We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip”
Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Talay Resort
Ranked #40 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed at the Baan Talay for five nights in Beach Hut number 1. It had an amazing balcony that looked over the beach. It is at the quieter end of Chaweng which we preferred. The food is amazing for breakfast and in the pool bar. The staff were friendly.

This is a really lovely small hotel which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the Beach Hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellelondon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here booked through Agoda with two other couples and loved it. We all got room upgrade on arrival which was a bonus. Nice clean pool and right on the beach front - nice quiet end of Chaweng and other resorts around. Can have a drink on the sweet loungers looking over the beach in the evening and a short stroll down the main road (turning right out of the hotel) will take you to plenty of places for dinner and shops. Would DEFINITELY stay here again. The rooms were perfectly clean and nice.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveldean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights from 31/12/13 - 4/1/14 and opted for the beachfront room.

The weather was not too great the first 3 days as it was cloudy but luckily it did not rain. we woke up to the sound of waves as it was high tide in the mornings and the waves came quite close to the front of the room.

The whole room was clean, huge with ample power points for a gadget freak like my husband. One of our favorite spots was the deck at the dining area where we can laze around facing the beach after having breakfast. Even though the hotel was full there were enough sunbeds for everyone.
In terms of location, yes it was quite a walk to get to Chaweng centre but there are a lot of taxis right in front of the hotel. If one is more adventurous, hiring a bike to tour the island is recommended.
Would definitely come here again and our only wish was that the weather would be better. the sun was out the last 2 days of our trip and the view was great!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beachfront are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were looking forward to staying here after an action packed stay on ko san road, in bangkok. We were pleased with our choice, especially when we were offered a free upgrade. Some say its not a good location, I thought it was perfect! Granted it can take you 25min to get to the busier part of chaweng but its a beautiful road to stroll down. We popped into bars and massage parlours along the way and honestly didnt feel it was a laborious walk. Theres great shops directly outdide the hotel and all the way down to the center of chaweng. I noticed construction next door but never once heard any noise coming from it. Breakfasts were good. Fry ups, cereals,fruit yogurt, pastries etc... we couldnt want for more. Lovely pool area. Staff were very sweet. The only thing that did annoy us was the smell coming from the bathroom. We kept the bathroom door closed so the problem was solved. The hotel was good value for money and it delivered!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

just got back from samui 2/12=12/12/13
1-this hotel is 25 min walk from center chaweng
2- construction noise is just terrible ..you wake up in the morning to shouting and noise not so nice for vacation
3) poor resort nothing to offer no athmospere no nothing
beach is very narow there

so many other options with same price
even more so if your ayoung solo travler dont go there

Room Tip: if your alredy there ask for rooms with less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gold2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with nice big rooms, swimming pool and restaurant in front of the sea. Good location and friendly staff.

Just be aware - right next to the hotel there is a building on a reconstruction that makes a lot of noise.

Enjoy Koh Samui and have a nice stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently refurbished hotel - been there a few years ago - rooms are spacious, with comfortable bed, good quality linen and towels and flat screen TV and DVD player. Toiletries were of great quality and abundant. Room had also a nice veranda with table and chairs, as well as place to dry your beach towels and swimsuits. Location is great, near good restaurants and shopping area. Will certainly return and recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariseCaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#41 of 104 in Chaweng
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
635 reviews
2 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#60 of 104 in Chaweng
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £53 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing