We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chaweng Buri Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$72
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$211
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$173
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muang Samui Spa Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$229
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
118
190
83
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
190
83
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge chairsnice beachbed was very comfortableark barswimming poolbeach frontcentral festival mallloved this hotelbeach barbeach towelsthai stylethe main streetrelaxing holidaythailandvillaplungekoh
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I chose time for travel in Chaweng Buri Resort from the middle of April to the beginning of May 2013. Chaweng Buri Resort has good location in the middle of Chaweng Beach. There are a lot of any shops, any restaurants, and travel agencies near this hotel. Travel from Samui Airport to the hotel is about 15 minutes.
Chaweng Buri Resort is the village in tropical garden: palm trees, flowers, orchids, birds, geckos, small flying lizards… and of course white sand and sea. Yes, sand is really white. Of course it is not the same as in Maldives... So… Territory of this hotel is big and clean. There are several types of villas/ bungalows: garden (not expensive, but they are located in the garden where sometimes it will be swelteringly hot), beach (they are located near the beach, not always with sea view), sea view (very little number of bungalows), sea view suite villa (for big family and located near the restaurant). Each villa has private verandah with little table and armchairs. Inside of the villa you can find tea kit, TV (with several local, English, French, German, movies channels), bath kit, air conditioner, minibar, two free water bottles. Room service was every day. So our room was always clean. Bath towels and bed clothes are changed every day.
There is not enough big swimming pool. Especially for little children and for people who afraid the sea.
The sea was not dangerous: no waves, no sea animals, no storms. There was only one dangerous thing: Jet Skies. But swimming area was marked by buoys and local drivers of Jet Skies were very attentive. Problems were created by tourists. Sometimes they were not enough attentive.
Weather in this period was excellent: bright sun, light clouds in the sky, warm quiet sea. There were water sports: jet skies, boats with parachute, sailing. One of entertainment was observation for landing and taking off of planes above the bay. Engines noise did not irritate.
Beach line is small, but couple empty places were always. Each guest could receive and leave enough numbers of beach towels in the point near swimming pool.
The main restaurant is located near the swimming pool. Meal was various: salads, omelets, fried eggs, noodle, fish, chicken, sausages etc. Every day there were several changes in meal. Waiters were not enough prompt. But your coffee or tea were always on time. There was only one minus: cockroaches. Sometimes they ran about between tableware on the main tables.
But in spite of this fact vacation in Chaweng Buri Resort left only positive memoirs.
I will recommend this hotel for family holidays.

Room Tip: Due to tropical climate I recommend to choose sea view bungalow, because it is not hot and beautiful view from your verandah.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ameeriel_Laurdien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng Buri R, Guest Relations Manager at Chaweng Buri Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Good morning and thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor about your stay here with us at Chaweng Buri Resort.

We are always happy to read positive reviews from our guests, and we are glad you chose to stay with us for your holiday. Thank you for pointing out about service at the Pool side restaurant, this is something that has come to our attention, and we are currently working on a new sequence of service to make sure that this area is not a problem for future guests.

We hope to see you again in the future here at Chaweng Buri Resort.

Thank you.

The Chaweng Buri Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Okay, first the positives -The resort is close to every thing - restaurants, night life, right on the beach, friendly and helpful staff and manager. Thats it!! Now the negatives - the hotel is under renovation and they only serve breakfast which was awful, all the other restaurants are closed for renovations (which is not specified on any booking websites) so no room service. We had booked 2 superior rooms for 4 nights in this resort during mid-oct, the rooms are in a pathetic state and very very outdated. We were 2 couples traveling together and upon request the staff upgraded our rooms at a minimal cost but the upgraded rooms were no good either.

In one of the upgraded rooms the air-con was not working so had to sleep in 2 rooms on 2 nights. We were just shuffling rooms and thats dfntly not what you want to do on a holiday!

Lots of better hotels in the vicinity and I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeptisnarayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng Buri R, Guest Relations Manager at Chaweng Buri Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Chaweng Buri Resort. I am happy to hear about our Staff and Management.

As mentioned in the previous review from another one of our guests during the same period of stay, breakfast has been a problem in the last 2 weeks, but we have now employed a new Chef and supporting team to make sure that breakfast is of high standards through out peoples stay with us.

We have 2 Restaurants here at Chaweng Buri Resort, which one closes at 4pm by the pool side, and then our T-bone Restaurant at the front opens from 5pm. As it is the Low Rainy Season this time of year, we do not have our dinner on the beach option open.

In regards to the renovations we have being carried out on 63 of our villas, this area is closed off on the resort, and is away from any guest areas, to make sure that there is no disturbance to the guests. All of our partners and agents have been emailed all of this information.

In regards to our rooms madam, I think that sometimes our rooms are to some peoples tastes, and some not. Our website and brochures advertise our rooms with pictures to match, and we do not often have a complaint about our rooms.

We would like to thank you for your custom and hope you had a safe journey home.

Thank you.

Jamie Sinclair
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have stayed at this resort before and it wasn't too bad, that's all changed now. This place is so run down its not funny. The breakfast is AWFUL!!! It wasn't a nice way to start the day, after waking up hungry and thirsty and walking down to breakfast to find there was nothing decent to eat. We stayed at this resort for 10 nights and no matter what time we arrived at breakfast in the mornings, things were empty, the juices were either empty or warm. The milk jugs for ceral were sitting in white water (it had been sitting in ice that had melted hours earlier that no staff had replaced with fresh ice). The cut fruit was warm and feral. If you want an egg or bacon you have to line up and wait for them to cook one strip of bacon at a time, and as happened to me they ended up giving my bacon to another's guest. They also like to reheat yesterday's left over lunch for breakfast and serve it up like no ones knows. Here a tip for the hotel manager: Australian guests don't want to eat garden salad for breakfast. Other then breakfast being a massive disappointment the rest if the resort appears run down and old. There are stray cats and dogs constantly hanging around the buri's. The resort bar closes early and doesn't appear to offer a happy hour deal. The only thing decent about the resort was the free wi fi in the rooms.

I will be returning to Koh Samui again, but I will never make the mistake of staying at the Chaweng Buri again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng Buri R, Guest Relations Manager at Chaweng Buri Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Jason,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor about your stay at Chaweng Buri Resort.

First of all I would like to apologize on behalf of the Chaweng Buri Team, about some of the issues that occurred during your stay with us, it is never nice hearing that one of our guests has had a bad experience, especially a returning guest. I believe we met just as you were departing, and I would like to take this time to explain:

Breakfast:

We have had this issue come up in the last couple of weeks, and we have now employed a new team to improve our breakfast and service. The one thing that our team now understands, is that when people are on holiday, the majority of people will not come to breakfast at the earliest possible time, because they are on holiday. We have now taken a record of when the majority of guests turn up (This being between 9 and 10am), and this is where we have started to tackle the problem, refilling food, making sure Ice Trays are changed. I must refer to your comment about serving yesterdays Lunch for Breakfast, this is untrue Sir, and we would never do such a thing because of health and safety regulations, as well as the Hygiene issue in this.

Resort Facilities:

No doubt over the years where you have returned, you have seen the resort in different ways, and the Owners are currently upgrading over 63 villas ready for the Peak Season in late December, and this has been planned like a military operation, to make sure there is no discomfort to the guests. The resort is 23 years old and has been one of the top destinations for 2 decades for guests, and we aim to keep this record by implementing these changes.

Animals:

In regards to animals walking around the resort, we do our utmost in tackling this problem, and is part of our Gardening teams operations. It is not just our Resort that has this problem, but most that are placed on the beach front. The only other option for Resorts and Hotels to tackle this issue would be to place gates on walk paths, and fencing and gates at the beach front, but if any resort took this kind of action, it would make it feel more like a prison and not a holiday resort, and we want our guests to enjoy and feel safe whilst staying with us. Our team does a great job in handling this problem considering we have 117 standalone villas on the grounds, and this is not as complaint we receive often.

Bar Entertainment:

We are putting a schedule together to improve this area, but as we are currently discussing options, maybe you can provide us with some ideas on what you would have liked to experience in this section during your stay.

As you can see Sir, that in the last 2 months our Trip Advisor page has gained great and positive reviews, and this is down to the Owners and the GM who have employed a new team here at the resort, who will work together to improve the guests experience to match the update in facilities for the next 20 years.

We do our utmost to make sure that every guest staying with us has a great experience.

We hope you had a safe journey home.

Thank you,

The Chaweng Buri Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

On the main strip, beach right behind the resort. Decent pool. Rooms are not great but are comfy and of decent size. Specialty great location for backpackers and fun loving people.
Won't rate much high on staff attitude.
7 eleven and food joints are nearby, a really nice Thai resturant just outside the resort.
Would definitely consider again .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jainrishabh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng Buri R, Guest Relations Manager at Chaweng Buri Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor about your stay here at Chaweng Buri Resort, it was a pleasure to see another high rating for us.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and I do apologize that if sometimes you found some of the staff's attitude not great. We do our best to train all staff here at the resort as much as we can, and we are improving week by week on this matter.

We hope to have you here again in the future to stay with us.

We hope you had a safe trip home.

The Chaweng Buri Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

a very good choice for a vacation in Koh Samui. nice rooms, good service, peacfull beach, at the center of the chaweng main street. the pool is very nice, the stuff is very helpfull. breakfest is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonepshtein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng Buri R, Guest Relations Manager at Chaweng Buri Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Elmish,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tip Advisor about your recent stay with us here at Chaweng Buri Resort. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us for your holiday, it was also very interesting to hear about your company and the projects you are working on, I wish you all the success with it.

Hopefully we will see you hear again on your next holiday.

We hope you had a safe trip home.

Thank you.

The Chaweng Buri Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews