We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centara Suite - Excellent Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Centara Suite - Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We stayed 2 weeks at the Centara and travelled with my 3 year old boy.
The pictures of the main building are not too flattering as that is predominantly a view of the lobby and restaurant area from the beach side. Depsite the size of the resort (considered one of the larger ones on Samui) it doesn't feel overy busy as there is an abundance of staff running around and ever willing to assist.

Food:
Breakfast was a reasonable choice in the main restaurant on a buffet style. A good selection of Western and Asian foods and an omlette chef frying up your requests on order. The fruits are replenished quickly and we never once heard them say "sorry it's finished" to any of the guests.

Due to the layout of the restaurant it can get a little busy but not to the point of having to queue for anything other than the cook to order omlettes.

For Lunch:
Choices of simple food from the pool bar menu or sit down dining in one of the restaurants. My little boy loved the barbequed corn on the cob and mango from the beach vendors so we tended to stay on the beach and order a couple of dishes from the pool bar menu which is more expensive than the local restaurants but surprisingly reasonable for a large resort hotel. Quality of the food was always good from the pool bar menu.
Only criticism was perhaps the guys in the pool side bar being reluctant to take food orders...not sure the reason for this but this was the only minor glitch on the otherwise perfect customer service

Dinners:
We ate at the on site seafood barbeque buffet which was good. Plenty of variety. If it swims or crawls along the sea bed it was available and incredibly fresh too.

The dinners we had outside of the resort were of a mixed standard.

AVOID: the restaurant directly opposite the gate to the Centara. A Japanese family on the table beside us had selected the large tiger prawns from the display but when they had arrived they were the regular prawns. They tried to complain but spoke no thai and a little English and the staff just dismissed them. Our meal was very bland but may have been a reflection of their dislike of me getting involved and translating for the Japanese family. The cost of a small barbequed fish, 5 large barbied shrimps and some veggies was more than we paid for the sea food buffet onsite at the Centara and it wasn't even a close match to the good quality we received at the onsite buffet barbie.

Slightly further down on the left is another barbie restaurant. I forget the name but it's quite a nice looking place with decent furinishings, fire lights outside and a big open front - you can't miss it. If you have kids it's worth a visit as a safe option as the kids will like the fire and dancing. the food is fairly ordinary. Not bad nor good...safe middle of the road in flavours. This is a slightly more expensive restaurant.

Loads of great thai eateries along the main road and also an excellent place which is at the crossroads where Family mart is. Turn left and 5/6 doors down is a super Thai restaurant where the prices are incredibly cheap and the food is some of the best we had on the island. It's the first restaurant along that street and it's within 20m of the junction.

We found that the bars that offered barbequed seafood and spitroasted pig were ok for a snack but the meals in these places were severely overpriced.

The room:
We stayed in a suite which was towards the gym end of the resort on the 3rd floor. I'm fortunate enough to be accomodated in suites for my work related travel and this was of a very good standard. A large bedroom, shower cabinet and sep bath tub and very big lounge room with a full sofa set, dining table for four, fridge etc and an extra bed tucked away in the corner. The housekeeper we had was a superstar and was extremely efficient in her cleaning despite my 3 year old doing his utmost best to drag the beach into the room each day. Cannot fault the housekeeping at all.

The Club:
If you have a club room or a suite you get access to the Club facilities. this is essentially an area above the lobby where you can have complimentary drinks and they serve sandwiches at lunchtime and some satay and other hawker type snack foods in the afternoon. There's a selection of books and papers along with a collection of 2/3 PCs with internet access.

Internet:
For anyone who also needs to work whilst staying here, the wifi is excellent. The signal is very strong around the resort and it was great to be able to sit on the balcony and "work". There is an extra cost for the wifi but I cannot recall exactly how much that was - apologies.

Pools: Main pool for adults and a sepearate shallow pool for the kids which is also well shaded. They do well to manage the chemical levels particularly in the baby pool and even with my boy drinking mouthfuls of the stuff he didn't get sick and didn't suffer from any eye, nose, throat infections. The towels are available adjacent to the pool (just remember to pick up the towel coupons on returning the towels) There is also a selection of beach toys for the kids to borrow, bukets, spades etc...just try encourage your kids to only take what they're going to play with as some parents let their brats hog the whole lot and other kids went without...nice to be nice kids :)

Beach:
Possibly one of the nicer stretches of sand along this beach. It's swepted and combed regularly and the hawkers are kept at a distance from you. Security and other staff watch them closely and they will never hassle you at your sunbeds. if you wander down to the water's edge they will offer you their goods but it is absolutely friendly and not agressive in any way. A simple no is registered immediately.
The guys selling drinks, mango, corn etc are super friendly and you can order your corn, fruit and drinks and he'll bring them to you to save you waiting around. No need to over tip them either as he said to us that he prefers repeat business and the tips are unnecessary :)
Word of warning about the "thai silk bed spreads" many of them for sale at the beach are not all silk and only partially silk. Althought they are a lot cheaper than the shops - just make sure what you get is silk.

Taxis:
the metered taxis in Samui are not like anywhere else in Thailand and are much more expensive. Longer trips to Nathon of the elephants can be prenegotiated upfront and it's best to asks a couple of drivers to get a gauge of their offerings. Prices vary. A really handy way of getting around is the baht bus (pick up truck with bench seats in the back). Very easy system. Hail it down, jump in the back and when you want to get off, ring the bell then pay the driver. Much cheaper, safe and we found them to be a good and easy mode of transport for short journeys.

Excursions:
Nathon - we went to see this place as something to do suring a wet day. there's plenty of shopping and it's cheaper than in chaweng but till 2-3 times as expensive as JJ Market in Bangkok. It's only worth a visit if you're at ends for something to do as there really isn;t much there.

Elephant rides - I'm not a big fan of the tourist elephant rides etc but with a 3 year old boy in tow it was going to be on the agenda so rather than booking a whole day's trip, we grab a taxi to the waterfall where we could see the elephants for ourselves and their condition (my wife's a vet and has spent many years as a game reserve vet in Tanzania). My wife was happy that the animals were in reasonable health and condition so took a short ride and my kid had a ball. If you book a taxi and turn up yourself and negotiate the ride, you can save yourself a heap compared to the prearranged packages plus you have the flexibility of coming and going when you please and also the chance of a bit of solitude rather than following 40 other elephants in a line.

Flew Bangkok Airways - he beats Thai and Air Asia etc in terms of comfort and especially their own lounge which is business class standard (exception of the food). But it is more epxensive than the other carriers.

Shopping along chaweng - very expensive compared to Bangkok and if you're a big shopper, you're best off spending a day in BKK where it's a shopper's heaven. My wife spent two days in all the malls and markets whilst my son and I visited the Aquarium and had boat rides etc :) Wouldn't catch me shopping 9-5 on holiday :)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Noahtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    768
    221
    89
    55
See reviews for
708
1,231
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester England
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

My wife and i spent a week at the Grand 24th-31st Jan and can highly recommend it.
Our check in was highly efficient and we were also upgraded from our ClubRoom to a Room with its own personal large plunge pool.The room itself was a great size with a huge comfy bed ,sitting area with fruit platter,flat screen t.v,mini bar etc.Then there is a screened bathroom area with large deep bath,seperate good sized shower,his and hers wardrobes,seperate toilet,free in room safe and marbled sink unit including a very good choice of toiletries.The room was very well looked after by the maids and was always spotless and we had no problems at all.
The hotel grounds and pools were very well maintained and we never had a problem getting our preffered sunbeds on the sundeck(had sun all day),although if you wanted a couple in other more shady spots you may well find the some morons had been out early doors to reserve them with towels and go back to bed.But on the whole you should find no problems to find a couple of beds together.
The beach is beautiful and the hawkers are no problem at all (unlike the caribbean)they just walk up and down all day and just hope you may be interested in their wares.Walking either way along the beach you will find thai massages for 200 baht which to me is great value(even if we didn't partake ourselves).
We only ate at the hotel one evening when we attended the Thai Dancing Evening Buffet when the wife really enjoyed her food and i just watched the show and drank the beer.The reason for myself not eating is nothing to do with the quality of food etc its just that i have a very strange diet.
The breakfast was just great and there was more than enough choice for even the strangest of diets(even my own),just too many choices to mention.
Now to our favourite part,The Club.
There are unlimited snacks from 10am till closing at 10pm varying from continental breakfast,soups,cakes,sushi,fruit and various other nibbles throughout the day.Free Internet for 30 minutes per day.Free Newspaper.2 free items of laundry per day.And the best bit free alcohol (cocktails,beer and spirits) between 17.30 and 19.00 every day.All in we thought the Club was great value but others may feel different if they don't use it to it full potential.And finally the Club staff were just awesome and so eager to please but equally that could be said for all the resort staff.
Unfortunately there is always a down side but that is only when venturing outside the resort (Chaweng Main Street)to be met by touts trying to get you into various clubs,restaurants or various tailors shops.But they soon get the message with firm "No Thank You".
All in all the resort is just great,with a truly awesome staff.
Barry and Fiona,if you read this have a wonderful cruise home,it was a pleasure meeting you.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keefw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We stayed in deluxe pool room with "the club" facilities......

The only negative was a few minor hassles when checking in regarding their insistance on having a credit card.

The food is expensive (for Thailand) but what do you expect from a 5* hotel, the location is fantastic, just walk 5 minutes along the main road or beach & you'll find cheaper places to eat if you want, we did this 5 nights out of 7.

Firstly the room...fantastic, huge, brilliant bed, huge clean bathroom, with huge bath, rain & normal showers, separate loo, posh toiletries and all.....

Our own private pool, brilliant, beautiful, can't say enough good things about it.

The main hotel itself is beautiful, all open air, no doors and windows, which i loved,

Pool is great, loads of space, loads of chairs, lovely huge gardens all around.

Breakfast was really tasty, lots of choice.

The bakery makes cakes to die for, we ate them every day!

We had a special festival night while we were there, where the food was wonderful, the entertainment was great, the staff couldn't do enough to help you.

"The Club" - a mezzanine floor above the main reception, you can get snacks and coffees through the day, from 5 to 7, you get cocktails & canapes, served by three of the most friendly staff (& the youngest i think!) you will find in Thailand, you choose cocktails from a list of about 8, all tasty (they don't skimp on the alcohol) or beers, spirits (local & international), soft drinks & sparkling champagne style wine.

I also hired the Sala Thai (private beach house) for my partner's birthday, we had a private candlelit dinner for two with our own menu, staff & everything, it wasn't cheap but it was a night i'll never forget. Paul like mince pies & after a funny half hour of trying to explain the concept of mince pies to the poor girl on reception, we got there & Sure enough after a huge meal including starters, main course, desert & birthday cake, the mince pies arrived, they weren't quite traditional but Paul proceed to demolish his way through them, pronouncing them delicious, i was too full, so they were delivered back to our room by room service & Paul ate them before breakfast the next day!!!

Can't rate this hotel more highly, loved every minute from the first day sitting in the jacuzzi in the rain (well we did go in November & the rest of the week was fabulous!) to the food, the pool, our private pool, the club, the food, everything was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank emma123xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in dec'08 and jan'09. We had a great time at a great resort. The property is simply beautiful with grand gardens and beach access. The pool area is big and the beach is fun with lots of possible activities. The hotel rents sailboats and windsurfers which we used quite a bit. It is one of the few resorts in Chaweng with a sand volleyball court. So if you like to have an active holiday in a beautiful place then this resort is wonderful.

Our room was big enough for four persons and clean (unlike what some other reviwers have said). The food at the hotel is good (but not great in my opinion) and the location is excellent. However, they insisted that we took part in a bland and overpriced new years "gala dinner" which was a bummer.

  • Liked — The beautiful property and the activities
  • Disliked — The obligatory gala dinner
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank harrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I read lots of reviews of lots of hotels and locations when my sister & I decided to go to Koh Samui. There were positives and negatives about the Centara Grand, but the negatives I felt seemed pretty trivial! The hotel was excellent - from check in with a relaxing fruit drink while filling out the paperwork (very nice start to the holiday!) to all the staff being super friendly, we loved it. Breakfast was good, we didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we thought it was pretty expensive and not really interested in buffets. Food looked amazing though. Fabulous pool, and even though they advertise being "kid-friendly" the kids pool was on the other side of the bigger pool, so we didn't really notice! The hotel is absolute beachfront, could see the ocean from our room.
As my sister & I are in our late 20's, it was a great way to relax in a bit of luxury, with all the main nightlife being only a 10-15 minute walk. Lots to look at during the walk (ie, shopping) so didn't feel too bad. A taxi home, refused to pay more than 100b. Fantastic place on beach for cheap pad thai and drinks is the Ark Bar. Beach party on Wednesday night was very fun. Bar Solo was a cool place to be in on the action. We did Mr Ung's jeep trip - great fun, just be able to handle their crazy driving! All other trips got cancelled due to rain and wind that started halfway through our trip, but we did a Thai cooking class at the Sumui Institute which is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel - definitely recommed it. Just wanted others to see how much we enjoyed the hotel, and would definitely recommend it to couples, friends and families. Our friends nicknamed it "the taj mahal" and were extremely jealous!

  • Liked — The pool, location on beach, fresh omelettes at breakfast, housekeeping v good, the spa
  • Disliked — Could be closer to the main bars, need more a la carte choice in hotel restaurants
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aec2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

the hotel and the property is good. the rooms are small and dirty.
it is well located and the beach adjoining has a lot of activities. we dont get the value for the price what we pay. its a rip off.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaileeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Myself and my wife stayed here for ten nights in Dec 2008, it`s situated at the end of the Chaweng beach strip and is complimented by a lovely sandy beach,the hotel itself is grande and situated within impressive grounds.
The rooms and service were absoloutely fine as was the pool area,the buffy breakfast set up too was good and the resturants within the hotel and ground were good although expensive compared to the establishments outside of the hotel in fact these were so inflated it started to really grate on us and can only be described as greed on the part of the hotel.We did go to an evening banquet with entertainment within the hotel grounds ,we thought we`d give it a try but wish we hadn`t as the entertainment was average as was the food and left us £65 lighter,it was a pleasant night but a stroll along the beach or a cab will take you to far far better venues with quality food and much better value.
But don`t let this put you off as it`s a really nice hotel and located nicely on the outskirts of the hussle and bussle (which is only a 80 baht ride away in one of those tooting taxi truck things)
Would we stay here again..... Oh Yes !

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — pricey bars
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StraightDownTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing