We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent beach and good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samui First House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samui First House Resort
Ranked #61 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent beach and good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Excellent service at this hotel, which is located at the far end of Chaweng (the best/main beach on Ko Samui). The people who work the reception were excellent. The pool is excellent and you have direct access over a bridge to the two beaches (chaweng beach or Chawneg Noi - the BEST beach) We stayed here for a total of 8 days on two separate occassions during our trip.

The first time, we stayed for 3 nights in the standard room which was in a different building. The room was a good size, small with an old bathroom, but was pretty clean and quiet, but the mattresses were not the best. We booked our room with the western style buffet breakfast which was good enough - omelets, toast, hash browns, fresh fruit, cereals, etc. The beach is what really impressed us. It was a better and more secluded beach that some of the five star hotels located on Chaweng.

We returned to this hotel and booked the standard room again, but were upgraded because it was our second visit. The mattresses were not great in this room, which was bigger and VERY clean. The next day, we complained and were upgraded again to the deluxe room. This room was very large, VERY clean and quiet. The only issue was that the shower drain needed cleaning. But once again, it was the beach. Chaweng Noi is a fabulous beach with perfect soft sand and shallow, clean waters. The hotel provided loungers and umbrellas, a bar/restaurant on the beach and a place to get a Thai massage. A wonderful relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms in the main building might be best if you are not a backpacker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leessam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    160
    103
    42
    20
See reviews for
45
131
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel looked dated and probably built in 80′s without refurbishment afterward. The swimming pool is charm but actually I prefer the beach because it is just 2-3 minutes walking distance away. With that affordable rate and short distance to the beach, you can’t complain much. However, I would prefer the sister hotel First Residence Hotel which just a little bit farther away from the beach but newer. Airport transportation is available for 450B and takes around 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Arriving at the hotel after a taxi from the airport, we were taken to our room which was in one of the 3 buildings making up the complex - these vary in age and quality. Our room was in the older block near the mini-market up 4 flights of stairs with no lift.

The rooms are small - our twin room just had the 2 beds, a small bathroom and little else. Nice touches included finding stains and hairs in the minibar, and holes in the bedsheets which is completely unacceptable. If sheets are worn out they must be replaced straight away. The rooms in our block didn't have a balcony, so feel very claustrophobic. We had a view out the windows of a concrete building, perhaps the kitchen. We asked for a pool or beach view but were told these would cost more. The bathroom had a few ants so we complained and these were dealt with.

The pool is nice, clean and fairly small with nice sun loungers. The beach is acccessed over a bridge of stagnant water which isn't very appealing.

The hotel restaurant isn't very good. There is a huge menu and it is all executed very poorly. Most days for lunch we ate at the beach bar for the hotel next door, which was okay. What was most despicable was seeing a member of kitchen staff use the toilet, and come out and not wash her hands at the basins located outside the toilets. This is simply unacceptable hygiene which the manager must address.

The hotel has a 'gym' - which is effectively a dank room with a few bits of rusty equipment, some of it broken. In addition you have to pay extra to use this which is outrageous! It looks very unsafe so I chose to exercise at the nearby World Gym which is a short taxi ride away. There is also a poorly stocked mini market and an internet cafe at the hotel.

Despite this the atmosphere is pleasant and the beach is lovely to relax on, but for your money it is worth staying in a hotel further down towards the centre of Chaweng Beach.

Room Tip: pay extra for a pool-side view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brommers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was a medium sized resort with both hotel and bungalow style accomadation. The rooms were clean but the bathroom was small. There was also no elevator so getting our bags up and down the stairs was a challenge but if there were staff around they were ready and willing to help. There was a pool and a nice strip of private beach with beach lounges. This was a nicer strip to swim in compared with other places along chaweng I've been to. The resort is also located right near the main road and shopping strip and there are markets just a short walk away. Overall I thought the resort was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

For wifi, this can only be used in the lobby and not the bedrooms because of the signal issues.

The rooms were basic but the shower was really poor especially for the price i paid of £26. If you compare like for like with another hotel, it was crap

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SayItHowItIs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novorossiysk, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Samui First House is situated in the southern part of Chaweng beach, 10 km from airport. The hotel consists of 2 three-storeyed buildings, 98 rooms in total. The hotel has a souvenir shop, Internet corner and massage parlour. There is a beautiful swimming pool with jacuzzi in the inner yard. There is a small river and you have to cross the bridge on your way to the beach. Actually you have access to 2 beaches from this hotel: the very end of 7 km Chaweng beach and the beginning of small Chaweng Noi beach. Try them both just for diversity. However Chaweng is quite shallow usually in the morning and fishermen put their nets. High tide is usually in the afternoon. Chaweng Noi is a very nice beach with powder white sand, sun lounges, sunshades and towels are free of charge. As there are no animators at the hotel everybody feels free to decide how to spend time.
Continental breakfasts at the hotel restaurant are usually the same every day but food is fresh and tasty. Waiters are nice and funny and try to speak different languages.
I would recommend this hotel to people who want to have great vacations for reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina_VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel is situated at the South end of Chaweng Beach so if you do not like walking to the centre of town you will need to use public transport. The rooms were clean and tidy with tea and coffe making facilities, however avoid rooms over the gym as the air conditioner runs all night and you are woken early by people pumping weights! A hidden gem at this hotel is the beach which is very close and through a private entrance.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingtraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#30 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fair House Beach Resort & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui First House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui First House Resort

Property: Samui First House Resort
Address: 4 Moo.3 Chaweng Beach | Tambon Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui First House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui First House Hotel is located on the largest island of the Gulf of Siam, called Koh Samui. Its beautiful white sand beaches, crystal clear water, jungle, hills and waterfalls create a very changing landscape, rarely found on the other islands. Koh Samui has now become an internationally-renowned holiday destination and receives more and more tourists every year, attracted by its unchanged beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Samui First House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui First House Hotel Chaweng
Samui 1st House Resort
Samui First Hotel
Samui First Resort
Samui First House Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing