We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices are going up - value is going way down !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samui First House Resort
Ranked #75 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel used to be wonderful, our group has been coming here for 15 years - really like their tag line 'budget luxury' but it's just a budget hotel without the luxury. The pool closed after our first day - without warning. I get that happens sometimes... But the really frustrating part was when I spoke to the manager about maybe getting a discount on our room or maybe breakfast included (which was always included and we payed 1/2 the price we paid now) ... He wouldn't even look me in the eye and walked away while I was in mid sentence ... When I called him on it - he came back but seriously disrespectful - in any culture !!! He just yelled at me saying if he compensated me then he would have to for everyone ... Yes he should - everyone is inconvenienced at the hotels fault!!! He was rude and disrespectful and with hundreds of hotels on chaweng beach to choose from this isn't the place to go ... If you like the location, I say stay at first bungalows ... They are beautiful !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sabiyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

We just returned from our trip and this hotel is the last hotel at the end of the road. It is too far from the central shops, the rooms were very old and small with horrible outside view, and my bed sheets had blood stains on them. I would not stay at this hotel ever again. The pool was fairly big and easy access to the beach. If you don't mind the long walk to the shops, old style rooms, and on a budget then this hotel is for you. The staff were not friendly and welcoming at all. If your package does not include breakfast, please be aware that paying for breakfast separately is fairly expensive, and I would recommend you go to a restaurant rather than here. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed in a family room which was huge with plenty of space for our family. The second bedroom had no windows which created a great dark space to encourage the young ones to sleep in! The pool was fantastic and my 6 year old spent many hours swimming in it. When the weather was good the beach in front of the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast was good and free with our deal so that was a bonus. My only complaint would be that there was no privacy on the balconies.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiji2010Sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel was average. Staff do not speak much English and were not of much assistance. Rooms were clean and big. We were in a deluxe room. Beds were as hard as rock and the light outside did was not turned off at night so a little hard to sleep at night. Air conditioner was ok but very loud. Buffet breakfast is excellent with lots to choose from. Restaurant is expensive but nice. It is on the end of chaweng beach so a little far out but ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AusGirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We booked in here and were allocated a standard room up in the a joining building and up 4 flights of steps with no view or balcony. We immediately asked to be moved to the main block that overlooks the pool as there was no way I was going to stay in a room that if you pulled the curtains you looked out at a wall 2ft away with a/c units over it!
Once we had moved we settled and enjoyed the rest of our 4 day stay. Breakfast was 300tbt on top and you can get cheaper, about 120bht, 5 mins walk away at the Italian up the small hill.
It's only a few minutes to walk through to the beach and Monkeys Shack on the Chaewang Noi beach where there were sunbeds to use free of charge. You could get the taxi into Chaewang central for the bars and shops and noise but we liked the few restaurants we found walking towards Chaewang.

Room Tip: Insist on the block around the swimming pool for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We ordered this place on a deal so it was significantly cheaper than all the other hotels we stayed in during our trip in Thailand, so we were expecting a simple place, but not a horrible one.
The ceiling in the corridor was maybe 20 cm above our head, the room had a weird stench, the bathroom's wall paint was coming off with cracks and mold everywhere, the curtains were yellowish of time and stained. In addition, the place was farther from Chaweng center than we thought (nearly half an hour walk), which wasn't comfortable during rainy weather.
The beach was ok, but resembled a cheap health resort for the elderly.
There is no safe deposit box in the room, but they provide personal lockers in a room by the reception. They are made of plastic and locked with a padlock.
The only thing that was pretty good was the service that was prompt and kind.

Room Tip: There are several buildings of varying quality. Be wary of deals, they don't state that you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuliaAndRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

You should remember that you get what you pay for! And in this hotel you actually receive more than that!
The breakfast is very nice! The pool is well located, though it is a bit small, but acceptable.
The main issue here is the location! The hotel has its own beach (small but still very nice). It's located on the far end of the Chaweng beach, which means a quiet environment and not in the middle of all the night life, but still close enough. The hotel facilities are nice, the gym is basic but it's ok. The stuff was very helpfull and nice!!
For the price, it is a very nice hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher levels so you won't be facing a wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
240 reviews
0 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#70 of 104 in Chaweng
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui First House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui First House Resort

Address: 4 Moo.3 Chaweng Beach | Tambon Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £17 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui First House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui First House Hotel is located on the largest island of the Gulf of Siam, called Koh Samui. Its beautiful white sand beaches, crystal clear water, jungle, hills and waterfalls create a very changing landscape, rarely found on the other islands. Koh Samui has now become an internationally-renowned holiday destination and receives more and more tourists every year, attracted by its unchanged beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Samui First House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui First House Hotel Chaweng
Samui 1st House Resort
Samui First Hotel
Samui First Resort
Samui First House Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing