We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Ranked #59 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

From locating this hotel to checking in, I was skeptical of the class by her name. This is part of the First group of hotels located adjacent. The bungalows on the beach is at great location and the private beach has a lot of privacy. The dining kiosk right on the beach is so convenient and enjoyable. This hotel on the beach has all the elements needed on Koh Samui.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Byng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

After staying 4 days at the other end of Chaweng beach, we were looking at all hotels in the area for a room with a beach view. Most were taken or too expensive. First Bungalows had availability for their beach cottages for just c 4,000 baht (about £80 per night). We got to choose which cottage we wanted and had a great location 2 steps onto the beach.

Location
This is the first hotel on Chaweng Noi (just on the corner of the headland with Chaweng Beach). The difference in the beach is phenomenal. Sandy entrance to a beach you can swim in,whereas Chaweng Beach is too shallow and rocky.
Many reviewers have moaned that it's too far from the main town. We found it the perfect distance - there are a few local shops, bars and cafés that you wouldn't see if you were on the main strip, and it's a gentle 20 minute stroll to the busiest part of town. Once you've walked to the end, and had something to eat and drink, you can get a tuktuk back to the hotel for £1-£2. Many guests sat on the kerb outside the hotel to wait for a tuktuk in both directions - you never gave to wait more than 5 mins.

Beach & pool
As mentioned, the beach is great with plenty of sun beds and a handy beach bar. The staff at the beach bar were very helpful.
The pool is big and looks great, but it's set in the gardens and you can't see the sea. It also means you tend to get more insects in the greener areas, so we ended up staying by the beach.

Room
The beach cottage is probably one of the smallest beach front rooms we looked at, but it is all that's needed. Comfy bed, clean bathroom, fridge and enough storage space. Good cleaners with usual towel displays.

Breakfast
Usual self service buffet with cereals, toast, juices, hot western and Thai food, egg station. Special mention to the staff. My sister put her phone down by the toaster and remembered it two minutes later but it had gone. She was frantically searching, so all the staff came out of the kitchen to help her look. One of them mentioned having seen another guest put it in her bag, so the manager had a word with her and got it back. He came to apologise to us and was very concerned as people tend to blame the staff unfairly when things go missing.

Overview
This is clearly a three star hotel and would probably have received a 3* review if we'd been in a pool view room! but the fantastic beach cottage location and helpful staff gives this 4 stars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank sizzler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We wanted a hotel in a quiet area, but no more than 5 min drive from town center. Chaweng Noi is a beautiful beach and much quieter and way better for swimming than the main Chaweng beach!! The pool is awesome! Huge, clean, plenty of sunbeds and lots of good food, beer, smoothies eg. in the pool restaurant. We had 2 rooms (2 adults, 2 kids) in one of the pool-side buildings (2. floor) which was perfect for us. The hotel is elderly which was fine, it doesn`t have to be a new boutique hotel to satisfy us. Nice and clean, spacious and functional with a balcony facing the pool. The service was a bit.. well - we have seen more smiles and helpfulness at other hotels in this category. And we thought there was a majority of russian/eastern Europe guests and we never find them very warm/interested in exchanging smiles by the pool.. ;-) As long as you`re not looking for the ultimate perfection and don`t mind not making new friends, this is absolutely great!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at First Bungalow for 9 days, and it was perfect for our honeymoon. The room had everything you need and was comfortable. The beach and pool were perfect, clean, and never crowded at all. For my full review, check here: http://www.hockeywifehockeylife.com/2014/06/FirstBungalowKohSamuiReview.html

I would recommend First Bungalow to anyone! For the price you pay, it is the best deal in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: We loved our poolside bungalow! For the price we paid, it was better than anywhere else we could hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I was here for two nights. The staff were wonderful, the rooms exelent. Everything just well taken care of. The pool area wonderful. Well worth a stay. One of the best hotels i've stayed in while on thailand

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank atlirunar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

if you are looking for relaxed time, have laid back time pass on sun and beach, first bungalow beach resort is the place for you. this resort's bungalows are right on the beach, i mean you can literally step on sands/beach after getting out of your room!! the beach is also bit private, meaning for the resort guests only.
however, this resort is almost at the end of the chaweng beach road. the happening part of the chaweng road is at least 15 minutes walk from the resort.
another point, if you are not a pork eater, then you'll find the breakfast very disappointing.
the resort is fin for families, they have a big swimming pool and two suana/small pools for kids. it also has a small play zone which my kids loved.
but, i'd say it's not good for money. the beach bungalows are quite expensive, but it was small and room service and other facilities were also not up to mark to make you feel worth spending that much of money.

Room Tip: beach bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawkat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 5 nights in a pool side bungalow at the resort and found it to be spacious, clean and comfortable. Our room had a lovely porch which overlooked the pool through the tropical garden. The resort has a huge swimming pool which we enjoyed taking a dip in when we returned from the beach or a day of sight seeing. The resort has it's own beach which has a lovely big tree for shelter from the heat and those typical cloud bursts in the late afternoon. The swimming is great at the beach and because the resort is situated at the quieter south end of Chaweng beach, it is not overcrowded and one does not get pestered by vendors selling their goods. The resort is set in a tropical garden settling which one walks through to gain access to the beach. There are also Beach Chalets right on the beach. The restaurant leaves much to be desired and we only ate our breakfasts at the hotel, which were not on par with other hotels we have stayed at in Thailand. We also found the staff at the restaurant to be somewhat unfriendly, which is most unusual for a country that is known for its friendly people. My husband and I hire scooters to get around while on holiday in Thailand and therefore had no problem with the resort being somewhat out of the way from restaurants and other shops etc. We would return to this resort.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pool side chalets. I personally would not like to stay in a beach chalet as one has v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaga555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
635 reviews
4.6 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fair House Beach Resort & Hotel
7.2 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Bungalow Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Bungalow Beach Resort

Address: 4/6 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £19 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Bungalow Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflects from the name itself, the first bungalow type accommodation in Koh Samui and represents the true sense of homely Thai hospitality serve every guests by the owner's family who are always eager to serve you better. it can be seen today with the unique blend of the same old simple, traditional and personalized hospitality of the owner, and all the modern amenities one can dream of in an exotic far-flung island hideout like Chaweng Beach. The style of Individual bungalow is completely "Thai style Architect", just located on white sandy beach among the coconut trees and tropical gardens. Few bungalows and buildings are equally providing an exciting accommodation choice for a memorable travel menu. Our resort has created a golden memory of "Value for Price" and "First Choice", for accommodation from more than 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your First Bungalow Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Bungalow Beach Resort Samui Hotel Koh Samui
1st Bungalow Beach Resort Samui
First Hotel Beach Samui
First Bungalow Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing