We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creat Stay all round very romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Creat Stay all round very romantic”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Well I have looked up EVERY HOTEL AND VILLA on Koh Samui, and in the end I selected this one. I was very happy with the choice I made. We stayed there for 2 full weeks, it was great. We were on the 3rd level ROOM 838, it had the best view of the hotel (it is a walk from the main lobby but worth is, is also closer to the pool) it has such a georgeous view..picture perfect. The house keeping were great, extra towles not a problem. The house keeping do not understand english, but you just point to the towles and they get it. You will notice that most of the hotels on koh samui have bad masioery work, our shower leaked all over the floor, we just got extra towles, no biggie..Friends were staying and the "Samui Paradise" down the road and our hotel was the same price (actually ($15) cheaper was far far better. We said were on honeymoon, and they made us a special cake and made swan towles on the bed with rose petals..all for free!, our room included " the club" which had some great extras..happy hour in the island bar was great, half price everything, they have standard AUD prices for drinks and food, the buffets and dining are expensive for koh samui, The Centara is in the best position, and the beach service is great, the beach has restrictions on it so the people selling sarong and whatever..are not alowed up on the beach where you are..I looked down the beach toward Monkey bay Beach Bar and the were harrasing people on the beach. Oh the pool is fantastic and has a little baby pool (not that we have kids, but it was good to see) Breakfast is GREAT!!!. Crossiant - danish - 4 differnt breads - all the hot foods and fruits you would expect..and they have a asian buffet of noodles as well...was a great start to the day, we only had to get dinner.
WORD OF WARNING - the stay and all the facilities were fantastic.
ON CHECKOUT - make the effort to go over the road and get the money you ow them out of the atm (there is one accross the road) the hotels exchange rate is BAD.
buy walking over the road we saved $400!!!!!! ALSO do not take the slippers - we wore the same slipper for 2 weeks..I packed them not really thinking about it, and they tried to charge me for it 500 baht for 2 pairs of really bad slippers,,,I got them out of the suitcase and give them back. There were also a few wrong order for the room service...but nothing big. Dont get me wrong we have a fantastic stay and would stay there again, just watch what is billed to you room and be assertive on check out - AND DONT MAKE INTERNATIONAL PHONE CALLS THEY COST A FORTUME!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lukeandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    734
    217
    89
    55
See reviews for
668
1,182
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed 3days and 2nights for Centara Grand Samui, It's very good time to enjoin with luxury room and nice pool. See my trip in Samui here => http://joan-guide.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joantoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

After reading some of the reviews I tried to keep my expectations in check however that was not necessary!
The hotel is very impressive with its lush grounds and open air lobby. Our room was one of the best, nice bathroom with a spectacular view. The hot water played tricks on us but we found it quite amusing and certainly not something to complain about considering you didnt need it anyway!
We didnt join the club that everyone else seems to and we did not miss it! It looked boring in there anyway so dont worry about it if you dont want to spend extra!
We spent alot of time at the pool and the beach which was like a dream. The staff were friendly, the entire place was immaculate. The food was yummo. You do pay extra ordering from the hotel, same as anywhere in the world but it was still cheaper than home so again, dont complain!
It is down the quieter end of the beach which is great. Most nights we just got a ride to the opposite end of Chaweng for 100 baht and slowly made our way back to the hotel stopping for a drink amnd some shopping along the way. Other nights we walked along the beach, about 15minutes with alot to look at on the way.
it was always nice to walk back into a clean place with smiling facesand a lovely air-con room at the end of the day.
I think the people who complain about this hotel have unrealistic expectations! I couldnt have stayed in a better place. I can only hope nothing changes between now and next year when I hope to go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed at the Centara Grand Beach resort from 1st – 10th May 2009. The hotel is situated towards the southern & quieter end of Chaweng Beach & is one of the bigger properties there. The hotel is very very nice. The staff are very friendly, speak good English, they really go out of their way to help and the hotel is immaculate. The room we had was lovely, on the top floor with a sea view. As we had upgraded we had access to the lounge – free internet, food and happy hour drinks. There are three pools, two adult & one kids, all are a good size. The other facilities are great such as gym, etc. However the Spa is very expensive by Thai standards. The hotel is a beachside property – the beach is amazing, pure white sand & warm sea. There are plenty of sunbeds. The restaurants are good too, but we only had breakfast there, plenty to choose from & all fresh.

Across the road from the hotel you have the main street, there are many places to eat, very cheaply, shops such as 7eleven, Boots, stalls / shops selling fake designer items, massage parlours. Thai foot massage is the best and very cheap, also there are many tailors too.

All in all we loved Koh Samui & would stay at Centara again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank T1bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I stayed at the Centara Grand Beach Resort back in October 06 and although this Review is late I figured it's better writing it late then never! This hotel is a beautiful hotel and from what I could see it seemed to be one of the better hotels that is situated in the heart of Chaweng. The views of the hotel near the pool are stunning and great to lounge around and sunbath in, plenty of sun decks available overlooking the lovely soft white beach minutes which is seconds walk away from the hotel. The gardens are kept really well.
Breakfast at the hotel is very good, offering a great selection as you would expect a good 4.5-5 star resort to offer. Although there is a half board option available it is probably worth sticking to just bed and breakfast as there are a host of good restaurants near the hotel. The hotel itself has a wonderful thai restaurant well worth trying.
When we visited the hotel was undergoing some work in the kitchens and hence a simply room service meal took over 50 mins to arrive, we complained and the staff were very apologetic and offered us a free meal (excluding drinks) in the Thai restuarant to compensate!
Staff at the hotel were all approachable, friendly and efficient. The only disappointment I found was that the rooms were not as bright and well appointed as you would expect from a 4.5-5 star resort. Nevertheless they were kept clean and were comfortable.
Although the hotel offers it's own spa services I would not advice you to pay over the top hotel costs for the use of their spa. The beauty of Thailand is that you get such good pamper places that are all run with a smile and wonderful staff at very cheap prices.
Practically opposite the hotel there is a little massage place called Thai Thai (I think) it is run by local thai women who deliver a range of treatments including massages, pedicures, reflexology and all the usual services you would expect. The ambience in the place may not be a grand as the hotel spa but the treatments are good for a fraction of the price.
If you want to stay in a luxurious hotel with a good selection of restaurants, great food and beautiful gardens, surroundings on a fabulous streach of beach as well as being close to all the entertainment, restaurants and shops in a lively atmosphere then I would definitely recommend this hotel. Another good thing about the hotel is whilst it is located in the main resort on Chaweng it is situated on the end of the road and therefore whilst you are minutes away from the main town you are in a more quite part of lively chaweng where you can feel quite removed from it all.
This hotel is great for couples, families, singles and groups. Just a little warning some rooms are located where there are a large number of steps to climb so for those who have limited mobility should be mindful and request a room closeby to reception. Also avoid going in November as Koh Samui has a lot of rain then. We went in October and although most part of our stay was fine, there were a few days where it rained very heavily for quite a while. We were told by the hotel staff that November is particularly rainy and the rain can last for quite long as opposed to short bursts.
I would definitely not hesitate staying in this hotel again if I was to return to beautiful Koh Samui.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We had a 12 night stay from end April to early May. Rooms were fine but didn't have a 'wow' factor to them. Bed was comfortable and the balcony was great with comfy chairs & a pleasant outlook. All the rooms are essentially 'sea view' but the view is somewhat obscured by trees/palms. Some reviewers note this as a negative but these same trees/palms provide plenty of shade around the pool and beach. This is probably more important given the sun/heat. Our hot water was a bit spasmodic but not critical given the climate! The spacious grounds have a great feel to them and are well maintained. The hotel was full when we were there but didn't feel overally crowded given the size of the property. Pool area was fine however the pool towels need updating as many have grubby marks on them. With a lot of Euro people in the resort, sunbed reservation was rife but was well policed by the pool staff. You still need to get in by 10am for a reasonable position. Property is right on th beach which is great. This part of the beach is also good, with the beach deteriorating further to the north. Pleny of beach vendors who were not pushy & had good humour. Location is pretty good on the southern part of Chaweng Beach. It's a 15 minute (sweaty) walk to the busy part of Chaweng however there are still plenty of restaurants & shops nearby.

Overall we were happy with our stay. A slightly better standard room would have moved rating from 4 stars to 5.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wombat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside is the prices they charge for food and drinks, but mostly everyone bought their stuff from the beach vendors. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing