We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay in a Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Talay Resort
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
1,158 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay in a Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had 5 nights at Baan Talay and really enjoyed ourselves. It’s not without its quirks but it’s friendly, clean and very well located indeed.

Our “bungalow” (it was joined to other “bungalows”) was located half way between the main road and the pool. It was quiet (we slept really well) and very comfortable – big bed, tea and coffee, good shower, big tv. The more expensive pool view rooms looked great and were far enough away from the pool for noise not to be much of an issue.

The resort is small and is located on the quieter south end of Chaweng. It’s right on the beautiful beach with its warm sea and fine white sand. We’d walk up the beach daily and feel happy we were at Baan Talay as many other resorts were much noisier and didn’t look as nice.

Breakfast was fairly good – a mix of hot and cold dishes and in a stunning sea view set-ting. Wifi is free everywhere (a bit flaky in our room) and fast enough. One minor criti-cism was, when there was a power cut on the island, they only had one fan in total. In temperatures like they are at night in Samui, this wasn’t good.

As with many places, beach beds get “reserved” which may cause some an issue. There always seemed to be room round the lovely pool area though.

Tip – the restaurant has some beds overlooking the sea and these are seldom used. We used them all the time and they have lovely views, good wifi and the end two even have a power socket if needed.

An enjoyable stay and would return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynBTR, Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We thank you for your stay and it was indeed a pleasure to have you at Baan Talay Resort. It is heartening to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations and we would be delighted for the opportunity to welcome you back in your next visit to Koh Samui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    224
    56
    26
    28
See reviews for
69
237
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

When we booked this hotel we were not expecting much as we paid a fraction of what our friends paid at a bigger grander hotel....but we loved it! Quaint, clean and with a real beachy feel we felt instantly relaxed. The restaurant where breakfast is served is in an amazing position right on the beach overlooking the azure blue ocean and feeling the ocean breezes. The rooms are a good size and even though the bathroom area is not huge it still has all you need. Shower was great with a choice of 2 shower heads. Quirky little idea giving guests their own straw beach bag and towels to use for the length of stay which we found so handy! Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the smiling restaurant manager...Joe...nothing was too much trouble. Pool was perfect....loved this place and if we come back we are definitely booking here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennywhincup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynBTR, Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We thank you for your stay and it was indeed a pleasure to have you at Baan Talay Resort. It is heartening to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations and we would be delighted for the opportunity to welcome you back in your next visit to Koh Samui .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

On our trip to Samui we wanted to stay in a hotel which will be closer to all the happening scene at Chaweng, still not totally in the middle of the chaos- for which Baan Talay was perfect.

We were very impressed with their minimalist, but very tasteful decor. The Beach deck Restaurant was one of my most favorite part of the Resort.

The services are also very satisfactory, the only downside being language.

Room Tip: The superior Bungalows will offer more privacy if you don't want to go for the beach view ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnkanSiddiquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLac2013, Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us. We were glad that your holidays was successful and you enjoyed the beach view of Koh Samui. Our apology about the language problem with our staff. as much as possible we do our best to teach our staff to learn English.
Looking forward on your next vacation in Koh Samui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. Really enjoyed our stay there.
Pros:
Friendly helpful staff.
Clean, tidy room with good air con. Very comfortable bed.
Very impressive pool with lots of sunbeds.
Free wifi and also computers to use at reception for free.
Nice beach front. However the sea was quite wavy when we were there so didnt lie on the beach at all. Nice and quiet end of chaweng- away from the madness.
Decent enough breakfast. Had the egg counter who cooked eggs any style. However some of the other food could have been a bit fresher.


Cons:
The restaurant was expensive. Overpriced cocktails and food. Never ate there so dont know about the quality of the food. Being honest any servide offered by the hotel was really expensive such as laundry also.
It is a 25 minute walk to the centre of chaweng which might be an issue for some people but was perfect for us.

Overall we loved our stay in Baan Talay and recommend it highly for anyone staying in Chaweng who want quality in the quiet end of Chaweng but want the option of easily heading in to Chaweng centre. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldwidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLac2013, Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a comment during stay. We were pleased to hear about the amenities that you enjoyed. We apologize that you find our restaurant quite expensive and your feedback will help us to improve in our daily basis. We look forward to welcoming you back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

When I booked this hotel I requested a room away from the road and was pleasantly surprised that I got an upgrade on arrival at no extra charge. Check in was very quick and reception staff were excellent in showing me all the amenities in the hotel and room.

The room had everything I required - free wifi, complimentary tea/coffee, 2 bottles water free daily and a safe. Breakfast was also included in my stay. Room was serviced daily with fresh towels provided also pool/beach towels were exchanged on a daily basis. As well as pool towels a beach bag was also provided for the length of my stay

Hotel amenities were excellent, the pool which overlooked the beach was of a high standard and there was always plenty of lounges. The hotel also had lounges directly on the beach for hotel guests to use. Breakfast was of high standard and had everything I required. I ate in the restaurant on two occasions and prices were reasonable, I also received two 15% of vouchers to use for lunch or dinner.

Reception staff were friendly and very helpful with any requests I had. The majority spoke very good English and nothing was to much trouble for them.

Although the hotel was a 20-30 minute walk into the main area of Chaweng it didn't bother me as the beach at the southern end was much better and of course but quieter.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BomJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLac2013, Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were glad that your was successful and thank you for choosing as part on your vacation. Perhaps by next time take some excursion to explore the other island nearby and other local city attraction. I certainly look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

i was there ends of 2013 to go fullmoon party. most of hotel is full but got this one by luck.beach front hotel in chaweng beach. opoosite with 7-11. friendly staff. swimming pool is great. helpful staff

Room Tip: book direct to hotel and pay cash got cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patinya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel was booked via Agoda, and I opted for a Pool View room. We checked in at around 12:30pm, and was told we'd have to wait 10 mins for the room to be ready. Two minutes later it was ready. The room was at the very front of the property and sitting on the balcony we had a partial sea view. The room was very clean and modern, with a large firm bed (though incredibly soft pillows), TFT TV (with very few channels) and DVD player, electronic safe, wardrobe, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge/mini-bar, and two small complimentary bottles of water daily. The bathroom was again very modern with toilet, sink, shower and bath. There was a slight drainy smell in the toilet, and whether the toilet flushed successfully was like playing Russian Roulette, although a pleasant surprise when it did.
Towels and bed linen were changed daily; the one thing that strikes you is how clean this place is and the cleaners are constantly working, doing a magnificent job. Daily fresh pool towels and a beach bag are provided.
The pool area is very nice, with a reasonable number of sunbeds and parasols around the pool and on the beach. There were a couple of British couples who took to "reserving" their favourite sunbeds around 8:30am each day, but we had no problem getting a bed. The pool gets the sun pretty much all day, however the beach beds lose the sun around 2pm.
Breakfast was buffet style in the beachfront restaurant, with bread/toast, croissant/pastries/waffles, fruit, juices, coffee/tea, bacon, english sausage, eggs cooked to order, and a token Asian dish such as rice/noodles/congee. We ate lunch a couple of times at the restaurant and the food was very good indeed, albeit about 4 times more expensive than what you'd pay on the main street. Staff were mostly friendly.
Location-wise, it's at the south end of Chaweng, with a good selection of cafes nearby on the main road. There are plenty of laundries around, and a Family Mart convenience store opposite the hotel which also served as an impromptu taxi rank (handy for bagging a taxi to the airport).
Minor criticisms; it was incredibly windy when we were there, especially on a night, and the plastic sheeting on the bathroom roof wasn't properly secured so made quite a loud banging noise when it got very windy. There was also the drain smell and toilet-flushing fun as previously mentioned.
Overall though, a very nice clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Happynoodleboy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#64 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#30 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Property: Baan Talay Resort
Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing