We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!!”
Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan Talay Resort
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for 4 days. Perfect ambiance, location and friendly staff!! However, rooms facing pool/beach are preferable over other rooms. It is quiet and is the perfect place to chill and relax.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing pool/beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dishaanuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in June and the location was amazing for us, close to restaurants and shops, right on the beach with the restaurant looking over it. The pool was lovely too, however our main problem was with the room, we booked a garden view bungalow, which their idea of a garden is a small balcony with a strip of plants in front of a wall, however we were not that bothered about a view. The main problem was the cleanliness of the room, we first noticed a lot of ants all over the desk that were coming in from a gap along the side and bottom of the sliding door, this worried us slightly from a security aspect -one lock was all that held the door in place, and the fact that bugs could get into our room. We later discovered half a dead cockroach in the bathroom which was obviously not cleaned that well and the bathroom had a strange smell the whole time we were there.

A few days later we discovered a cockroach on the curtains which you certainly do not expect to find inside your room. In our attemps to catch it, it went underneath the door a couple of times and came back in, clearly the fact that the door has gaps is an issue. When we eventually caught it i went to the reception desk to complain and she seemed more stunned at the fact I complaining about a bug than the fact that the bug was there, maybe these are common in Thailand, but as a paying guest these should not be in rooms. She wasnt the friendliest person in the world stated 'what do you want me to do?' (This could be language difficulties however) and only follwed this up by sending someone to remove it who basically was laughing at us, not a response that staff should have.

Also, the air-con was totally useless, hardly cooled the room at all which meant that I could not sleep under the duvet, and due to the gap in the door led to me receiving many mosquito bites despite using deet 50%. The window in the bathroom also did not close properly which led to bugs getting in and further security problems.

A nice location and facilities however they are charging to much for the garden bungalows when there are a few issues that need sorting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dovemi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First time in Samui - great experience and a really nice place to relax. Right on the best part of Chaweng beach. Clean rooms, friendly stuff, great facilities and very convenient location - quiet, but yet very close to the action. Breakfast is not too fancy, but everything necessary is there. Pool looks nice, but we haven't had a chance to experience with such a beautiful beach at your footstep. Had a minor hiccup with wi-fi, but it was just a minor issue in overall experience. Definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: if you want more privacy, ask for a garden view room instead of a pool view one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtv777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best place we stayed at in Thailand. Staff were good and helpful and we got a lucky upgrade which was very much appreciated.
Pool was awesome and the breakfast was the best thing to wake up to. Free sun beds on the beach are great. Rooms are very well maintained. Couldn't ask for anything more than what we received!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Around W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at Baan Talay for about 10 days beginning of June.
Located almost on the beach, away from the music and hustle from upper Chaweng, it was the perfect harbor for my holidays.
My bungalow was viewing the pool, and one step out of my door, I also saw the beautiful green ocean. An amazing start of the day. Breakfast at the ocean view restaurant was a treat. A variety of vegetables, meat, fruits, bread, juices...simple, not over the top, but fresh, and served with a smile.
The furniture of the restaurant is contemporary, understated modern, as is the design of the rooms. Perfect for a beach getaway.
Since I was staying a bit longer, there was a very nice understanding with the staff. All gentle, smiling, and hard working. Even the one, that when checking in, seemed unfriendly and not very open, gave me a smile after a few days. Helpful for excursions, and spa's.
As for the main road, the part behind the resort isn't the most attractive one, but a bit more down, you will find some really nice bars, and up the street there is the mall, and all the places to eat. Although for dinner I preferred to either stay in the resort, or to have a splendid beach side dinner in one of the places Chaweng has to offer.
In short, I was tremendously happy in Baan Talay, and will defenitely go there again. Actually might already be thee by the end of the year. Looking forward.

Room Tip: The pool side bungalows give the perfect view, and light. But for a real treat you ight consider the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, the room was basic but really nice, we had a garden apartment I think, would recommend the sea front apartment thou they looked fantastic

Our stay was perfect, the pool and beach were lovely nice and clean, quiet. The beach is about 6 steps from the pool.

The only thing I would say that it is a bit of a walk 15-20 min to the more lively chaweng beach, but for us it was perfect as it was quiet

The breakfast is really good nice selection to choose from and the view from the breakfast table is just stunning out onto the beach.

Would recommend staying here but if you don't like a bit of a walk it's not the place for you, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Looks good and reasonably clean BUT!!! the Owner believes he is GOD.
He parks in cars in the hotel car park and has no respect for guests who may wish to move their cars. We waited over an hour for "his representative" to move the black Mercedes Benz 4854.
Eventually after being rudely spoken to by the manager, (confirmed by the 6 Thai ladies in our party as being very rude) I moved a few tables and cooler boxes to liberate our car.

Next problem was the sea facing restaurant, an acceptable breakfast buffet but in the evening, oh dear !. Our starter order has still never arrived but we were charged for it.
The food was sloped onto the table, hardly edible and we left most of it and went next door for another meal.

Please ignore the good rating, this place is a dump and should be closed down.

Room Tip: Find another hotel that has staff who will treat you as human beings not as dirt. Rooms, we checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#66 of 103 in Chaweng
564 reviews
0 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#46 of 103 in Chaweng
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#38 of 103 in Chaweng
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £47 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing