could arrange more organised daytime activities (particularly for older children and teenagers) such as football matches, table tennis competitions etc.
Overall a great hotel in a lovely setting. We really enjoyed our time there and hope to be back again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reality09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Reality09,

Thank you sharing your review. It’s great to hear that the room worked out well for you and your friends. We’re glad that you also enjoyed the cocktail party.

We trust that your husband is well and back to full speed.

Your comments on activities for young adults are well-noted. We recently welcomed a new Sports & Leisure manager, Chett to our team. He’s full of good ideas (and energy) so we expect guests will note improvement in our program.

All the best,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at Centara Samui for 2 weeks in July.Our room was in block 3 and was clean and had a great view. We were with friends who had the room next door ( thanks to staff for arranging this when I sent email the week prior to trip) We loved meeting staff at the Cocktail Party, as they were all interested to mingle with guests. Thank you to Hester Yao ( assistant Manager) for her assistance and caring attitude to guests, and to the Porter "Air" for his help. We will certainly return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view. Lower floors better for families, but there is a lift to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Barry B.,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. It’s great to hear that the room worked out well for you and your friends. We’re glad that you also enjoyed the cocktail party.

Thank you for mentioning Hester and Air. They are among the best we have. Thank you for recognizing their efforts.

Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to welcome you back again next year.

Kind regards,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was our last hotel we stayed in. First impression was great. Rooms were big enough for three adults. Had plenty of storage. Free bottles of water left daily. House keeping was a bit slack. We stayed here for 7 nights in total. Towels were changed once, even though the card was left on the floor as it stated you have to do. I had ask daily for tea bags, which was no hassle but housekeeping was told every day. As you enter the room there is a plate of fruit, this fruit was left there all week and went mouldy. Just wanted to see how long it was left, it was taken the day before we left. The pool area has plenty of beds, the staff around the pool were so accommodating and friendly and so helpful. We would have eaten in the hotel more if it had been a bit cheaper. Happy hour gets very busy, which was a really nice way to meet other guests, but as soon as it finishes everyone goes their separate ways. A must to visit is the jungle bar, the hotel phoned and made our reservations. We were picked up in a truck, where we sat on the back. It was amazing going up the mountains on the back of a truck. Food was excellent and the views were breath taking. We went on a snorkelling excursion, we visit two islands, kao tang and kao mudsim. This was amazing. The beaches are beautiful. The bamboo bar is friendly, but no toilets you have to go out the back and squat (quite an experience). The night market has some lovely food stalls.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvedonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Kelvedonclan,

Thank you for sharing your review. Aside from the inconsistencies you mention with our housekeeping team it seems you had a pleasant stay.

It’s great to hear that you got out and did a bit of exploring / snorkeling. You’re so right about that trip up the mountain in the back of the 4 wheel drive truck…it’ll get your heart racing for sure.

Your description of the Bamboo Bar also gave us a smile.

Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

read a few reviews, alot bagged the place, well they are wrong .The setting is great, quiet for that holiday rest ,staff extremely friendly and helpful always have a smile. Breakfast is 1st class If you get a chance the cocktail party is a must meet the manager can tell why the staff are happy thanks for the great time

Room Tip: Just do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grundies542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear grundies542,

Greetings to Sydney! We’re glad you chose us and well, that just goes to show you can’t believe everything you read online! Thank you for your kind feedback. We’re happy that our location, facilities and staff made your holiday a wonderful experience.
We hope you will return again.

Regards,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location and resort but got serious food poisoning on day 1 after eating saefood in their restruant. Hotel very unaccomodating. Spent 2 days in bed. The hotel staff were great but management very doshonest and all they wanted to do was cover this up. No compensation for anything from the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank squash2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Squash2004,

Welcome to Trip Advisor.

We made our stance absolutely clear in the protracted discussions our management team had with you and in the series of inflammatory emails you sent thereafter.

Your allegations are wholly unsubstantiated and we reject your blackmail attempt.

We’re sure that you read the guidelines upon joining and are aware that Trip Advisor takes these threats very seriously.

Squash2004, your review has been reported as ‘blackmail threat / fraud’ and is under investigation.


Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing