We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great, hotel mediocre”
Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baan Talay Resort
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After reading many positive reviews about Baan Talay, we found that, despite its excellent location on the quiet south Chaweng Beach front and a really attractive pool area, there were other aspects of the hotel that prevent me from giving it more than a 3 star review. Compared with other hotels nearby, it failed to meet our expectations after an eight day stay.

The reception and beach facing areas look tired and in need of refurbishing, the room was adequate and good value, but not luxurious. The bathroom is narrow and poorly designed with inadequate shelf space for any toiletries.

The breakfasts were really poor with ill prepared hot food, and variety was lacking.

Another low point was communicating with the reception staff who were not very helpful, although housekeeping and some of the restaurant staff were always pleasant and obliging.

Would not return here, as there are much nicer hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Wonderfully located just a bit away from Chaweng beach with easy accessibility to all you need. We Stayed 6 nights along with our 15 month old son. It was a pleasant stay.

The resort is wonderfully designed and have a very charming view. We stayed at a pool view room from where we could have a glimpse of the sea as well. Room was spacious but the bathroom was a bit narrow. The restaurant was also nicely located behind the beach. Swimming pool was one of the main attractions as it was beach facing. We tries the restaurant couple of times and had one of the best steamed fishes here during our stay. The restaurant staffs were also very helpful and always with a smile. Breakfast was basic. Family mart was just in front of the resort and lots of food options were available in walking distance. However, if you want to join the "Happening area" you might need to have a 15 minute walk ( or a quick sontheow ride).

However the reception area was very un-welcoming. A tiny reception area (very difficult to accommodate yourself in the small tool for visitors) with rarely smiling staffs (may be they need to learn from their restaurant colleagues). Never found that much suggestion from reception (may be the language barrier) eventually we stopped asking for assistance. Also the staff attending the "Choice of Egg" section never understood whether we need a fry or omelette and most of the time served wrong choice after a 10/15 minutes wait. Last but not the least the shower in bathroom was very slow.

Regardless, if you want to stay a little away from the hustle bustle of central but want to have accessibility to all convenience this is the perfect place.
Real value for money.

Room Tip: get a sea view room, at least pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank war_rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I along with our 15 month old son stayed here for six nights. We stayed at the pool view bungalow. The room is tastefully decorated and spacious. Location of this resort is just as we wanted, a bit away from the happening but not too remote. There are many food options in walking distance. Like most of the beach resorts in Chaweng, they had their own beach. The view from their restaurant is amazing. Breakfast was good, restaurant staff were very helpful. We found their staff in reception less warm. The reception area also does not complement the resort. The pool is as beautiful as it is in the images. Overall we enjoyed our stayed here very much!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pushpita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was a perfect stay - from the location to the room to the price. It was exactly what one would expect for a beach getaway. Our bungalow was facing the pool as we had requested, the size was adequate, the bed was comfortable and the service was a bit reserved but personally that is what I prefer. The language barrier was not felt so much here as in the other places we visited. The resort opened up to the beach, which was clean and the view from the open outdoor restaurant was also very refreshing. The breakfast was limited, but again, this is what I prefer as I am not a big breakfast person. :) But it did have all the essentials. The price is definitely one of the best factors of the resort, we definitely felt we got our value for money!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Pool View Bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place looks like a dodgy motel, we paid for the beach front villa and it was dirty, there were holes in the bedding, the fridge didnt work which wouldnt have been a huge problem except that my partner is diabetic and his insulin needs to go in there. The sliding glass doors didnt fully shut and heaps of mozzies were coming in and we had a baby with us so that was an issue. Bathroom was dirty especially sinks and shower. Walls were really dirty and there were ants. If we had of paid maybe $60 maximum a night it would have been okay but not the price they are charging. We checked out and booked another hotel and couldnt get any of our three nights refunded as we booked through agoda. You can find much, much nicer hotels for half the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara_the_expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here from the 10th of May till the 13th of May. First night we stayed at the pool view bungalow and the next two days we stayed at the beach front bungalow. All we can say is that the resort made our holiday. Situated perfectly on the quieter side of chaweng with its own beach was just the best. The hotel tries their level beat to cater to every need you may have. Very helpful indeed. Our beach front bungalow was just paradise. We had to leave at 6 am on our check out day and the hotel managed to prep our breakfast earlier for us. Amazing service, location and everything. Still dream of this resort. Thanks for everything Baan talay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syasya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

friendly staff the positive,rooms tired and ones closest to road are noisy.pool small food moderate,bizarre postion in chaweng league table of hotels imo as i have found similar accomodation since in samui at less than half the price and even budget accomodation at quarter of the room rate is almost on a par.

Room Tip: avoid rooms that back onto the road as you will hear traffic close by till at least 2.30 am or pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMONSTORMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.0 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £41 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing